• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Speed Shift Technology Skylake

Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,478 (0.41/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor Intel Core i3 6100
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Kingston ValueRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Netway
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1803
I am interested in Intel Speed Shift Technology because of improvements in responsiveness and reducing power comsumption even on desktops, but I can't find anything at Google about how to enable it (all info about it are just 2015 news articles that won't explain how to enable).

Seems that there is no interest in this technology, maybe isn't worth the effort?

Only thing I know is that Hwinfo shows "SST" as disabled. It isn't mentioned at UEFI, only SpeedStep, and it's enabled.

Any help on how to enable would be grateful.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,080 (2.69/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 13-13-13-33-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard TOSLINK to Schiit Modi MB to Schiit Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 850W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,478 (0.41/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor Intel Core i3 6100
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Kingston ValueRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Netway
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1803
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,080 (2.69/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 13-13-13-33-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard TOSLINK to Schiit Modi MB to Schiit Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 850W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
Thank you

I currently have a Skylake Processor and using an Insider version of Windows 10 (14316, pending update to 14328)

But Hwinfo still shows it as disabled (red).
Is that a bug of Hwinfo? Is there another way to check it? is it only for mobile?
I don't know, just responding with what google told me. Sorry, hope someone else has an idea.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,935 (1.78/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
It's kind of like SpeedStep, but controlled by OS.
It provides some advantages in performance (and only in certain workloads), but not so much in terms of efficiency.
Delivers dramatically quicker responsiveness with single-threaded, transient (short duration) workloads, such as web browsing, by allowing the processor to more quickly select its best operating frequency and voltage for optimal performance and power effi ciency
SpeedShift is only supported on Skylake CPUs and only on Windows 10.

http://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/public/us/en/documents/product-briefs/6th-gen-core-family-mobile-brief.pdf
http://www.anandtech.com/show/9751/examining-intel-skylake-speed-shift-more-responsive-processors
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,478 (0.41/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor Intel Core i3 6100
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Kingston ValueRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Netway
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1803
I don't know, just responding with what google told me. Sorry, hope someone else has an idea.
Yeah Google shows 0 information about how to enable or check it, only old news articles explaining what is it, lol, seems that nobody isn't interesting on it.

It's kind of like SpeedStep, but controlled by OS.
It provides some advantages in performance (and only in certain workloads), but not so much in terms of efficiency.

SpeedShift is only supported on Skylake CPUs and only on Windows 10.

http://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/public/us/en/documents/product-briefs/6th-gen-core-family-mobile-brief.pdf
http://www.anandtech.com/show/9751/examining-intel-skylake-speed-shift-more-responsive-processors
Yeah, but my questions are only W10 and Skylake are needed? no driver needed? no BIOS/motheboard/chipset support needed? no setting in Windows 10 to enable or disable? no other way to check it besides Hwinfo? and why Hwinfo show it as disabled?

Only info I find is simply basic info on what does it do, not how to enable or disable it (for example you can find lots of tutorials for enabling Speed Step/Cool 'n' quiet).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
7,165 (3.83/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
Looks like it is designed for mobile only.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,478 (0.41/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor Intel Core i3 6100
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Kingston ValueRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Netway
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1803
Looks like it is designed for mobile only.
That's what I suspect, however I can't find any info at all if all Skylake CPUs have it or only mobile. Wikipedia and news articles shows it as a generic feature of the Skylake architecture. Intel ARK doesn't specify it on any CPU, be it mobile/desktop/tablet or whatever
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
7,165 (3.83/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
All the information I have read is confusing in that it doesn't clearly state what platform it is for.
In general they say Skylake and mention K processors, but then also mention low power M processors and say only on BGA processors with eDram GT4e/ Iris Pro graphics, which is Mobile only AFAIK.
Perhaps they will roll out a patch later for desktop as an E5 XEON release is mentioned for 2017.
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
7,420 (1.82/day)
It seems to enabled on my desktop, I am on now. Never even paid attention.

