• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Is 500 watts enough?

Runeme

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey, I am pretty new to this forum.

Well my question is, is 500 watts enough?
I have:
Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz 8GB CL9 Kit w/2x 4GB XMS3 modules, CL9-9-9-24, 1.5V, Vengeance Heatspreader, 240

Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3, Socket-1155 ATX, Z68, DDR3, 2xPCIe(3.0)x16, SATA 6Gb/s, USB 3.0, HDMI, DP, LPT, COM, mSATA

Intel® Core i5-2500K Processor Socket-LGA1155, Quad Core, 3.3Ghz, 6MB, 95W, Boxed w/fan

Lite-On DVD±RW Writer IHAS124-19 SATA, DVD±R: 24x, DVD+RW: 8x, DVD-RW: 6x, DVD-RAM: 12x, Bulk, BLACK, Rev. C

Silver Power SP-SS500 500W PSU ATX 12V V2.2, 80 Plus, Standard, 1x 6pin+1x 6+2pin PCIe, 6× SATA, 120mm Vifte

Western Digital Scorpio® 500GB 7200RPM, SATA, 3.5" internal, Advanced Format

Radeon 6850 HD 1GB, GFX card.

I have a future plan to buy 2 SSD's
OCZ SSD Agility 3 Series 2.5" 120GB
SATA 6 Gb/s (SATA3.0), 525MB/500MB/s read/write, SandForce® SF-2281

Will 500 watts be enough for it all? (I currently have 500 watts, i wonder if it can handle it)
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,137 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#2
you would be suprised how much wattage you even need.... to put it bluntly, even my rig as beastly as it is only takes up about 600w under extreme loads. so yeah thats plenty, Maybe a 650w unit to be safe if you wish
 

Runeme

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
you would be suprised how much wattage you even need.... to put it bluntly, even my rig as beastly as it is only takes up about 600w under extreme loads. so yeah thats plenty, Maybe a 650w unit to be safe if you wish
So I wouldn't need to upgrade? :s
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#4
You may want to go for something of quality even if it is not an upgrade
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,137 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#7
You may want to go for something of quality even if it is not an upgrade
was about to say this myself.


I dont think Silverpower uses the same quality parts as Corsair, Antec or Enermax,

On a lighter note, their 600-650w units are pretty good value. so its recommended
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,016 (0.47/day)
Likes
1,420
Location
Indonesia
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.9 Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR X370GT7
Cooling Cryorig H5 Universal dual fan mode
Memory Team T-Force Night Hawk DDR4-3200 2x16 GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D GTX 1080 GAMING OC
Storage 512 GB Samsung 850 Pro + 3 x 2 TB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard TX-CP (Ergo Clear 68g) | KBParadise V80 (Matias Quiet Click)
Software Windows 10 version 1607 x64 + Ubuntu 16.04
#8
You may want to go for something of quality even if it is not an upgrade
Believe it or not, Silver Power mainly use Seasonic as their OEM.

Check it for yourself, just look at this SP-SS500 500W image : http://i.imgur.com/ouR9Q.jpg
See the UL code? E104405 is the UL code of Seasonic.

Other example :
SP-850M : http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story4&reid=290
SP-460FL : http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story4&reid=279
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,397 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,476
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#9
I had a 550-watt BFG PSU which still works well now, but when I tried to boot my Phenom II 940 and Radeon HD 6870 it wouldn't do it, so a 600 or 650 might not be a bad idea. It's your hardware though, but I feel that I should warn you that I've seen over-drawn PSUs take out entire motherboards and gpus at the same time. Considering the PSU provides all of the power for your rig and it is responsible for the correct voltages and currents to not skimp on it. A 550-watt Seasonic or Corsair might be able to handle it but I'm not sure about Silver Power or if the wattage is even enough. Either way, 100-watts more would most likely be ideal because running a PSU at heavy loads can cause them to warm up real quick.

A quick note:
Tagan, SilverPower, Seasonic, Etasis are all part of MaxPoint. Think they share different parts and distribution.
 

