• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Intel to Unveil Octo-Core Xeon Next Month

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
Sitting tight on the desktop and server performance thrones with the Core i7 and Xeon Dunnington series procesors, Intel is looking to carry on with its product launch-cycle with the introduction of octo-core (8 cores) enterprise processors later this year. The company is expected to detail the industry about this upcoming processor series as early as next month at the Solid State Circuits conference in San Fransisco between February 8 and 12.

Show full news post
 

mtosev

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
1,462 (0.31/day)
Likes
144
Location
Maribor, Slovenia
Processor Core i7 930
Motherboard Asus P6X58D Premium
Memory 6gb SuperTalent WB200UX6G8
Video Card(s) xfx radeon hd 5970 black edition
Storage Intel X25-M 80
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2209wa
Case Haf 932
Audio Device(s) Integreted sound card
Software w7
#2
waw. what a stupid name "Octo". no comment.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#3
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,088 (0.23/day)
Likes
360
Location
66 feet from the ground
System Name 2nd AMD puppy
Processor Phenom II x4 BE 970-3.6 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2
Memory 16 Gb DDR3:8GB Kingston HyperX Beast + 8Gb G.Skill Sniper(by courtesy of tabascosauz &TPU)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6850 Cyclone;860/1100 Mhz
Storage SSD-840 pro 128 Gb;Seagate 500Gb;WD-1Tb
Display(s) Samsung 2032BW
Case NZXT 820 PHANTOM
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE with Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Cooleer Master RP M520
Mouse Razer copperhead / Gamdias zeus (by courtesy of sneekypeet & TPU)
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software win7 64bit sp1
Benchmark Scores irrelevant for me
#4
this is bad news for amd;this octo cpu will outperform all in perf and i don't think amd will survive more that 2 year from now on...
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#5
Quad socket > FB-DIMM2, they better fixed performance issues FB-DIMMs have or we still have the same problem as with the current Xeons, 8 cores basically being held back by lack of memory bandwidth in many cases. At least they have 4 channels per socket and NUMA, it would be nasty if 32 cores (with htt?) had to share that already limited bandwith :)

Not that it matters much to us, we won't buy quad socket stuff. And the dual socket boards use DDR3 so should actually have a lot of bandwidth due to NUMA.
 

dani31

New Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2008
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
Bucharest, RO
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 125W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U12P
Memory 4 x 1GB DDR2 1066 Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) RADEON HD4870 1GB
Storage 2 x Seagate 320GB single platters
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W
Software Vista x64 Home Basic
#6
8 cores x 4 sockets = 32 cores w/ hyperthreading = 64 logical cores in one system. Geez.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
1,182 (0.30/day)
Likes
98
Location
Bellevue, WA
System Name NORMANDY
Processor Intel Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 WS
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 16GB G.SKILL (2x F3-2400C11D-8GXM) @ 2333 Quad CH
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX750 TI and 4x Plugable UGA-3000 UGB Graphics Adapters
Storage Crucial M4 128GB SSD / Seagate ST2000DX001 Hybrid HDD
Display(s) Samsung 305t and 4x Dell 2001FP
Case CM Stacker 832 + 9x120mm CM TLF-S12-EB
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCI-E
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 Gold
Mouse Logitech MX Revolution / Microsoft SideWinder Gaming
Keyboard Varmilo VB87ML Cherry MX Black Bluetooth
Software Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15: 1188
#7
If they make an octo core xeon that will work with an x58 chipset on a consumer board like they currently make quad xeons for 775 I will be so happy.
 

