• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel WiFi 7 Products to be Unveiled in 2024 with Speeds of up to 5.8 Gbps

Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,859 (1.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Acer XV272K LVbmiipruzx
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Although Intel threw in the towel and gave up on making routers and gateways back in 2020, the company is still the world's largest manufacturer of WiFi modules for computers. Now news out of Korea suggests that Intel's first WiFi 7 products will be launched in 2024, about a year after the expected availability of the first WiFi 7 routers and gateways. That said, based on a quote from Eric McLaughlin, vice president of Intel's wireless solutions division, who attended an unspecified press conference in the APAC region, Intel "expect it to appear in major markets in 2025." This suggests that it'll be a late 2024 launch and we might see competitors' products in notebooks and PCs way ahead of Intel this time around.

That said, the WiFi 7 standard is currently only in the late stages of development, despite Broadcom, MediaTek and Qualcomm having announced multiple products already. It's likely we'll see another round of draft spec hardware launching either later this year, or next year, with the final WiFi 7 spec not expected to be ratified until 2024. As such, Intel may be later than its competitors, but should hopefully launch a feature complete product. Intel's products should support speeds of up to 5.8 GHz, although this would be using a 320 MHz wide channel and 4K QAM, which means these speeds will be limited to a few meters from a router. WiFi devices have a history of quirky issues between brands, even if none of them have been so severe that a fallback to an older standard hasn't solved the problem, but it's still been a hassle for consumers. Hopefully WiFi 7 won't repeat history, but we wouldn't place a bet on it.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site | Source
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
5,230 (5.79/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/Noctua D15
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many sammy 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.2x2 & win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
Now all we need is a isp to crank it up without wanting a kidney :laugh:
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
1,695 (0.91/day)
I for one would prefer for intel to first fix the drivers for their existing lineup.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,859 (1.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Acer XV272K LVbmiipruzx
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Hi,
Now all we need is a isp to crank it up without wanting a kidney :laugh:
You just need to move to the right place...

I for one would prefer for intel to first fix the drivers for their existing lineup.
What issues are you seeing? I know there was some issue going on, but haven't kept up to date. Don't really use WiFi on my desktop, but the few times I have, it's been fine.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
1,695 (0.91/day)
You just need to move to the right place...


What issues are you seeing? I know there was some issue going on, but haven't kept up to date. Don't really use WiFi on my desktop, but the few times I have, it's been fine.
Oh, the usual disconnects, .ax over .ac priority not working properly, need to disable .ax for 5GHz to work, etc. The usual.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,859 (1.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Acer XV272K LVbmiipruzx
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Oh, the usual disconnects, .ax over .ac priority not working properly, need to disable .ax for 5GHz to work, etc. The usual.
That sounds terrible. Not seen anything like that.
Could be related to your router hardware, as Intel seems to have a history of having issues with certain router hardware, especially from Broadcom.
Until recently, I've only ever had Qualcomm based hardware when it comes to routers and AP's at home.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
1,695 (0.91/day)
That sounds terrible. Not seen anything like that.
Could be related to your router hardware, as Intel seems to have a history of having issues with certain router hardware, especially from Broadcom.
Until recently, I've only ever had Qualcomm based hardware when it comes to routers and AP's at home.
That would be a fair guess if we weren't talking about a mix of various WiFi adapters and enterprise-grade AP and routers (Aruba, Rukus, MT, Ubiquiti, EnGenuis).
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,859 (1.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Acer XV272K LVbmiipruzx
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
That would be a fair guess if we weren't talking about a mix of various WiFi adapters and enterprise-grade AP and routers (Aruba, Rukus, MT, Ubiquiti, EnGenuis).
Hmmm, sounds... lovely... I guess at least some of that is related to none of the companies following the spec to 100%, but instead coming up with their own little additions to make things "better".
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
1,695 (0.91/day)
Hmmm, sounds... lovely... I guess at least some of that is related to none of the companies following the spec to 100%, but instead coming up with their own little additions to make things "better".
True to an extent, I gotta admit.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,859 (1.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Acer XV272K LVbmiipruzx
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
True to an extent, I gotta admit.
I used to work for a router manufacturer, so I've got a little bit of an insight, even though that was back when 802.11ac was just launching.
Qualcomm f-ed up so badly they had to do a chip respin on their WiFi radios, yet TP-Link had already sold a product with those radios and they were unfixable. TP-Link did what they always do, a new hardware revision and never updated the old product again...
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,536 (1.77/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory TeamGroup Classic 64GB(2x32GB) DDR4 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 3070 Ti Gaming OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Corsair RMX850 Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Hi,
Now all we need is a isp to crank it up without wanting a kidney :laugh:
It's not bad