Runeme

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Well, I run currently on Windows 7 Eternity.
I have gotten 7-8 blue screens, in the past month.
It happens when i plug in an USB ''X'' amount of times, then suddenly the screen freezes and gives a blue screen. What seems to be the problem?
My father also installed Windows 7 Eternity on his Laptop, he gets blue screens 2. Any clue please?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,397 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,476
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#12
Well, I run currently on Windows 7 Eternity.
I would buy a real copy of Windows 7, and not rely on a hacked version of Windows. Pretty good chance it's not legitimate either. :(
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,397 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,476
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#14
Well a guess so, I do have Windows Ultimate 64x Bit.
I would use that, install all the latest drivers and Windows updates and try again.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,368 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,506
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#16
Hope it really works :D
Do you think i also should do RAID 0 on the 2 SSD's? :eek:
I wouldn't. You would lose TRIM under RAID so in the long run shortening the life of your drives. They should be plenty fast on their own.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,397 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,476
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#18
How much is the difference between ''Fastness''?
When I first started my RAID-0 with only 10% used, I got a full 1GB/s, now I'm only getting 940MB/s. It's not necessary and it adds another point of failure, so make sure you have a backup if you do. Most SSDs have garbage collection that will run with or without TRIM, TRIM just helps it out. Honestly, you most likely won't feel any difference between a single drive and RAID. In fact, unless you RAID controller is pretty good, you might see decreased performance for smaller blocks.

All in all, it runs fine for me and lack of TRIM (which doesn't always mean reduce lifespan of your drive,) isn't enough to deter me from using it. The only time TRIM hurts write performance is when you're writing a lot of data to you drive often, which in that case you're going to kill you're driving quickly anyways. In fact all of my testing on my Force GT RAID shows that the SSDs benefit from RAID-0 when it comes to writing. In fact writes are faster than reads on my SSDs if you can believe that.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
1,027 (0.51/day)
Likes
121
Location
Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
System Name Oldtimer(Always Crunching)
Processor Intel P4 631 @ 3.2 GHz [Stock 3.0 GHz]
Motherboard Intel D945GCPE
Memory 512 MB x2 DDR2 (533MHZ and 366 MHZ)
Storage 160GB Sata1 7200rpm
Display(s) ViewSonic VA703m
Power Supply Normal 450W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#19
Well please use Genuine Microsoft Products!
Don't Talk about illlegal software on TPU!
And for your Question
SeaSonic S12II 520 it will cost about 60-70$
And Read Panchoman's PSU Guide It is very informative
Click on the spoiler for the link
[thread=39758]I am the Link to Panchoman's PSU Guide[/thread]
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
183 (0.05/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Core i7-3820 @ 4,5Ghz
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 8D
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid
Memory Kingston 4x8Gb 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA GTX670FTW 2Gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256Gb
Display(s) LG 23" IPS FullHD
Case Corsair 600T
Audio Device(s) Integrated HDaudio
Power Supply CHIEFTEC ATX Turbo series 750W/ 80PLUS
Software Windows 7 PRO 64Bit
#20
Since psu is the only link between expensive components and high voltage, that could easilty fry your rig, I would defenately put some money into it. 650w would be nice too. You never know when you need extra hdd's or a second gpu. Good to know that you have some extra power waiting for it.

