1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel to Discontinue More Core 2-based Processors

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Feb 2, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,422 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Intel informed vendors that it will begin cleaning up its dual-core Xeon 3000-series portfolio. The 3000-series version 3040, 3050, 3060 and 3070, all based on the 65 nm Conroe core, are entered into the firm’s product discontinuance program and are going to be phased out. The high end models 3075 (2.66GHz) and 3085 (3.0GHz) will remain available for now.

    Source: TG Daily
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,220 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    Ohio
    Does this mean they're making 45nm xeons for 775?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Dont know why the hell they carried on with Dual core anyway in terms of technology its a step back from quad core isnt it?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Ripper3

    Ripper3

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    London, England
    Yeah, because we can all afford a quad...
    A good dual can still serve you well, especially at high speeds. Runs with less power, and less heat.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    A Q6600 isnt expensive lol its actually quite cheap i expected paying £50-£60 more than i did for it the retail price is excellent.Its motherboards that need to go dual so i can run 2 Q6600 :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,121 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    965
    Its called a server motherboard.
     
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,774 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    I think he means consumer-based boards... server boards dont OC as well and need FB-dimms, not to mention, they cost a F*cKl*ad... Skulltail is whats up.
     
  8. Water Drop New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    176 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Not far from NYC
    There is no socket 775 dual socket motherboard. If you want two CPUs you gotta go socket 771 which is the true server socket for Intel. Socket 775 Xeons are pretty much rebranded Core 2s.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)