• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is a 750w PSU enough for 2x 2080 Ti

xXZexxMooreXx

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2021
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
Is a 750w PSU enough for 2x 2080 Ti at 60% TDP?

I have one currently in the system and they will be used for mining. According to HWMonitor, the one GPU is pulling 185w and was wondering if two would be safe. I don't have a wall meter nor do I if HWMonitor readings are accurate.

System
Ryzen 5900x
1x Corsair H115i
1x SSD
1x 7.5k HDD
2x 8GB LED Ram
9x 120mm LED Fans
Corsair RM750 psu
 
Last edited:

xXZexxMooreXx

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2021
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
At 60% TDP I think so

Thanks for the reply Colddecked.

How much risk is it in the event that it isn't enough? I will be getting a much larger PSU in the near future, but until then the plan is the put the other Ti to to work.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
1,822 (2.01/day)
Location
California
System Name His & Hers
Processor i9 9900k @5ghz/ R9 3900X Stock
Motherboard Asus Maximus XI Code/ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Corsair h150i Pro 6x Corsair QL120 + 4x Corsair LL120/ Corsair h115i Platinum
Memory 32 GB 4x8GB 4000CL15 Trident Z Royal/ 32 GB 3200 CL14 @3800 CL16 Team T Force Nighthawk
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 ti/ Titan XP
Storage lots of SSD.
Display(s) LG 27GN850/ MSI 27 inch VA panel.
Case 011 Dynamic XL/ Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro + gaming Dac/ Corsair sp 2500/ Logitech Z 625
Power Supply Seasonic Ultra Prime Titanium 850w x2
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed/ Logitech G Pro Hero.
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum/ Logitech G Pro
They pull around 280w each at stock settings so at 60% even with 2x cards at most you should be pulling 500-550w total system power.... so your psu should be more than adequate.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2020
Messages
117 (0.29/day)
If your using a ups you should be able to get your wattage used from the software. My old apc ups and new cyberpower ups both have software that show the wattage being used realtime.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
2,598 (0.73/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Western Digital 550N NVMe, Crucial P1 NVMe, SanDisk Ultra 3D, WD Blue 3D
Display(s) LG 27GL83A-B & Dell - SE2717HR 27"
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
They pull around 280w each at stock settings so at 60% even with 2x cards at most you should be pulling 500-550w total system power.... so your psu should be more than adequate.
The PSU is a solid build, I would agree with both colddecked & oxrufioxo
How much risk is it in the event that it isn't enough?
OPP would kick in and shut it down but it seems you have a decent amount of headroom so I would not worry about it.
 

xXZexxMooreXx

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2021
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
Fantastic, I was nervous throwing the other one in there.

If one bought a used HP server psu on ebay, and it dies, is that pretty risky? My understanding is psu can take out other components if it fails.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,175 (1.53/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
With 2 x 2070Ti and 9 x 120mm fans, even at 60%, I would be shopping around from something a little bigger. As the others have said, 750W is enough, but accidents happen. You might flash your BIOS and forget to set it back to 60%.

if it isn't I imagine you'd just trip somekind of protection and the psu would shut off.
That is the theory, right? But theory and real-world don't always jive. Man is not perfect and cannot create perfection 100% of the time. Just because the RM series of Corsairs have a good design and are solid built, that does not ensure it meets design specs, can not develop a fault, wasn't damaged during transportation or through mishandling, or by Mother Nature via an excessive surge or spike.

So if me, I would use that RM750 for now - until I got a more suitable replacement.
If your using a ups you should be able to get your wattage used from the software.
This is a good idea. If using an UPS and it supports communication with the computer (many do not), or if it has an LCD display panel, you can see the load. However, you would have to catch it during peak load and that would be a challenge. Plus, any reading (via software or display) would be the total load of all devices connected, not just the computer.

