• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Interesting NIC problems

Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.38/day)
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro
Hi there guys. :toast:

Usually I don't find much need to post problems here on TPU, I like to come and solve them. Today (the past week), I've been having some issues with my onboard network adapter. Apparently, it just died one day. Disappeared from the device manager and everything, reinstalling drivers didn't do anything to help fix it, as it couldn't find the hardware. The light at the port comes on when a cable is plugged in, but nothing else. It was enabled in BIOS, and has since been disabled and ignored.

I can handle using a NIC, no problem. One of the spares lying around here had a CNET PowerPRO 200 10/100 NIC. Tis old, and not PnP. So I had to try and find some drivers for it. Luckily, there were some at the manufacturers site, however they were for a Realtek RTL8139C. Here's where this gets interesting...

The card is identified as "Other" without forcing these drivers on it. Once adding them it becomes a network adapter, but has little to no function. Oddly enough, disabling it through device manager only lasts the session, and a restart enables it by default. There's also something wrong with the card, as it takes 100% CPU time with one core every 2 seconds or so. At first I though this was Vista Readyboost kicking in since I had a USB stick plugged in. A bit of testing figgered that out. Disabling the NIC stops this behavior, but it sound familiar to a problem someone had here a few months back.

I use a Router->Cable Modem for internet and networking with my second PC. If I go into Network and Sharing Center with the card enabled, it'll find an Unidentified Network with limited connectivity. This confuses me, as everything was working just fine before the onboard died, it simply won't use the previous settings. Repair/Diagnose/Setup New/Merge etc., nothing works or helps from what I've been able to find.

If anyone can help out, or just think of something I haven't tried, I'd appreciate it.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,573 (0.50/day)
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 4440 / 4430
Motherboard Asus z87-k / Gigabyte ga h97- d3h
Cooling Arctic freezer / Generic
Memory 8 gb Mushkin / Various
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 cf / Gtx 690
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / 2x1 terabyte hdds Wd 256 gb nvme
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Corsair
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 850 w
Software Windows 10
So you`re sure they were the right drivers ?
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.38/day)
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro
So you`re sure they were the right drivers ?
Not at all, but they were from the manufacturers website, and I couldn't find anywhere else with drivers for that exact card. It wouldn't surprise me if Realtek made the chips on the card, or wrote the drivers. CNET isn't exactly a big brand name for PC hardware...
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,573 (0.50/day)
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 4440 / 4430
Motherboard Asus z87-k / Gigabyte ga h97- d3h
Cooling Arctic freezer / Generic
Memory 8 gb Mushkin / Various
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 cf / Gtx 690
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / 2x1 terabyte hdds Wd 256 gb nvme
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Corsair
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 850 w
Software Windows 10
Try updating from microsoft over teh web.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.38/day)
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro
I don't really understand what you mean by that...

What with my NIC having issues = No internets. This is a second PC, and it'd be hard to update onto a flash drive to transfer it over.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,573 (0.50/day)
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 4440 / 4430
Motherboard Asus z87-k / Gigabyte ga h97- d3h
Cooling Arctic freezer / Generic
Memory 8 gb Mushkin / Various
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 cf / Gtx 690
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / 2x1 terabyte hdds Wd 256 gb nvme
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Corsair
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 850 w
Software Windows 10
Yeah of course. If you ever get internet access back, drivergenius or something like that might work as well.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.38/day)
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro
Yeah of course. If you ever get internet access back, drivergenius or something like that might work as well.
DriverGenius sounds interesting...

Why bother with an old non-pnp card? Just buy a cheap NIC for <$10. It safes you a lot of problems.
Just working with what I got at the moment. I like a challenge, bit off more than I could chew. Figger I'd see if anyone here had any answers is all.
 

boogah

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
887 (0.20/day)
Location
Houston
System Name Core i7 WS
Processor i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6T WS Professional
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme RT1366
Memory 6gb 3x2gb Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) Firepro V8700
Storage Velociraptor 300gb in raid0
Display(s) 2x Dell Ultrasharp 24"
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) onboard sound
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 7 64-bit
your southbridge chip probably went out. I had it happened on a few of the motherboard that i had to RMA. the symtoms were the same if i plug a realtek pci card in it still won't read it since the southbridge controls the onboard NIC and the PCI slots.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.38/day)
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro
Great, and the extra cooling I put on that didn't do anything then. lolz. Well, guess I'll have to deal with having a badass gaming PC with no net...

Or alternatively... I could go with an external USB NIC, yes?
Like this?

Just a spur of the moment thought, I'm not surprised they make them, but definitely intrigued... o.o
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.32/day)
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
dude just get a 5 dollar PCI lan card omfg
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.38/day)
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro
dude just get a 5 dollar PCI lan card omfg
Golly gee! I hadn't thought of that alternative!

C'mon man, there's more to it than that. I wouldn't be asking if there wasn't. I've tried three different PCI cards now, and even a sound card. PCI slots are borked. Anytime I activate a device using one of them the CPU cycles go crazy on one core and nothing else happens.:shadedshu
 

boogah

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
887 (0.20/day)
Location
Houston
System Name Core i7 WS
Processor i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6T WS Professional
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme RT1366
Memory 6gb 3x2gb Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) Firepro V8700
Storage Velociraptor 300gb in raid0
Display(s) 2x Dell Ultrasharp 24"
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) onboard sound
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 7 64-bit
there's another alternative ^___~

3 letters R M A ^___~
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
1,691 (0.36/day)
Can you ping yourself in CMD? to see if the card is even being "active"?127.0.0.1

EDIT: Im not talking about the onboard, im talking about the PCI NIC.

Edit again: forget it:toast:
 

boogah

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
887 (0.20/day)
Location
Houston
System Name Core i7 WS
Processor i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6T WS Professional
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme RT1366
Memory 6gb 3x2gb Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) Firepro V8700
Storage Velociraptor 300gb in raid0
Display(s) 2x Dell Ultrasharp 24"
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) onboard sound
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 7 64-bit
We already established that the southbridge chip is dead.
 
Top