• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Internet goes crazy slow

Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,106 (0.42/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#1
Hello all. For the past few days I have been noticing that my internet speeds will bog down to...well crap. At first I thought it was just my computer until my girlfriend brought to my attention that hers too was going SLOW. To the point where normally we can download at around 2 megs/sec but now it will dip to around 45kb/s and stay there. I have tried restarting the router and modem both with no luck. However, if I restart them and then disable and re-enable the wifi on my computer it will go back to it's normal speed.

So, is it my/her computer, the router or modem or the ISP? We have the same provider for cable as well as internet and have noticed no problems in TV (not sure that we would)

Ideas?

EDIT: Have noticed that the problem isn't just with my computer. It happens on my phone as well. So, it is network wide. Have tried updating the router but it is up to date already.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (0.99/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#2
Don't have bandwidth cap per month do you. By restart you mean the usual modem and router restart right?
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,106 (0.42/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#3
Don't have bandwidth cap per month do you. By restart you mean the usual modem and router restart right?
No, no cap. Sorry, should have been more specific on a "restart". By that I mean unplugging both for around 30 seconds to a minute and plugging them both back in. Not using the restart button.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
sure no one else is using your internet? torrents could be causing that
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,598 (2.06/day)
Likes
3,921
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
Change your wifi key, and see if it changes. You may have a bum using up your connection. Sounds like when you restart you dump their connection.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,759 (0.76/day)
Likes
481
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
#6
Or your little brother watching multiple netflix movies? Lol, thats usually the problem for me. I live in the boondocks tho so bums aren't a problem for me. You could change your password like they mentioned, that would be hilarious if that fixed it
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,437 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,621
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#7
Do you run anything like Plex media server?
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,647 (2.64/day)
Likes
3,429
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#8
Haha funny how I was listening to a program last night about the op's problem.. the top providers are fucking witth us all.. compair los Angeles net speed... for $30 dollars they get 10mb d/l and 1 mb up... now go to hong kong.. for $36 you get 500mb down and up so wtf gives? Ill tell ya.. we are getting fucked big time.. I've raised my voice a few times with my providers and after speaking loud enough the problem gets fixed but for only 3-4 months then they want me to rent there equipment as they say it all looks good on our end.. bull shit it does..

That's all and sorry for the words but it really pisses me off these companies.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,759 (0.76/day)
Likes
481
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
#9
Fullinfusion, i have the same complaint exactly. I guess the infrastructure for that really doesnt exist here other than a few specific places. Most places, like where i am youre doing good to get 1mb down and not to be on crappy sattelite, which would go out several times a day.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,647 (2.64/day)
Likes
3,429
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#10
Fullinfusion, i have the same complaint exactly. I guess the infrastructure for that really doesnt exist here other than a few specific places. Most places, like where i am youre doing good to get 1mb down and not to be on crappy sattelite, which would go out several times a day.
I hear ya man!

I just upped my connection to 50Mb d/l and 2Mb up.. Pathetic upload but its all they give us.
I ran a few tests and all in all im sitting @ 40Mb down and 1.6-1.7 up

Tottal shit imo and to think a tech support will answer the phone? Nope :banghead:
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,106 (0.42/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#11
To pretty much all above posts,

Thank you guys very much. As far as someone piggybacking off of my WiFi I don't think that would be happening. We live somewhat in the country. We do have neighbors but all of them have their own wifi. I checked my router to see all of the connections on it and two of which are mine, the other two say unknown under the name however I believe one is the printer and the other is maybe another cell phone. The IP's don't look funky on them either.

Should I still change the wifi password? Or is that now not needed? Thanks again guys!
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,437 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,621
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#12
This site: http://aruljohn.com/mac.pl
will tell you who made the device that's on the network by the first six of the mac address.

Use that to determine if it's a phone or another pc.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,106 (0.42/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#13
This site: http://aruljohn.com/mac.pl
will tell you who made the device that's on the network by the first six of the mac address.

Use that to determine if it's a phone or another pc.
Wow. That's a handy site. I did a check and the other unknown is just my girlfirends phone. So yeah, back to where we were. No one piggybacking. :/

EDIT: Started going slow again so I tried to just disable the wifi on my computer and re-enable it. From what I can tell that seemed to work. Not sure if it actually worked or if it was just some sort of coincidence.