Flyordie

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
1,870 (0.56/day)
Likes
246
System Name Shay's Revenge
Processor Phenom II X2 550 @ 4,012Mhz 1.488V
Motherboard DFI LANParty 790GX-M2RS
Cooling ThermalTake V1 "Black Widow"
Memory 2x2GB OCZ Reapers 4-4-4-12-1T @ 1.8V
Video Card(s) BBA HD5770 Crossfire @ 900Mhz Core 5.6Gbps VRAM
Storage 3x SATA (320GB/ 160GB/160GB Seagates)
Display(s) Westinghouse L1916HW 1680x1050 VGA/DVI/HDCP
Case ThermalTake Element V
Audio Device(s) RealTek Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-550HT Active PFC F3 80PLUS Bronze
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 w/ SQL Hack
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 13,200 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=495939
#8
Yes, but it will cost Intel ALOT to make...
Intel's CPUs are huge in comparison to AMDs.
AMD's literally cost less cause they use less silicon. So don't expect a simple price tag on the Intel Octo cores. (Especially since they can barely fit it onto their "socket". That little green PCB that they solder the die on) ... it can barely fit on that. AMD can fit up to 16 cores before it becomes an issue @ 45nm.
So I hope Intel comes up with a solution for their problem before AMD releases theirs.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#9
If they make an octo core xeon that will work with an x58 chipset on a consumer board like they currently make quad xeons for 775 I will be so happy.
Slim chance, the 6-core ones don't even exist in 771 flavor. So the 8 cores ones will probably remain with the quad socket boards. And since it uses a different socket it won't work on dual or single socket boards. I'm not sure if Xeon DP's will work on single socket boards though, socket seems the same. Perhaps we're going back to the Pentium 3 days.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#10
Yes, but it will cost Intel ALOT to make...
Intel's CPUs are huge in comparison to AMDs.
AMD's literally cost less cause they use less silicon. So don't expect a simple price tag on the Intel Octo cores. (Especially since they can barely fit it onto their "socket". That little green PCB that they solder the die on) ... it can barely fit on that. AMD can fit up to 16 cores before it becomes an issue @ 45nm.
So I hope Intel comes up with a solution for their problem before AMD releases theirs.
That's not true at all. Core i7's die size is 263mm^2 and Phenom II is 258mm^2, so if Intel can't fit 8 cores onto their chip, then AMD won't be able to either.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#11
So don't expect a simple price tag on the Intel Octo cores.
Completely unrelated to the die size though, these are MP's, they are extremely expensive no matter how small the die or how cheap to produce. These are for large servers, you won't normally even see them in SMB environments.
 

Flyordie

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
1,870 (0.56/day)
Likes
246
System Name Shay's Revenge
Processor Phenom II X2 550 @ 4,012Mhz 1.488V
Motherboard DFI LANParty 790GX-M2RS
Cooling ThermalTake V1 "Black Widow"
Memory 2x2GB OCZ Reapers 4-4-4-12-1T @ 1.8V
Video Card(s) BBA HD5770 Crossfire @ 900Mhz Core 5.6Gbps VRAM
Storage 3x SATA (320GB/ 160GB/160GB Seagates)
Display(s) Westinghouse L1916HW 1680x1050 VGA/DVI/HDCP
Case ThermalTake Element V
Audio Device(s) RealTek Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-550HT Active PFC F3 80PLUS Bronze
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 w/ SQL Hack
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 13,200 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=495939
#12
That's not true at all. Core i7's die size is 263mm^2 and Phenom II is 258mm^2, so if Intel can't fit 8 cores onto their chip, then AMD won't be able to either.
Yeah, expect that to change. ;-) Only reason PII has a bigger die... memory controller...
Remember, AMD's PII has both DDR2 and DDR3 controllers and Intel's does not. Memory Controllers take up alot of space still. From Nordic Hardware-
"It's probably not a bad idea for AMD to take advantage of their relatively small core size. At 45nm it can cram two cores (with 256 kB L1 total) into 30mm2. A single Nehalem core with 256 kB L2 also occupies ~30 mm2. "

So... I wouldn't say that isn't true at all.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#13
Yeah, expect that to change. ;-) Only reason PII has a bigger die... memory controller...
Remember, AMD's PII has both DDR2 and DDR3 controllers and Intel's does not. Memory Controllers take up alot of space still. From Nordic Hardware-
"It's probably not a bad idea for AMD to take advantage of their relatively small core size. At 45nm it can cram two cores (with 256 kB L1 total) into 30mm2. A single Nehalem core with 256 kB L2 also occupies ~30 mm2. "

So... I wouldn't say that isn't true at all.
The PII 920-940 is DDR2 only. No DDR3 support, afaik. The cpus that offer DDR3 end in 5. Like a few members here have 945 ES chips, which are both DDR2 and 3.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#14
Imagine a supercomputer with like 100,000 of these processors...
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#15

