1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel shows off Tigertown

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Oct 27, 2006.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    The Inquirer got a very nice look at Intels latest and greatest server computer, Tigertown. Basically, Tigertown is a true quad-CPU computer. It seems like it takes four Woodcrest CPU's, and then gives them four seperate channels. Each CPU is cooled by a gigantic aluminum block, and the north bridge is cooled by what looks like a pure copper CPU heatsink. This obviously isn't for the cost sensitive bunch, put should be extremely fast for people relying on a high-performance server.
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: TheINQ
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Mean!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Quad CPU? Its got 16 cores?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,168 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    QUad quad core.

    4x4=16
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    986
    Do you think they will do a silent SFF version?


    LOL
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. randomperson21

    randomperson21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,534 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    holy motha.......

    i want one of these babys. for 3ds rendering. holy crap that would be AMAZING!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,210 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,578
    Location:
    Houston
    Thats Insane
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Shit, that thning prob rip through some F@H.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Only one pci express slot, that's kinda lame.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,210 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,578
    Location:
    Houston
    yeah but this prolly isnt the only mobo they prolly have a few w/ like 4 pcie slots
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,412 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    This is the recommended hardware for Crysis & Alan Wake.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. randomperson21

    randomperson21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,534 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    when is this getup coming out again?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    i want one :cry: :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    absolutely wicked

    this is the future yall
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    986
    Can you run Windows XP on this. I think XP has a max CPU limit of 2, or am I wrong? Similarly, Windows Server 2003 maxes at 4 CPU unless you get the "datacentre" lecense.

    The OS is going to cost you as much as the PC. Ouch!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,994 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    You dont really need a graphic card if u are running a server....
    You are not suppose to play games on a server :roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,168 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Yeah, because all those rackmount servers want a cheap ass gaming GPU to go in there and kill the server. :banghead:

    XP? nope. You need windows server with a nice expensive license. :laugh:

    Or better yet, just run linux... :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    who cares its suppose to be a server people lol.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    lol intel is going to release core octa or something next year... lol imagine 8x4 = 32 cores...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. randomperson21

    randomperson21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,534 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    doesn't xp pro support more than 2? i know home doesn't.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,168 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    its a dual CPU license.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. randomperson21

    randomperson21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,534 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    ah my bad.

    thank god for ubuntu.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    I believe 2003 standard supports up to 4 CPU's, so it will work with 2003 standard, since licensing goes per socket.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)