• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is 4GB RAM enough for today's PC games.

helloWorld

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
176 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
Location
USA
System Name My Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Liquid Cooling On CPU
Memory 8 GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3 @ 1.6 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 670 @ 1313 MHz Core / 1507 MHz Memory
Storage 120GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) Crossover 27" IPS @ 2560x1440
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) On Motherboard
Power Supply Antec HCP 1.2kW
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium w/SP1
#1
I like to play games maxed out at 1080p and I was wondering if 4GB RAM was enough and how future proof is it?
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
718 (0.28/day)
Likes
208
Location
A sad excuse of a country called Sudan.
System Name 192.168.1.1~192.16.1.100
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus B85M-G
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 20GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 OC.
Storage Samsung 850 Evo + lots of TBs of HDD storage.
Display(s) A Samsung S24D590 Primary + Philips 220E (sans two pixel-columns) secondary
Case Corsair Graphite 780T
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply Coolermaster 850V
Mouse Steelseries Sensei Raw
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software MS Win7 Ultimate X64 (Until it reaches EoL, anyway)
Benchmark Scores Me no know English. What bench mean? Bench like one sit on?
#2
I like to play games maxed out at 1080p and I was wondering if 4GB RAM was enough and how future proof is it?
It is enough. As long as you don't run many background processes while you game, you won't run into any problems :). And unless you're going for a laptop, it won't be a problem to add a coupla gigs in the future, so no worries there.

Edit: IIRC there were some games that ran smoother with extra RAM. It wasn't much of an improvement but it still is. Well, to be safe get 6GB or even 8GB of RAM. Sticks are cheap these days, so why not ?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.97/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#3
I've always been a firm beleiver of faster ram over capacity unless you do a ton of multitasking and photoshoping.

4GB is enough but more always helps.
 

helloWorld

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
176 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
Location
USA
System Name My Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Liquid Cooling On CPU
Memory 8 GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3 @ 1.6 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 670 @ 1313 MHz Core / 1507 MHz Memory
Storage 120GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) Crossover 27" IPS @ 2560x1440
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) On Motherboard
Power Supply Antec HCP 1.2kW
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium w/SP1
#4
The thing is, and call me stupid all you want, I have an 8 GB kit, but two of the sticks are broken, and I don't know if I want to deal with the hassle of returning it when 4 of the 8 GB works.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,960 (2.31/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#5
From my experience 4GB are enough even @ 2560x1440.

However, if you're sure they're broken I'd rma the kit. You paid for 8GB, why settle for less?
 

helloWorld

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
176 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
Location
USA
System Name My Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Liquid Cooling On CPU
Memory 8 GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3 @ 1.6 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 670 @ 1313 MHz Core / 1507 MHz Memory
Storage 120GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) Crossover 27" IPS @ 2560x1440
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) On Motherboard
Power Supply Antec HCP 1.2kW
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium w/SP1
#6
Yeah. I will order another 8 GB pair from a different manufacturer and try those when I get it. If they work, then I will RMA the broken set.
 

Over_Lord

News Editor
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
764 (0.29/day)
Likes
91
Location
Hyderabad
System Name BAH! - - tHE ECo FReAK
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 1.15V
Motherboard ASUS 785G EVO
Cooling Stock
Memory Corsair Titanium 4GB DDR3 1600MHz C9
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850 @ 1.049v
Storage Seagate 7200.12 500GB
Display(s) BenQ G2220HD
Case Cooler Master Elite 334
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VX550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
I like to play games maxed out at 1080p and I was wondering if 4GB RAM was enough and how future proof is it?
4GB better be, considering the "best graphics ever" games on PS3 come with 1080p 30/60fps and it has 256MB ram(system)
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.07/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#9
4gb is enough for now but I run with 12gb of ram and I can tell the difference. Plus ddr3 ram is so cheap nowadays that why not go with at least 8gb.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.78/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#10
IIRC, part of it depends on how much ram you have on your GPU's. Your system will copy the GPU ram to memory, so if you have 4GB of GPU ram, you might run low on system resourses or start swapping ram out to the swapfile.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
718 (0.28/day)
Likes
208
Location
A sad excuse of a country called Sudan.
System Name 192.168.1.1~192.16.1.100
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus B85M-G
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 20GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 OC.
Storage Samsung 850 Evo + lots of TBs of HDD storage.
Display(s) A Samsung S24D590 Primary + Philips 220E (sans two pixel-columns) secondary
Case Corsair Graphite 780T
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply Coolermaster 850V
Mouse Steelseries Sensei Raw
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software MS Win7 Ultimate X64 (Until it reaches EoL, anyway)
Benchmark Scores Me no know English. What bench mean? Bench like one sit on?
#11
IIRC, part of it depends on how much ram you have on your GPU's. Your system will copy the GPU ram to memory, so if you have 4GB of GPU ram, you might run low on system resourses or start swapping ram out to the swapfile.
Only in games based on DirectX versions prior to 10. DX10, 10.1 & 11 don't.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,207 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,395
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#12
I used to have a laptop that maxed out at 2Gb ram for 5 years. then my desktops all used 4Gb ram but i recently jumped to 8Gb not long ago.

TBH. going from 4Gb to 8Gb, i cant really tell the difference unless im heavily multitasking. and im talking about Running a Spyware & Virus scan, listening to music, zipping up files and installing software off a mounted image all at the same time with a little video encoding on the side.

