• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

internet audio isnt working

Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
91 (0.03/day)
Likes
12
System Name Mace Windu
Processor Intel i7 2600K @ 4.8GHz Vcore @ 1.4
Motherboard ASUS WS Revolution P67
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Memory 4x2GB GSkill RipJaw DDR3 1600MHz @ 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE VAPOR-X R9 280X TRI-X
Storage 128GB Crucial C300 SSD (system), 600GB WD Velociraptor (Games), 250GB External (Everything Else)
Display(s) ASUS 24" LED LCD 2ms
Case Corsair 650D
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence XTS w/ Astro A40 5.8 wireless
Power Supply Corsair AX850 850W >90% EFF@300w-650w ~89%@Full Load
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
Hard data works on the desktop through software but streaming audio or flash audio through internet browsers doesnt seem to play.

im working on this problem on someone else's computer. i've updated their realtek audio controllers through windows update, i've uninstalled and reinstalled adobe flash, i've tried both IE and FF3 and i still dont see any resolve.

if there's anything that can be done or if anyone else has had this problem in the past, suggestions are welcomed.

this computer is a compaq with vista home premuim, 1G ram, intel chipsets, and realtek audio controllers.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#2
this happened to me before, and all i did was turn off my computer, then turned it back on again haha. but it seems like you've already done that.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#3
If you're using Vista, it could be turned down seperatley from all the other sounds. Click on the volume icon in the notification area, click mixer and check if they're all turned all the way up.

 
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
91 (0.03/day)
Likes
12
System Name Mace Windu
Processor Intel i7 2600K @ 4.8GHz Vcore @ 1.4
Motherboard ASUS WS Revolution P67
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Memory 4x2GB GSkill RipJaw DDR3 1600MHz @ 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE VAPOR-X R9 280X TRI-X
Storage 128GB Crucial C300 SSD (system), 600GB WD Velociraptor (Games), 250GB External (Everything Else)
Display(s) ASUS 24" LED LCD 2ms
Case Corsair 650D
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence XTS w/ Astro A40 5.8 wireless
Power Supply Corsair AX850 850W >90% EFF@300w-650w ~89%@Full Load
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#4
while im watching or running streaming audio im not even getting a signal to lower or raise the volume on the mixer.

so i cant determine if its a driver problem and/or a browser problem.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#5
Sounds like an audio problem. What if you tried to reinstall firefox?
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#6
u tried system restore?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.91/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#7
If you install flash with FireFox open it can do that. Try downloading Flash (if you deleted it) and reinstalling it without FireFox open. You should be hearing sound. :)