• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is 263+ house voltage safe for gaming pc?

Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
427 (0.30/day)
Likes
39
System Name Rtxoned
Processor Intel i5 8600k
Motherboard Msi Z370 Sli Plus
Cooling Cooler Master Ml240r
Memory Corsair vengeance 8x2 DDR4 2400mhx
Video Card(s) Zotac Rtx 2080 Amp
Storage 250gb SSD, 500Gb SATA, 250Gb SATA
Display(s) Alienware 25” 240hz
Case Nzxt H700i
Power Supply Thermaltake toughpower 1000w 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech 403
Keyboard Hyperx alloy fps mechanical keyboard Cherymx Blue
Software Windows 10
#1
Hi, first of all,
I apologise if it’s wrong section,

During night my house get high voltage like 263+v (india),
My gaming pc is powered by Sinewave Ups 2000va,
Its on battery because of high voltage, but i got a switch on ups says unragulated mod, would switching unregulated mod kill my pc?
I need your advice.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
15,545 (3.35/day)
Likes
6,032
Location
Piteå
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
#2
Is that a spike or is it 263V sustained? Is your current UPS unregulated or do you mean you havean unregulated one you want to use instead?

In any case you want regulated power anything. Unregulated means output is dependant on input, and if your input is wonky your output will be so as well. For instance those old unregulated transformers had a 15V output without load, but on full load (say 2A) the voltage dropped to say 11V.

An UPS might be different though as you have the batteried between the mains and you. I don't know enough about UPSes to say for sure.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,870 (2.89/day)
Likes
15,347
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#4
You don’t want unregulated. If you have a UPS, part of what a good one will do is even out the voltages, whether too low or too high.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
427 (0.30/day)
Likes
39
System Name Rtxoned
Processor Intel i5 8600k
Motherboard Msi Z370 Sli Plus
Cooling Cooler Master Ml240r
Memory Corsair vengeance 8x2 DDR4 2400mhx
Video Card(s) Zotac Rtx 2080 Amp
Storage 250gb SSD, 500Gb SATA, 250Gb SATA
Display(s) Alienware 25” 240hz
Case Nzxt H700i
Power Supply Thermaltake toughpower 1000w 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech 403
Keyboard Hyperx alloy fps mechanical keyboard Cherymx Blue
Software Windows 10
#5
Which UPS are you talking about, pure sinewave?
yes, SUKAM

You don’t want unregulated. If you have a UPS, part of what a good one will do is even out the voltages, whether too low or too high.
if i run on main power. will psu regulate voltage?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,870 (2.89/day)
Likes
15,347
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#6
if i run on main power. will psu regulate voltage
Many do, but not all. And none can do it to the degree that a UPS can, I believe.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
1,088 (0.81/day)
Likes
638
Location
Long Island
#7
Voltage spikes high at night and lower during the day because of the high demand during daylight hours. IIRC, you guys standard is 220 which is a 20% variance. Low voltage is the more dangerorus of the two but remember the PC depends heavily on stable voltage so having to chase varying voltages puts a strain on voltage controllers. All electrical devices have acceptable voltage ranges ... + 10% / -5% is common for sensitive electronic components. I find PSU suppliers do not put this spec on their spec pages.

The switch on the UPS is so you can match the UPS to the type of PSU being used.

A regulated power supply provides a constant output voltage, independent of the output current.

With an unregulated power supply it will provide a constant amount of power (V x A). The output voltage will decrease as the output current increases, and vice versa
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,057 (1.68/day)
Likes
3,068
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX950 MINI
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Can fit into a backpack =)
#9
Its on battery because of high voltage, but i got a switch on ups says unragulated mod, would switching unregulated mod kill my pc?
260V is definitely on the high side. Theoretically it won't kill your PC but I sure as hell won't risk it.
Switch your UPS back to normal (regulated) mode. The only positive benefit of unregulated mode is the overall efficiency (AC goes straight through, no losses, less heat inside UPS).
Regulated mode is less efficient, cause you have an internal stabilizer compensating for voltage jitter and spikes, but it's safer and better for your hardware.

My area also suffers from unstable voltage, but the most I've seen was around 248V RMS at night and ~215-220 during peak hours. And I'm still shitting my pants every time I hear a switching regulator clicking in my old Sven UPS.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
1,751 (0.86/day)
Likes
785
#11
230V to be precise btw you're fine with that UPS, one of my relatives have the same make (not sure which model you have, but their's pure SW as well) & their power (supply) quality is even worse. No problems at their home, till now.

260v continuous is hard to imagine, it'll fry the rest of the things in the house as well. It must be spikes, which seems fine so long as the avg supply is in the 220~240v range.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,422 (5.64/day)
Likes
7,462
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
I thought India was 240volts?
Typically 220 Volts, they just have poor standards.