I have a i5-760, 8800gtx, 500gb hdd and 750w psu. I repair computers and sometime I have 4 or more HDD's connected. Atleast I don't have to worry about PSU being too weak.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,368 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,506
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#21
Well please use Genuine Microsoft Products!
Don't Talk about illlegal software on TPU!
And for your Question
SeaSonic S12II 520 it will cost about 60-70$
And Read Panchoman's PSU Guide It is very informative
Click on the spoiler for the link
[thread=39758]I am the Link to Panchoman's PSU Guide[/thread]
If you had taken the time to read thru the thread you would see that the link had already been posted :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
1,027 (0.51/day)
Likes
121
Location
Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
System Name Oldtimer(Always Crunching)
Processor Intel P4 631 @ 3.2 GHz [Stock 3.0 GHz]
Motherboard Intel D945GCPE
Memory 512 MB x2 DDR2 (533MHZ and 366 MHZ)
Storage 160GB Sata1 7200rpm
Display(s) ViewSonic VA703m
Power Supply Normal 450W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#22
If you had taken the time to read thru the thread you would see that the link had already been posted :rolleyes:
Yes i know the link is already posted by AthlonX2 :D:rolleyes:
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
1,027 (0.51/day)
Likes
121
Location
Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
System Name Oldtimer(Always Crunching)
Processor Intel P4 631 @ 3.2 GHz [Stock 3.0 GHz]
Motherboard Intel D945GCPE
Memory 512 MB x2 DDR2 (533MHZ and 366 MHZ)
Storage 160GB Sata1 7200rpm
Display(s) ViewSonic VA703m
Power Supply Normal 450W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#23
Since psu is the only link between expensive components and high voltage, that could easilty fry your rig, I would defenately put some money into it. 650w would be nice too. You never know when you need extra hdd's or a second gpu. Good to know that you have some extra power waiting for it.

I have a i5-760, 8800gtx, 500gb hdd and 750w psu. I repair computers and sometime I have 4 or more HDD's connected. Atleast I don't have to worry about PSU being too weak.
:laugh:

What!? 650W!? Are you Kidding Me!?:roll::toast:

Listen for your information I have a 250W PSU with P4 631 and sometimes also a GPU(GT545)
and i never had any problem BESIDES you are talking about 4 HDD huh!? Check the result of extreme.outervision.com amateur!;)

System Type: 1 physical CPU
Motherboard: High End - Desktop
CPU Socket: Socket LGA 1155
CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K 3300 MHz Sandy Bridge
CPU Utilization (TDP): 100% TDP

RAM: 4 Sticks DDR3 SDRAM
Video Card 1: AMD Radeon HD 6850

High rpm SATA: 1 HDDs

DVD-RW/DVD+RW Drive: 1 Drive

Keyboard and mouse: Yes

System Load: 100 %

Minimum PSU Wattage: 413 Watts
Recommended Wattage: 463 Watts

and even if he CF then 550 Watts will be enough and for your information he is not going to insert 5 HDD at a time! and even if he oc + CF then 600W watts will be more then enough how can you say 650W and you are using 750W that doesn't mean everyone need a 750W PSU if yes then i will recommend 1200W PSU for a Atom processor but it doesn't need 1200W PSU for a Atom CPU!
And also ask any TPU member who has did CF before they even did CF on 500W PSU and CF of HD 6850
Well if you were chatting with me then you Will see my face like this :laugh::roll::laugh:
So amateur if you don't know about it then be in the silent mode!:slap:

And again the OP will be fine in 520W and if you can get more then 550 will be enough!
and even if you do CF 600W is more then enough!:toast:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
252 (0.11/day)
Likes
55
Location
Malaysia
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8H61-M LX (B3)
Cooling Intel stock HSF
Memory 2x 4GB Kingston DDR3 @ 1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 6750 OC
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB SATA 3
Display(s) HP W2072a 20"
Case Cooler Master Elite 430 Black
Audio Device(s) Integrated (Realtek ALC887)
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 500W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
#24
@gopal Dafuq dude?! You put exclamation points at every end of your sentence. Are you shouting??
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
1,027 (0.51/day)
Likes
121
Location
Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
System Name Oldtimer(Always Crunching)
Processor Intel P4 631 @ 3.2 GHz [Stock 3.0 GHz]
Motherboard Intel D945GCPE
Memory 512 MB x2 DDR2 (533MHZ and 366 MHZ)
Storage 160GB Sata1 7200rpm
Display(s) ViewSonic VA703m
Power Supply Normal 450W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#25
@gopal Dafuq dude?! You put exclamation points at every end of your sentence. Are you shouting??
Yes, shouting very loud that the whole TPU can hear!:rolleyes: