• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel "Tiger Lake" Based Pentium and Celeron to Feature AVX2, an Instruction the Entry-Level Brands were Deprived Of

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
40,214 (8.37/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) BenQ 1440p 60 Hz 27-inch
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse ASUS ROG Strix Impact
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
Intel's next-generation Pentium Gold and Celeron entry-level processors based on the "Tiger Lake" microarchitecture could finally receive the AVX2 instruction set. Intel had segmented AVX and AVX2 to be exclusive to the Core and Xeon brands, with the Pentium Gold and Celeron products based on the same microarchitectures to artificially lack these instructions.

Intel updated its ARK product information database with entries for "Tiger Lake" based Pentium Gold and Celeron products. The page for the Pentium Gold 7505 and Celeron 6305, mention support for AVX2 besides SSE4. Both are mobile chips with 15 W TDP, and are built on the same 10 nm SuperFin process as the rest of the 11th Gen Core "Tiger Lake" processor family.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
245 (0.06/day)
Location
North-Rhine-Westphalia
Processor Ryzen 2700
Motherboard B450
Cooling Thermalright ARO
Memory 2x 8GB DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) GTX 1650 boost:1859 vram:2500
Storage 256GB SSD
Display(s) 4K UHD 40" HDR TV
Case Sharkoon AM5 Window red
Audio Device(s) Headset
Power Supply beQuiet PurePower10 400W
Software Win10
So maybe but with lack of any Pentium or Celeron based on Icelake, maybe RocketLake desktop Pentium gold and Celeron could eventually get AVX2.0, too, if there will be any.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,125 (1.70/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-36-400 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) GTX 2080 Ti (Undervolted OC 1925MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) LG 49NANO85 - 49" 4K 120HZ NanoIPS
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard Penclic C3
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Now if only anything apart from random benchmarks used it...
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
2,337 (1.42/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14 @ 3600Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Sapphire 5600XT pulse
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Intel's last stronghold AVX2. Why would Intel even give this to the mobile processors? Especially to those with 15W TDP. I mean, you can't do much on these anyway.
 

EdLin

New Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
5 (0.11/day)
AES-NI too apparently.... Too bad wireguard exists now, it would have made a cheaper PFSense box.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
6,147 (4.31/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
I am sometimes convinced the people who take these kind of decisions genuinely don't know what they are doing.

There were really low power M chips for netbooks/tablets that have had AVX2 for years which made no sense and yet Pentium only receive this know ? Why ? Mind boggling, it's like they do everything against any common sense.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
67 (0.28/day)
AES-NI too apparently.... Too bad wireguard exists now, it would have made a cheaper PFSense box.
Just a question - why PFSense (built on BSD) in this day and age when there is IP Fire built on Linux (SMP support) with comparable features? Granted, there's no ARM64 version but that is more or less the only drawback in my book.
 

EdLin

New Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
5 (0.11/day)
Just a question - why PFSense (built on BSD) in this day and age when there is IP Fire built on Linux (SMP support) with comparable features? Granted, there's no ARM64 version but that is more or less the only drawback in my book.
*BSD has a reputation for more security, which is kind of important for a firewall. Also, the PF firewall software in BSD is superior. Linux is certainly better at hardware support usually though.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
1,262 (1.17/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 10 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
Now if only anything apart from random benchmarks used it...
I think it's in use on RPCS3 (the PS3 emulator). Earlier this year they added detection for AVX512, so it's likely that they will use it if they see any improvement from it.

Not surprising, though. They don't seem to have a problem using Intel TSX, which is probably even more exotic than AVX2
 

EdLin

New Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
5 (0.11/day)
Actually quite a few games require AVX. These games would not even boot up on current Celerons and Pentiums (or anything pre-Sandy Bridge).
They needed AVX2? I thought they only needed plain AVX? (Missing on the Phenom II's pre-bulldozer, lots of people didn't upgrade to Bulldozer because it was worse from those, until a few titles in their DRM used AVX...)
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,870 (6.11/day)
Location
The Washing Machine
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (34'' 3440x1440x)
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Actually quite a few games require AVX. These games would not even boot up on current Celerons and Pentiums (or anything pre-Sandy Bridge).
This. Overwatch uses it on startup for example, Rocket League uses it... the list is long.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
1,262 (1.17/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 10 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
This. Overwatch uses it on startup for example, Rocket League uses it... the list is long.
I read somewhere on TPU that all DX12 games use it (whether AVX is mandatory or if it's just recommended I don't know)
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,125 (1.70/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-36-400 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) GTX 2080 Ti (Undervolted OC 1925MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) LG 49NANO85 - 49" 4K 120HZ NanoIPS
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard Penclic C3
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Actually quite a few games require AVX. These games would not even boot up on current Celerons and Pentiums (or anything pre-Sandy Bridge).
AVX2? That's what I was referring to (as per the article). I don't know a single game that uses AVX2, nevermind requires it, outside of a custom setting in 3dMark Timespy.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,416 (2.15/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
Intel's last stronghold AVX2. Why would Intel even give this to the mobile processors? Especially to those with 15W TDP. I mean, you can't do much on these anyway.
They're going to need something on geek bench that suggests their CPU is better than a Cezanne or Lucienne, obviously.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
67 (0.28/day)
*BSD has a reputation for more security, which is kind of important for a firewall. Also, the PF firewall software in BSD is superior. Linux is certainly better at hardware support usually though.
Valid argument.
However, my opinion is that the firewall is inherently the weak point and not the underlying OS. No firewall is a bulletproof solution, all it gives you is more time to react against threat as it slow down the attacker. Therefore I believe IP Fire is a better solution than PFSense although both have its merits.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2014
Messages
2,248 (0.95/day)
This is about time. Intel has really screwed up the adoption rate of AVX by disabling it on their entry level products for so many years.

Now if only anything apart from random benchmarks used it...
I'm pretty sure you enjoy the benefits of AVX nearly every day.
It's obviously used in numerous productive tools like Photoshop, Premiere, Blender, video encoders (ffmpeg etc.), CAD, etc.
But also compression (7zip, winrar), web browsers (at least for video), and even a couple of games.

Intel's last stronghold AVX2. Why would Intel even give this to the mobile processors? Especially to those with 15W TDP. I mean, you can't do much on these anyway.
How come?
AMD have in some ways been better at adopting AVX2, featuring it even in their entry level products, and have supported it since Excavator(2015).
If anything, AVX-512 should be Intel's stronghold, if only they featured that across the entire lineup.

They needed AVX2? I thought they only needed plain AVX? (Missing on the Phenom II's pre-bulldozer, lots of people didn't upgrade to Bulldozer because it was worse from those, until a few titles in their DRM used AVX...)
AVX2 doesn't really use that much more die space than AVX, since it mostly adds some new operations and extended integer support, so there is really no reason for Intel to design an AVX-only implementation when they already have an AVX2 implementation.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
2,692 (1.42/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 3400G / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard Asus Prime B450M-A / HP 240 G5
Cooling AM3 Wraith + Spire v2 fan / Stock
Memory 2x 8GB Colorful 2666@3466MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX Vega 11 / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 240GB M.2 + HDD Toshiba 2TB / SSD Kingston A400 120GB SATA
Display(s) Samsung S22F350 @ 75Hz/ Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentey XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Logitech G203 / Elan Touchpad
Keyboard Generic / Stock
Software Windows 10 x64
No word on FMA, which is as important as AVX1/2, or more.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2012
Messages
254 (0.08/day)
KARMA is a B!TCH

Intel have been starving budget cpus of several function for years and because of that set back most PC to the digital stone age.

A simple thing like AES acceleration have been excluded for years in budget cpus for no real reason except Intels greed. Now there are tens of millions of PCs out there that are crippled when it comes to encryption and cannot smoothly accelerate VPN without tanking the computer to a stand still.

Now AMD are forcing their hand to increase performance and unlock functions on budget cpus. Intel would never have done this if there was no pressure from AMD.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,125 (1.70/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-36-400 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) GTX 2080 Ti (Undervolted OC 1925MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) LG 49NANO85 - 49" 4K 120HZ NanoIPS
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard Penclic C3
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
I'm pretty sure you enjoy the benefits of AVX nearly every day.
It's obviously used in numerous productive tools like Photoshop, Premiere, Blender, video encoders (ffmpeg etc.), CAD, etc.
But also compression (7zip, winrar), web browsers (at least for video), and even a couple of games.
[edited]

I am honestly not sure if I use the benefits of AVX2 -- I always thought that AVX always referred to 1.0 but your post made me do a bit of research, and now I can't really tell if it automatically uses 2. When I had Skylake-X and had AVX-512 it was NEVER used (which was a shame) so I had lumped AVX 2.0 into that category as well.
 
Last edited:

defaultluser

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2020
Messages
7 (0.06/day)
I would imagine this is the first step toward making mixed cPUs actually work properly, instead of being a cluster like Lakefield.

If they are enabling SSE2 in Celerons, then maybe they will also enable it on Atom cores. That would make Tremont's successor actually look appealing !

You don't need to use it on those Clelerons, but enabling the feature will mean a lot more software devs will feel it is worth their time to develop/optimize SSE2-paths.

You don't have to have impressive performance, but universal support will open-up the door for more optimization. For example, AMD's Jagua only has 128-bit vector units, but they added AVX support. Faster can come at a later time, but making the intruction-set universal will eventually give you that "corner-case vector benchmark" optimization come to more apps.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
1,262 (1.17/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 10 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
I would imagine this is the first step toward making mixed cPUs actually work properly, instead of being a cluster like Lakefield.

If they are enabling SSE2 in Celerons, then maybe they will also enable it on Atom cores. That would make Tremont's successor actually look appealing !

You don't need to use it on those Clelerons, but enabling the feature will mean a lot more software devs will feel it is worth their time to develop/optimize SSE2-paths.

You don't have to have impressive performance, but universal support will open-up the door for more optimization.
SSE2? That's been available in nearly any CPU since 2004. Heck, SSE4.2 has been supported in nearly all CPUs since Haswell (Pentium and Celeron didn't have it until Haswell) Sandy Bridge. We're talking AVX2 here.
 
Last edited:
Top