I pay $150 for 1.2Gbps through Xfinity

This is what AT&T offers which I'm planning to switch too

internetr speeds.JPG
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
7,222 (2.45/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD FX-9370
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling Artic Liquid Freezer 2 - 420mm
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 500gb & 1Tb, 2tb HDD
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) - SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G604
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
856 (1.46/day)
Location
Slovenia
Processor i5-6600K
Motherboard Asus Z170A
Cooling some cheap Cooler Master
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) IGP
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2x Oldell 24" 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Nova white windowless
Audio Device(s) E-mu 1212m PCI
Power Supply Seasonic G-360
Mouse Logitech Marble trackball, never had a mouse
Keyboard Key Tronic KT2000, no Win key because 1994
Software Oldwin
Intel of course is the most credible source to listen to if we want to know what will be in 2024.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
5,230 (5.79/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/Noctua D15
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many sammy 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.2x2 & win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
It's not bad

I pay $150 for 1.2Gbps through Xfinity

This is what AT&T offers which I'm planning to switch too

View attachment 256983
Hi,
AT&T is the freaking devil company that doesn't know what price contracts are and raises the price a little every month so no thanks been there done that and never again for any service.

At least xfinity price is the exact same every month so yes I do use them now.
Only free cell phone I've ever gotten to.

No where near 150.us a month though for 900mbps
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2021
Messages
698 (1.44/day)
I think some misunderstand. You're never going to see or need those speeds unless you have a lot of apps/devices collectively using that much bandwidth. For example, downloading a large game is still going to be relatively slow since download rates are usually capped on the host's end.
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,536 (1.77/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory TeamGroup Classic 64GB(2x32GB) DDR4 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 3070 Ti Gaming OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Corsair RMX850 Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Hi,
AT&T is the freaking devil company that doesn't know what price contracts are and raises the price a little every month so no thanks been there done that and never again for any service.

At least xfinity price is the exact same every month so yes I do use them now.
Only free cell phone I've ever gotten to.

No where near 150.us a month though for 900mbps
I also have XH

I think some misunderstand. You're never going to see or need those speeds unless you have a lot of apps/devices collectively using that much bandwidth. For example, downloading a large game is still going to be relatively slow since download rates are usually capped on the host's end.
You can't speak for most of us. I definitely use all my bandwidth
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2021
Messages
698 (1.44/day)
I also have XH


You can't speak for most of us. I definitely use all my bandwidth
Agreed. Some people do need it. I'm just pointing out that even though someone has a connection rate of 1Gbps+, they're not going to be downloading stuff at that speed. It just means they can have more activity on their line without it causing latency or affecting other connections. My tested max download speed is around 140 Mbps, but if I'm downloading a game, I'm lucky if it hits 30 Mbps.
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
220 (0.08/day)
Location
Singapore
System Name Garbage
Processor Ryzen 5600X / 5600
Motherboard MSI B450M Mortar Ti / GB B550M Aorus Pro-P
Cooling Deepcool GTE / ID Cooling SE224XT
Memory Micron 32GB DDR4-3200 E-die @ 3600C16 / Ballistix Elite 16GB 3600C16
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC / Zotac 1070 Mini
Storage HP EX920 1TB, SX8200 Pro 2TB, Micron 1100 2TB, Crucial M550 1TB, Hynix P31 1TB
Display(s) Acer XB271HU @ 150Hz x2
Audio Device(s) JBL LSR305 + Topping D50S / iLoud MM + SMSL DO100
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 850W / G-series 650W
Mouse Logitech G304 x2
I use positively ancient USB2.0 300 Mbps 802.11n 5GHz on real 1GBps FTTH and I still feel I'm not missing anything.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
186 (0.03/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
For this to be effective we need 10 gigabit connection from ISP at reasonable rates, cheap 10GbE switches, and all that before 2025.

IMHO, for single family homes and small offices this is all overkill. We need stable reliable connectivity, low latency, not huge (unrealistic) speeds.

Btw, typo there : "Intel's products should support speeds of up to 5.8 GHz" (probably Gbps)
 
Top