• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Internet useless when uploading

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,876 (0.63/day)
Likes
536
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#1
I just had my main DSL modem replaced by the ISP because the old one was having problems, they replaced it with a new model(with wifi) and I connected it to my Wi-fi Router(ASUS brand, that uses a dd-wrt firmware)

Everything works fine, I can browse and game as usual, except when I upload things, on facebook, youtube, etc, there's a problem.

I get disconnected from everything else. Steam goes offline, I can't browse any website, My games get disconnected, raidcall gets disconnected, it looked like I had no internet. the only thing that was working was the upload itself, I have to wait until the upload is finished until I can start using the internet again. I cancel the upload and everything goes back to normal, so I'm 100% sure it's the uploading that's causing it. and It's not just me, everyone in our network 'loses connection'

I need help

things I did.
Reset my router
Changed DNS
Changed IP
Restarted PC
I did a speedtest and nothing unusual

EDIT: Turned off everything for 5 minutes and tested it again, it seems ok, for now
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,687 (6.18/day)
Likes
10,842
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#2
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,399 (4.12/day)
Likes
10,621
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#3
dd-wrt firmware is a third party firmware correct? If so, possibly returning router to factory defaults i.e original bios etc. Just a thought, this one seems odd, also Did u mean they replaced Your Modem? Cuz you mentioned two routers, unless your boosting,or the like with double routers. I personally would break the chain of devices down to the simplest configuration, and work from there.

It just seems odd, that You dont get disconnected during gaming, which is doing some uploading during MP games...
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,876 (0.63/day)
Likes
536
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#4
dd-wrt firmware is a third party firmware correct? If so, possibly returning router to factory defaults i.e original bios etc. Just a thought, this one seems odd, also Did u mean they replaced Your Modem? Cuz you mentioned two routers, unless your boosting,or the like with double routers. I personally would break the chain of devices down to the simplest configuration, and work from there.

It just seems odd, that You dont get disconnected during gaming, which is doing some uploading during MP games...
Sorry, yeah, I meant they replaced my old DSL modem with a new model, with wifi built in, so it's also a router, but they help me set it up(bridged mode) so I could still use my main router

I have been using dd-wrt for years on that router, so no problems on that firmware

I will try plugging in the PC to the DSL modem directly and see what happens
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,687 (6.18/day)
Likes
10,842
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#5
Same thing, I suspect. I believe it is due to the nature of DSL (upload has priority).
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,536 (6.15/day)
Likes
6,958
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender!
Processor I7 7700K @ STOCK
Motherboard AsRock Z270 Extreme 4 mATX
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz OC'd to 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080TI SC2
Storage 2x Kingston 256GB M.2 PCIe SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) LG 29Inch Ultra wide 2K
Case NZXT Vulcan
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Mouse Zowie EC1A
Keyboard Logitech G910 Gaming
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#6
If your modem has wifi and you have it connected to another router with wifi then you are most likely double NAT and that could cause problems. Figure out if you can turn off the router portion of the ISPs modem and give the public IP to the WAN of the Asus router.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,501 (1.54/day)
Likes
1,780
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#7
I had to upgrade my connection for better upload.. Stingy ISP only has 50 Mbps download but only 3 Mbps upload. Prev was 22/1.2