ssthwb.png
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,080 (2.69/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 13-13-13-33-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard TOSLINK to Schiit Modi MB to Schiit Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 850W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
I suspect it's a subfeature of speedstep. Do you have speedstep enabled in bios?
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,975 (1.96/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.180 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,478 (0.41/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor Intel Core i3 6100
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Kingston ValueRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Netway
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1803
All the information I have read is confusing in that it doesn't clearly state what platform it is for.
In general they say Skylake and mention K processors, but then also mention low power M processors and say only on BGA processors with eDram GT4e/ Iris Pro graphics, which is Mobile only AFAIK.
Perhaps they will roll out a patch later for desktop as an E5 XEON release is mentioned for 2017.
Yeash it isn't clear at all. Everything seems to be very nebulous.


It seems to enabled on my desktop, I am on now. Never even paid attention.

View attachment 73944
Interesting, so at least I know it isn't only for mobile, but there are more variables (UEFI/motherboard/chipset/OS)

I suspect it's a subfeature of speedstep. Do you have speedstep enabled in bios?
Yes, In fact, SpeedStep is working fine, I can't find any other related option in UEFI


IMG_20160423_122909.jpg



Hmm, it's not enabled by default on my new skylake system I see.

View attachment 73945
Same as me with the latest insider build on fast ring

image.png
 
Last edited:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.43/day)
Yeash it isn't clear at all. Everything seems to be very nebulous.




Interesting, so at least I know it isn't only for mobile, but there are more variables (UEFI/motherboard/chipset/OS)
"AUTO" in ASUS BOISes doesn't mean enabled for low power states, especially if you have an overclock. I am running ASUS Z170 DELUXE (non-UEFI install), and it is not enabled on my system either, but it is enabled on a Skylake-based NUC(UEFI Install) I have. I suspect that you need to have ALL power features enabled, the proper BIOS settings/BIOS build, and the right OS build only, and it should work. I have an ES CPU supplied to me by a board maker; I did not get samples direct from Intel, so I did not get all of the media information about Skylake from them, otherwise I'd pour over that and see what I can find. I suspect tht as mentioned, this is more about mobile chipsets as previously mentioned, but there is also no reason why it wouldn't work on a desktop. What's even more interesting is that the NUC that I have tends to be a bit more responsive in the OS and boots in 1/3 the time that my desktop Skylake PCs do. I'll have to chec kmy MSI Nightblade to see if its enabled too.


Thanks very much for drawing this to our attention, BTW.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2010
Messages
174 (0.05/day)
Location
Israel
System Name Nothing Special Any More
Processor Intel® Xeon® E3-1270 v2 3.5GHz 8MB
Motherboard Gigabyte H77-D3H Rev1.0
Cooling Scythe Mugen 3
Memory Corsair Vengeance® Low Profile 2X4GB 1600MHz Blue Edition + G.SKILL 4GB 1600MHz Stick
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE G1.Gaming GTX 970 Almost 4GB (~1500MHz Core)
Storage OS: Samsung 850Evo 250GB Storage SSD: Crucial MX500 1TB
Display(s) Dell U2715
Case Corsair 450D
Audio Device(s) AUDIO-GD NFB11.28 DAC-Headphone Amp, headphones: Sennheiser HD58X, HIFIMAN HE400i 2.5mm
Power Supply Corsair RM750i
Mouse Steelseries Rival 300
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 LUX (MX RED RGB)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
I have tested an MSI GS60 Ghost Pro with the 6700HQ some time ago and it wasn't enabled there either. (It was on the November W10 build so it should've worked)
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,558 (6.28/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
It's working on my system. I'm not enrolled in Microsoft Insider:


Maybe it is Core i7 and build 10586 are required? Can someone with a Core i5 and build 10586 check?

I really didn't change anything in BIOS nor OS as far as power is concerned.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,080 (2.69/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 13-13-13-33-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard TOSLINK to Schiit Modi MB to Schiit Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 850W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
I shut all the power saving options off but I'm kinda OCD about that since the X58 days. I probably should stop worrying about clock scaling now. :laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
7,165 (3.83/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
It's working on my system.