He needs an automatic volt regulator converter there to get it close to 220. In the US variance can be 10%
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
427 (0.30/day)
Likes
39
System Name Rtxoned
Processor Intel i5 8600k
Motherboard Msi Z370 Sli Plus
Cooling Cooler Master Ml240r
Memory Corsair vengeance 8x2 DDR4 2400mhx
Video Card(s) Zotac Rtx 2080 Amp
Storage 250gb SSD, 500Gb SATA, 250Gb SATA
Display(s) Alienware 25” 240hz
Case Nzxt H700i
Power Supply Thermaltake toughpower 1000w 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech 403
Keyboard Hyperx alloy fps mechanical keyboard Cherymx Blue
Software Windows 10
#13
Thanks guys, yes regulated mode still on, i havent switched it, thanks for alerting me,
Typically 220 Volts, they just have poor standards.

He needs an automatic volt regulator converter there to get it close to 220. In the US variance can be 10%
Yes right, will air conditioner stabiliser/regulator work in that case?
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
15,545 (3.35/day)
Likes
6,032
Location
Piteå
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
#15
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
3,599 (1.84/day)
Likes
2,129
Location
USA
#16
It's actually 230V +- 6%, officially at least (by the specs).
There seems to be a difference of opinion depending on where someone looks. Maybe there's a difference in standards as well depending on the region of India being discussed.

Either way, the voltage being described by the OP seems very high. I'd recommend keeping the UPS in power regulation mode and/or find a power regulator that can handle the job better.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
15,545 (3.35/day)
Likes
6,032
Location
Piteå
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
#17
There seems to be a difference of opinion depending on where someone looks. Maybe there's a difference in standards as well depending on the region of India being discussed.
No, 230V is the official number. Most 220-240V nations has 230V +-6 or -6%/+10% to allow for both 220 and 240V providers.

As Naylor says reality can differ though.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
427 (0.30/day)
Likes
39
System Name Rtxoned
Processor Intel i5 8600k
Motherboard Msi Z370 Sli Plus
Cooling Cooler Master Ml240r
Memory Corsair vengeance 8x2 DDR4 2400mhx
Video Card(s) Zotac Rtx 2080 Amp
Storage 250gb SSD, 500Gb SATA, 250Gb SATA
Display(s) Alienware 25” 240hz
Case Nzxt H700i
Power Supply Thermaltake toughpower 1000w 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech 403
Keyboard Hyperx alloy fps mechanical keyboard Cherymx Blue
Software Windows 10
#18
Can i use Ac stabiliser? Is it good idea or my brain sucks?
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
528 (0.14/day)
Likes
137
System Name Epsilon
Processor A12-9800E 35watts
Motherboard MSI Grenade AM4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR4 2400 Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon R7 (IGP / APU)
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1
Display(s) AOC 29" Ultra wide
Case Generic
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 380w
Software Windows 10
#19
I use one of these:
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
427 (0.30/day)
Likes
39
System Name Rtxoned
Processor Intel i5 8600k
Motherboard Msi Z370 Sli Plus
Cooling Cooler Master Ml240r
Memory Corsair vengeance 8x2 DDR4 2400mhx
Video Card(s) Zotac Rtx 2080 Amp
Storage 250gb SSD, 500Gb SATA, 250Gb SATA
Display(s) Alienware 25” 240hz
Case Nzxt H700i
Power Supply Thermaltake toughpower 1000w 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech 403
Keyboard Hyperx alloy fps mechanical keyboard Cherymx Blue
Software Windows 10
#20
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
528 (0.14/day)
Likes
137
System Name Epsilon
Processor A12-9800E 35watts
Motherboard MSI Grenade AM4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR4 2400 Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon R7 (IGP / APU)
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1
Display(s) AOC 29" Ultra wide
Case Generic
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 380w
Software Windows 10
#21
How much capacity it have?(watts)
It depends on the model, mine is 900VA (which translates to up 900watts or VA, which is enough for most computers. There are higher level regulators.
The nice thing about the regulator is that if the voltage is low like 190V it will regulate it to 220V, and if the voltage is high like 280V it will down volt it to 220V too.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
427 (0.30/day)
Likes
39
System Name Rtxoned
Processor Intel i5 8600k
Motherboard Msi Z370 Sli Plus
Cooling Cooler Master Ml240r
Memory Corsair vengeance 8x2 DDR4 2400mhx
Video Card(s) Zotac Rtx 2080 Amp
Storage 250gb SSD, 500Gb SATA, 250Gb SATA
Display(s) Alienware 25” 240hz
Case Nzxt H700i
Power Supply Thermaltake toughpower 1000w 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech 403
Keyboard Hyperx alloy fps mechanical keyboard Cherymx Blue
Software Windows 10
#22
It depends on the model, mine is 900VA (which translates to up 900watts or VA, which is enough for most computers. There are higher level regulators.
The nice thing about the regulator is that if the voltage is low like 190V it will regulate it to 220V, and if the voltage is high like 280V it will down volt it to 220V too.
Nice, thats what I need to solve this issue, india is currupted and poor country, i have registered 17th complaint no hearing.
Anyways, can you find this kind of thing on amazon.in ?

Btw what you guys think about it?
V-Guard Vwr-400 Voltage Stabilizer For Ac Upto 1.5 Ton (130V-300V) https://www.amazon.in/dp/B06XWCFGDV/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_rck5BbE06YT7Q
 
Last edited:
Top