Most of the time my RAM usage sits around 2-2.2Gb while just surfin the net and listening to music with VLC player
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#13
4GB is enough for now, but as of this year, I have begun to prefer 8GB in my machines. Take advantage of the oversupply of DDR3 that is occurring at this time, because it usually only happens once every few years. 8GB kits that used to cost ~$80+ literally 3 months ago are $40-50. Get as much as you want, you won't be sorry. Just beware that Win7 Home Premium x64 is limited to addressing 16GB of total RAM, including GPU (because Microsoft decided that home users don't need that much RAM I guess).
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
713 (0.16/day)
Likes
157
Location
Austin, TX
System Name WAZAAM!
Processor Intel i5-2500k - 4.4GHz @ 1.3v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z (z68)
Cooling HSF:: Noctua NH-D14 || CASE:: 2x Intake: Noctua NF-P12-1300 | 2x Exhaust: Noctua NF-S12B
Memory G.Skill RipJaws 16GB (4x4GB) @ 1866MHz | 10-10-10-28-2T @ 1.35v
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB SC
Storage Crucial 1.4TB P420m PCIe (boot & steam) | 4x Ultrastar 2TB in Storage Spaces Parity (Media)
Display(s) 3x1 nVidia Surround | Three Dell U2412m - 24" e-IPS 1920x1200
Case Antec P183 - Custom Interior Paint Job
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Bose Companion 2 Speakers
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series HX850
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Server -- Inte 4c Atom C2550D -- 2x4GB G.Skill 1866MHz DDR3 -- 100GB OS SSD -- 4x 2TB 5400 RAID5
#14
Agree w/ Jstn.

A couple companies announced they're getting out of the DRAM business so as of the beginning of the year, prices should start going up and not coming back this low for quite a long time.

Load up while you can. I'm goin 16GB!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,689
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#15
4GB is enough with some room to spare.


In my case i can use an extra 2GB for all the other apps i leave running while gaming, so its not enough for my apps AND the games at the same time - but either one is just fine.
 
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
1,153 (0.27/day)
Likes
108
System Name Alienware laptop
Processor intel i7-3610M @ 2,30Ghz
Motherboard dell?
Cooling 2 built in laptop cooling fans
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Mobility Radeon HD 7970 2GB GDDR5 850/1200 No overclock yet
Storage 1TB hard drive 1.5TB external
Display(s) laptop screen 17.3" 1920x1080 + LG 22" inch LCD HD 1920 x 1200
Case My laptop back pack case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster
Power Supply laptop brick
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#16
8GB helped my laptop a lot and I will never go back to 4GB.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#17
4GB is enough, but at today's prices, it is much more worth it to buy 8GB, especially when it is on sale
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#18

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.78/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#19
Hell, just looked at my 3x4GB kit and saw it's down to $80 shipped. I might have to get another for fun ;)
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
652 (0.18/day)
Likes
124
Location
Bay Shore NY
System Name BACKTOTHEFUTURE
Processor Stock I7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-DS4 BIOS F6
Cooling 4 120mm 1 140mm top fan
Memory 12 gigabytes of DDR3 1333 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780ti
Storage Samsung 1.5 terrabyte Steam Drive and 2 Samsung 750 gig Sata 2 in Raid 0
Display(s) HP LP3065 30" Monitor
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Solid Gear Neutron 750 watt
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit
#20
I would upgrade now

I just doubled my memory on my 2nd I7 PC to 12gb. The 6 gb was only $40. My memory usage listening to music and surfing the web is about 3 gb right now in Vista 64 bit Ultimate. I would be interested if somebody could test out memory usage in a variety of games in this buyers market. Why even take the chance of having a bottleneck?
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,147 (4.50/day)
Likes
3,708
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#21
since i had 6gb with my X58 rig, 4 just seems to small now. 8gb is definitely worth it or even more ram prices are so low now
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-9590 || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LPDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#22
4Gb is enough, but the gains in responsiveness with 8GB are quite high imho. Especially when you use a couple of different programs regulary and dont totally shut down your pc, but instead let it stay on standby.

With 8GB in my laptop, I notice theres almost never 'free space'(task manager shows there is lots of RAM 'available' but practically never alot of it is 'free'). Most of the 8GB is always being used as prefetch buffer which in turn decreases loading time for the various programs I use.

Especially when you dont have an SSD or very fast hard drive, more ram usually means quicker loading of random things that are getting prefetched.

So yeah, 4GB ram is enough, but more is better!
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,054 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,178
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#23
I would say no. More and more games are benefiting (as in not crashing) from large address aware and the best way to get the most out of large address aware is to have >4 GiB of RAM. That way, any given 32-bit application has access to the maximum amount of RAM without being recompiled. I think 6 GiB is ideal. Operating systems these days consume ~1 GiB, a single game can consume up to 4 GiB, and that leaves ~1 GiB for background tasks. I wouldn't recommend a "gaming" computer with less than 6 GiB of RAM.

As the next generation of consoles come out, it is very, very likely PC games are going to have to trend towards 64-bit.
 
Last edited:

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#24
4GB is more than enough if you arent multitasking when playing games.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.89/day)
Likes
720
#25
I think most games use 2gb of ram and then the OS uses at least 1gb so 4gb is still usable. With the price of ram these days it makes sense to get a 8gb kit, 1600mhz kits with low voltage are common but spend a little more and get tighter or faster ram.

Ive got 8gb of ram and its fine id say it was worth the £65 i paid but that ram is now worth about £40.