Maybe it is Core i7 and build 10586 are required? Can someone with a Core i5 and build 10586 check?
That's similar to what I was thinking, the OP has a Pentium, so may not have all the features of the Core i series.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717 (0.57/day)
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
W10 10586.218 here and its not on, Asus board too (M8 Ranger) hwinfosst.png
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,558 (6.28/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Asus BIOS maybe don't support it where MSI and Dell do.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,867 (2.23/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
With Skylake, Intel's newest 6th generation Core processors, this changes. The processor has been designed in a way that with the right commands, the OS can hand control of the frequency and voltage back to the processor. Intel is calling this technology 'Speed Shift'. We’ve discussed Speed Shift before in Ian’s Skylake architecture analysis, but despite the in-depth talk from Intel, Speed Shift was noticably absent at the time of the launch of the processors. This is due to one of the requirements for Speed Shift - it requires operating system support to be able to hand over control of the processor performance to the CPU, and Intel had to work with Microsoft in order to get this functionality enabled in Windows 10. As of right now, anyone with a Skylake processor is actually not getting the benefit of the technology, at least right now. A patch will be rolled out in November for Windows 10 which will enable this functionality, but it is worth noting that it will take a while for it to roll out to new Windows 10 purchases.

Compared to Speed Step / P-state transitions, Intel's new Speed Shift terminology, changes the game by having the operating system relinquish some or all control of the P-States, and handing that control off to the processor. This has a couple of noticable benefits. First, it is much faster for the processor to control the ramp up and down in frequency, compared to OS control. Second, the processor has much finer control over its states, allowing it to choose the most optimum performance level for a given task, and therefore using less energy as a result. Specific jumps in frequency are reduced to around 1ms with Speed Shift's CPU control from 20-30 ms on OS control, and going from an efficient power state to maximum performance can be done in around 35 ms, compared to around 100 ms with the legacy implementation. As seen in the images below, neither technology can jump from low to high instantly, because to maintain data coherency through frequency/voltage changes there is an element of gradient as data is realigned
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.49/day)
I shut all the power saving options off but I'm kinda OCD about that since the X58 days. I probably should stop worrying about clock scaling now. :laugh:
If you're overclocking using multiplier, there is no point in disabling the power saving features. You only had to do this when overclocking FSB or BCLK because power saving then also affected stability when not under load. But with multiplier OC, as far as CPU is concerned, it works the same as at stock speeds, it's just that it clocks a lot higher. At which point, it turns off power saving features by itself anyway. That's why I love my 5820K so much more compared to Core i7 920. Because it's so easy to overclock while still using all the power saving when not under load. It's brilliant. I'm assuming 6700K, since it's unlocked can also be overclocked with BCLK or multiplier, right? I'd certainly pick multiplier any time despite BCLK being the selling point for these. I doubt it makes that big of a difference in performance between both.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,080 (2.69/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 13-13-13-33-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard TOSLINK to Schiit Modi MB to Schiit Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 850W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
If you're overclocking using multiplier, there is no point in disabling the power saving features. You only had to do this when overclocking FSB or BCLK because power saving then also affected stability when not under load. But with multiplier OC, as far as CPU is concerned, it works the same as at stock speeds, it's just that it clocks a lot higher. At which point, it turns off power saving features by itself anyway. That's why I love my 5820K so much more compared to Core i7 920. Because it's so easy to overclock while still using all the power saving when not under load. It's brilliant. I'm assuming 6700K, since it's unlocked can also be overclocked with BCLK or multiplier, right? I'd certainly pick multiplier any time despite BCLK being the selling point for these. I doubt it makes that big of a difference in performance between both.
I know you're right, but yeah I'm currently using a BCLK overclock. Thinking of going all mult and getting that power saving this week though.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.49/day)
Plus, if you use adaptive voltage, it will behave identical to stock CPU in idle. But when it ramps up the clock, it also kicks up the voltages to user set ones. Meaning you get best of both worlds. Low consumption when on desktop and high performance under load. I don't think BCLK gives any significant gains as it also overdrives other subsystems. At least not big enough to justify running the CPU at full tilt all the time opposed to smart power delivery.
 
Top