1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Interesting Thread on ATI Drivers

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by eidairaman1, Dec 14, 2008.

  1. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,503 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,503
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2008
    MKmods, oli_ramsay and newconroer say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,490 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    UK
    I get random BSODs sometimes while gaming, it's happening a lot with GTA4 and left 4 dead and it's soooo annoying! I'll uninstall CCC as the thread says and see if that helps at all.

    Thanks for teh heads up though!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,503 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,503
    that doesnt help really at all as its what is goin on in windows itself, if you want full tweaking of the card i suggest getting ATI Tray tools in combination with the Classic CP.
     
    oli_ramsay says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,490 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    UK
    hmm, looks like a couple of windows updates are needed, but they're for Xp only. Well I'm stumped.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. I beginning to suspect that Microsoft hates ATI for some reason,because this is not the frist time windows got issues with ATI cards.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,490 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    UK
    Just out of interest, is there any Radeon users here on TPU that get frequent BSOD's while gaming?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. King Wookie

    King Wookie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    It wasn't BSOD's, but VPU Recover would keep kicking in; even in 2D mode.
    What fixed it was updating Adobe Reader. Go figure.:confused:
     
  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,194 (4.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,677
    Location:
    US
    I get them but only booting XP restarting and then booting Vista ( Visa Versa ). Thats noting to do with ATI though as it does it with the 7900 too.

    Only other time i had issue with ATI cards was due to using Rivatuner.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    I have the BSOD disabled but I do get hard crashes when the cards are overclocked using HDMI as either secondary or primary display.

    No HDMI = no crashing for me.
     
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,503 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,503
    Turn off VPU Recovery, that service is what i think is ATIs Achilles Heel, it usually makes the card less stable to have it on than to have it off.
     
    Jaffakeik says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,955 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    493
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i got restart only in gta4 with BSOD.didnt seen in other games yet.
     
  12. leonard_222003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    241 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I got a problem with the overclock from CCC , can't use it cause i get a white screen in my case :) , solution is to use riva tuner.
    My card not being referance one doesn't work with many overclocking softwares like ati tray tools i get crashes just like CCC.
    Others problems i didn't encounter , no game crahes but i use clean windows XP with sp3.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,503 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,503
    Id Refrain from Installing SP3 Period
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,503 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,503
    Could be .net Related, Also awhile back i was having problem of apps crashing, it pointed to a strange file which i believe was being shared between these apps, and the file was .net related, these problems occurred while i had Service Pack 3 in, well low and behold i went back to XP with SP2, Mind i have MCE 2005. All in all after reverting back as of fresh install, i noticed after SP2 is installed for MCE 2005 there are certain critical files/other software that is needed for the Proper Function of MCE 2005 which do appear but don't appear after SP3 is installed from fresh (no WUPs yet), so a possibility that SP3 prevents those critical files from being installed thus causes problems, so i refrain from installin SP3 again because i think its a ploy from MS to get you to move to Vista when Vista is broken still.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. I had BSOD's on xp loading screen.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,503 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,503
    hmm

    Ever Look on the box or the Manual of the Sapphire X1950 Pro before you Started running it? Because it specifically states a 450 watt or higher PSU that can maintain high Amps aswell, your PSU is shy of that and FSP isnt that good of a manufacturer, so i suggest trying a known Good Powersupply with Greater Rating of 450-500 watts and see if that makes a difference, also Drivers do load during the XP load screen.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)