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#16
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
491 (0.15/day)
Likes
9
Location
ireland
Processor amd phenom 2 x4 955 @3.8
Motherboard asus m4n68t v2
Cooling tx2 cooler
Memory kingston hyperx blu 1600mhz
Video Card(s) gtx460
Storage 300gb+320gb+500gb
Display(s) targa 19"
Case black
Audio Device(s) audigy 2
Power Supply 700 watt generic brand
Software win 7 64bit
#17
Yeah, expect that to change. ;-) Only reason PII has a bigger die... memory controller...
Remember, AMD's PII has both DDR2 and DDR3 controllers and Intel's does not. Memory Controllers take up alot of space still. From Nordic Hardware-
"It's probably not a bad idea for AMD to take advantage of their relatively small core size. At 45nm it can cram two cores (with 256 kB L1 total) into 30mm2. A single Nehalem core with 256 kB L2 also occupies ~30 mm2. "

So... I wouldn't say that isn't true at all.
i7 has a built in mem controller too
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,123
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#18
Completely unrelated to the die size though, these are MP's, they are extremely expensive no matter how small the die or how cheap to produce. These are for large servers, you won't normally even see them in SMB environments.
Oh yeah, I could run the entire company I work for off a decked out 4P/32C/64T Xeon box, and even then it would be a bit overkill.

Only reason we're looking at 3 dual-quad boxes in the near future is for VMware High Availability. Each one with 32GB, 3TB storage, and two mid-range QC Xeons will end up around $4K. That probably wouldn't even buy TWO of these new OC Xeons, to help anyone with perspective on the price difference :D
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
1,062 (0.31/day)
Likes
68
System Name REBEL R1
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Stock
Memory 6GB OCZ GOLD TC LV Kit 1866MHz@1.65V 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Two Sapphire HD 5770 Vapor-X Xfire'd and OC'd (920/1330)
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 PCI Sound Card
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 16585 Performance Score on 3DMark Vantage
#19
this is bad news for amd;this octo cpu will outperform all in perf and i don't think amd will survive more that 2 year from now on...
Yeah, that is a shame. But don't forget, this is for workstation and business only unless if you dare to pay thousands. All AMD has to do is just get ready to compete with Intel at Price, since the need for these processors are so far insane.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.54/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#20
Quad socket > FB-DIMM2, they better fixed performance issues FB-DIMMs.
This is Beckton on FB-DDR3. But I also heard about the move to ditch FB-DIMM and go with Registered ECC DDR3.

Let's hope it is cooler and faster.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
1,062 (0.31/day)
Likes
68
System Name REBEL R1
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Stock
Memory 6GB OCZ GOLD TC LV Kit 1866MHz@1.65V 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Two Sapphire HD 5770 Vapor-X Xfire'd and OC'd (920/1330)
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 PCI Sound Card
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 16585 Performance Score on 3DMark Vantage
#21
This is Beckton on FB-DDR3. But I also heard about the move to ditch FB-DIMM and go with Registered ECC DDR3.

Let's hope it is cooler and faster.
It is, lower timings.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.54/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#22
Higher clocks, higher speed, higher bandwidth, lower power, but typically HIGHER timings in cycle count. What that means in terms of latecy? We will need to see. DDR2 had higher latency that DDR1 on launch. Probably true on DDR3 too. That's why L3 cache is so important.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#23
im assuming something like this will work best with a ddr 4 standard. clearly the bus speed on the boards needs to speed up first.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#24
NOW here is some real INNOVATION ! Not just MHz speed no real innovation !
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,920 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#25
im assuming something like this will work best with a ddr 4 standard. clearly the bus speed on the boards needs to speed up first.
Intel overcomes that with FB-DIMM. FB-DIMM has a memory controller right on the sticks that takes, and fulfills requests given to it. It adds some latency but it vastly decreases the complexity of the processor memory controllers communicating with the memory allowing for much larger pools of memory modules.

In short, FB-DIMM can do more with less. It won't be going anywhere any time soon. I can't see plain DIMMs being used when there's 8 or more slots. There's too many physical connections causing motherboards to get extremely expensive. FB-DIMM = more expensive memory, cheaper motherboard.


L3's have made a come back because the gap between DDR3 performance and L2 is so vast.
 
Last edited: