• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Irregular frequency with Windows 10 (bus speed?)

Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
414 (0.15/day)
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel Core i7 5960X - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard Asus X99-E WS
Cooling 360 Monsta + 360 ST30 | 9 White EK Vardar
Memory 32GB Corsair LPX 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
Storage Intel 750 400GB, Intel 750 1.2TB
Display(s) Asus PG279Q | 2 x Dell U2412M
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo SE Black/White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Jotunheim - Xonar Essence One | Fostex TH-900, Fidelio X2 - KRK Rokit RP-6 G3
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i - Black/White Cablemod Sleeves
Mouse Logitech G303 Daedalus Apex
Keyboard Ducky Shine 1 - MX Brown
Software Windows 10
Hey guys. I have noticed this for a while now but since i upgraded to Windows 10 at its release my overclocked frequencies has not been steady. This is exactly the same settings I had in Windows 8.1 which didn't have this "problem". I have also measured the same results with both HWINFO64 and Aida 5.50.3600.

Is this just a measuring problem in Windows 10 or is there something else to it? Something I have missed maybe? (Since voltage reading is not working in CPU-Z)

First and foremost, here is my current settings.

4960X
4.5Ghz
45 All core Turbo
1.25V
100 Mhz BCLK
Every C-state Off
Speedstep Off
CPU Spread Spectrum Disabled
Maximum performance in Windows power settings.


For example, when its idling in Windows i get a result pretty much like this. The frequency is bouncing around according to the bus speed which changes between 96.7 MHz all the way to 99 MHz.



And when I run the built-in benchmark in CPU-Z, single core results looks like this:



Looks almost exactly like the idle one, except that the Bus Speed is 96.8 MHz. And finally, when all cores are in use it jumps up a bit, but it still does not hit that BCLK I have put in place.

 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,623 (2.62/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k @ Stock
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ DDR4-3400 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) USB Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
I get the same thing with my 6700k.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Location
Germany
Processor Core i7 7800X @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard MSI X299 SLI Plus
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho
Memory 32 GB Corsair LPX DDR4 3000 CL15 @ 3466 CL17 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW @ 2052/4253 @ 1,0v
Storage 2x Samsung 256 GB NVMe, 9x 1 TB WD RE4 @ RAID5
Display(s) Acer XF270HUA + Eizo S2431WH-GY
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs SoundBlasterX AE-5
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G2 650w
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Hyper-V is known to cause this behaviour.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
414 (0.15/day)
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel Core i7 5960X - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard Asus X99-E WS
Cooling 360 Monsta + 360 ST30 | 9 White EK Vardar
Memory 32GB Corsair LPX 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
Storage Intel 750 400GB, Intel 750 1.2TB
Display(s) Asus PG279Q | 2 x Dell U2412M
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo SE Black/White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Jotunheim - Xonar Essence One | Fostex TH-900, Fidelio X2 - KRK Rokit RP-6 G3
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i - Black/White Cablemod Sleeves
Mouse Logitech G303 Daedalus Apex
Keyboard Ducky Shine 1 - MX Brown
Software Windows 10
Hyper-V is known to cause this behaviour.
Wow, you are completely right. I uninstalled Hyper-V and it jumped back up to where it should. Since I have a server for this purpose now I don't need the feature.

I would never have thought of that. Thank you very much for the help.
Not that this really was a performance problem more of a confusing OCD-thing going on.

Does Hyper-V really affect the frequency or is it a sensor issue?

 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
1,326 (0.35/day)
Location
Latvia
System Name Personal \\ Work - HP EliteBook 840 G3
Processor i7-4790K \\ i7-6500U
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Noctua DH-15
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB 2400 MHz \\ 16GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS RoG Strix 1070 Ti\\ Intel 520 HD
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, WD Black 2 TB, Samsung 970 Pro 512GB \\ Samsung 256GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z \\ FullHD + 2x HP Z24i external screens via docking station
Case Fractal Design Define Arc Midi R2 with window
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 with Logitech Z323
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 10
Well, do you have any machine running in background? That would be the first place I would look.
Unless you have explicitly shut it down, not just closed, it will always run, even after PC restart.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,390 (4.04/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
Does Hyper-V really affect the frequency or is it a sensor issue?
I've read a couple posts on various forums that indicate that more than one device accessing the timer will cause strange results with the readout, not with actual clocks. Although I'm not going to lie, this being the issue blows my mind and I'm not sure if the two are related. Extra props for @ricoh on this one.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
414 (0.15/day)
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel Core i7 5960X - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard Asus X99-E WS
Cooling 360 Monsta + 360 ST30 | 9 White EK Vardar
Memory 32GB Corsair LPX 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
Storage Intel 750 400GB, Intel 750 1.2TB
Display(s) Asus PG279Q | 2 x Dell U2412M
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo SE Black/White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Jotunheim - Xonar Essence One | Fostex TH-900, Fidelio X2 - KRK Rokit RP-6 G3
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i - Black/White Cablemod Sleeves
Mouse Logitech G303 Daedalus Apex
Keyboard Ducky Shine 1 - MX Brown
Software Windows 10
Well, do you have any machine running in background? That would be the first place I would look.
Unless you have explicitly shut it down, not just closed, it will always run, even after PC restart.
Im really sure I didn't have it a machine running. I think i removed them completely when i transferred the machines over to the server.

I've read a couple posts on various forums that indicate that more than one device accessing the timer will cause strange results with the readout, not with actual clocks. Although I'm not going to lie, this being the issue blows my mind and I'm not sure if the two are related. Extra props for @ricoh on this one.
It is very interesting, if it affects it even without any machine running.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
687 (0.27/day)
System Name Old but gold
Processor 3770k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus Gene V
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16Gb 1600 DDR3@2400 Cl11
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , SanDisk 480Gb (Games), WD Caviar Black 4 TB (Games and storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Some old Dell
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro 1903
I get the same on my 4690k, jumps up to 102 bus....I believe it is just a conflict when running two bits of software monitoring the same thing but gonna disable hyper v and will share if it fixes it.
 
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
1,326 (0.35/day)
Location
Latvia
System Name Personal \\ Work - HP EliteBook 840 G3
Processor i7-4790K \\ i7-6500U
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Noctua DH-15
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB 2400 MHz \\ 16GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS RoG Strix 1070 Ti\\ Intel 520 HD
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, WD Black 2 TB, Samsung 970 Pro 512GB \\ Samsung 256GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z \\ FullHD + 2x HP Z24i external screens via docking station
Case Fractal Design Define Arc Midi R2 with window
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 with Logitech Z323
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 10
I will have to check my own PC for this, since I use Hyper-V client.
Let's see what happens with no VM's running.
 
Top