1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Skulltrail with SLI and Crossfire Support

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jan 6, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: [H]ard|OCP
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    main gear?...

    what is that?

    alienware part 2?
     
  3. moto666 Guest

    Nice and Juicy!

    I Wonder what happened whit the RAMs!

    Yepp 0 in there! :)

    Hmm! Imagine 2xQuad Core's in there! Probably with HT-technology! (if intel goes serious and put some guads with HT on the market)
    That Would be 16 Little Horse's in there! :D
    guess I could run a PS3 emulator and a XBOX360 emulator side by side on it! :rolleyes:

    Yesss!!! I want stuff like this!!!
    ps: And a win in Lottery too!!! For fueling all that! :rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    Wasn't nvidia against SLI for intel?
     
  5. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,206 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Houston
    Man, that is so annoying, How are they doing SLI and crossfire together and why wont they bring it out?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,354 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,912
    They supposedly didnt want to deal with compatability issues with the intel side of things. So at the last minute they backed ou ton the deal just previous to the 975X chipset release. Thats why it can do SLI but the drivers need to be hacked versions, and wont support 8 series cards!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,206 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Houston
    So is there a hack for SLI boards to do Crossfire? Even with the new ATI cards (2900XT)?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,354 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,912
    I dont know if the hack was needed once CCC started to do the work for crossfire. Not sure if it will run it on any mobo!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,792 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,523
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ^Skulltrail gets its SLI support from an external SLI chipset on the board. That was the deal...Skulltrail gets SLI, NForce 780i gets Yorkfield support.
     
    snuif09, Mussels and sneekypeet say thanks.
  10. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    ^^Basically Nvidia looks only for profit.
     
  11. musek

    musek

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    367 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Europe -> Poland...
    ^^^And who doesn't?
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Think I could get one of these boards for under 100$ :D...........
     
  13. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    ATI:rockout:
    Edit:-Ok ati will look for profit but
    Nvidia-Want your whole pocket+pant
    Ati-A part of your pocket
     
  14. musek

    musek

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    367 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Europe -> Poland...
    ^Yes, and now whole AMD is worth less than they paid for ATI ~year ago. Good luck. :)
     
  15. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    ^^ A 10 bit phrase
    ATI HD3850
     
  16. musek

    musek

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    367 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Europe -> Poland...
    ^^^Yes, and i hope that they'll success. Also i hope that next revision of Phenoms will really be slightly better, just to make Spider more popular.
    We all know what would be the result of 'teh one and only' Intel in CPU and nV in GPU. :)
     
  17. snuif09

    snuif09

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    964 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    hoorn, Netherlands
    finally a sli xfire combon never switch mobos again:rockout::rockout:

    (but no AMD:cry::cry:)
     
  18. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    If only I knew where to buy one when they're available. Might consider one instead of my current choice.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. ShinyG

    ShinyG New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    186 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Romania
    Nice one with the SLI and Xfire support. Too bad this is only for this board...
    Also, could someone tell Intel that their stock coolers are the laughing stock of the industry and should change them...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I wonder if they actually are gonna stick with the FB-DIMMS?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. BullGod

    BullGod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    412 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Medias City

    They don't wanna change them man. What would the cooler manufacturers do? See you only hear people yell monopoly and shit but the guys at Intel are not that bad. They could just buy AMD now, no problem and be left alone in the CPU industry but they don't...
     
  22. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    They are.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,792 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,523
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    eek! FB-DIMM. None of the memory vendors make DDR3 FB-DIMMs, do they?
     
  24. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    So whats the power consumption like?
    Tri-sli or 2 Ultra's or 2 9800GX2's or 4 HD3850/70
    Phys-x card
    2 Quad cores at 4Ghz
    Case lighting and all
    Every day's gonna be a living hell for the PSU.
     
  25. ShinyG

    ShinyG New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    186 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Romania
    AMD has very good coolers on the A64 and the Opteron series, but that didn't stop 3rd party cooler manufacturers from making custom coolers for them...
    I'm just saying that Intel is getting a lot of negative feedback on those, and they should treat their customers right and do something about them. Last year I put together about 10 Intel systems for my friends, from Celeron's to a couple of Q6600s and all (I mean all, 10/10) of their CPU coolers broke down, even the one on the low-end Celeron... Of course, I might be the one installing them wrong, but none of them had any problems after I installed them some cheap aftermarket coolers like the AC Freezer 7 Pro...
    Bad quality is bad quality, anyway you look at it! Intel has the upper hand in the processor wars now so they don't give a *#$@ about what the customers say. They will, if AMD will get their "game back on"....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)