A good kill-a-watt meter might record peak levels. This is a budget model and does not.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
1,892 (0.51/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
Omg dude, get a proper psu if you value the 2080tis.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2015
Messages
507 (0.25/day)
Location
Sokovia
System Name Alienation from family
Processor i7 7700k
Motherboard Hero VIII
Cooling Macho revB
Memory 16gb Hyperx
Video Card(s) Asus 1080ti Strix OC
Storage 960evo 500gb
Display(s) AOC 4k
Case Define R2 XL
Power Supply Be f*ing Quiet 600W M Gold
Mouse NoName
Keyboard NoNameless HP
Software You have nothing on me
Benchmark Scores Personal record 100m sprint: 60m
Normally you lower powerlimit if mining, so 2 2080ti at 85% power.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
2,598 (0.73/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Western Digital 550N NVMe, Crucial P1 NVMe, SanDisk Ultra 3D, WD Blue 3D
Display(s) LG 27GL83A-B & Dell - SE2717HR 27"
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
If one bought a used HP server psu on ebay, and it dies, is that pretty risky?
Not following you; you say "if" as in you have not done it and then say "it dies" so has it died or do you think it will die? Having a PSU die on you is always "risky" anywhere from little risk on a very good PSU to get the fire extinguisher on a bomb PSU and anywhere in-between.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,175 (1.53/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
1,822 (2.01/day)
Location
California
System Name His & Hers
Processor i9 9900k @5ghz/ R9 3900X Stock
Motherboard Asus Maximus XI Code/ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Corsair h150i Pro 6x Corsair QL120 + 4x Corsair LL120/ Corsair h115i Platinum
Memory 32 GB 4x8GB 4000CL15 Trident Z Royal/ 32 GB 3200 CL14 @3800 CL16 Team T Force Nighthawk
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 ti/ Titan XP
Storage lots of SSD.
Display(s) LG 27GN850/ MSI 27 inch VA panel.
Case 011 Dynamic XL/ Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro + gaming Dac/ Corsair sp 2500/ Logitech Z 625
Power Supply Seasonic Ultra Prime Titanium 850w x2
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed/ Logitech G Pro Hero.
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum/ Logitech G Pro
I guess nobody is paying attention to the fact that he is running them at 60% of their TDP.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2013
Messages
381 (0.14/day)
System Name boomer--->zoomer not your typical millenial build
Processor i5-760 @ 3.8ghz + turbo ~goes wayyyyyyyyy fast cuz turboooooz~
Motherboard P55-GD80 ~best motherboard ever designed~
Cooling NH-D15 ~double stack thot twerk all day~
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix LP ~memory gone AWOL~
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 ~*~GOLDEN EDITION~*~ RAWRRRRRR
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo (OS X, *nix), 128GB Samsung 840 Pro (W10 Pro), 1TB SpinPoint F3 ~best in class
Display(s) ASUS VW246H ~best 24" you've seen *FULL HD* *1O80PP* *SLAPS*~
Case FT02-W ~the W stands for white but it's brushed aluminum except for the disgusting ODD bays; *cries*
Audio Device(s) A LOT
Power Supply 850W EVGA SuperNova G2 ~hot fire like champagne~
Mouse CM Spawn ~cmcz R c00l seth mcfarlane darawss~
Keyboard CM QF Rapid - Browns ~fastrrr kees for fstr teens~
Software integrated into the chassis
Benchmark Scores 9999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999
I guess nobody is paying attention to the fact that he is running them at 60% of their TDP.
Try reading the posts you’re responding to for their reasoning :oops:
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,175 (1.53/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I guess nobody is paying attention to the fact that he is running them at 60% of their TDP.
Huh? Did you read the replies?

Colddecked mentioned it right away in his first reply. dirtyferret quoted you where you said it and pointed out he agreed with Colddecked. I mentioned it in the first half of my first sentence in my first reply, then again at the end of that same paragraph.

So who's not paying attention?
 

xXZexxMooreXx

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2021
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
Not following you; you say "if" as in you have not done it and then say "it dies" so has it died or do you think it will die? Having a PSU die on you is always "risky" anywhere from little risk on a very good PSU to get the fire extinguisher on a bomb PSU and anywhere in-between.

I haven't bought one yet, only seen some people that mine recommend them for cheap on ebay. I figured if they were used, they probably been ran for a long time.

What I have gathered from the comments is that, it MIGHT be okay to run the 750w for now, but get one with more wattage soon.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,092 (3.82/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz @3600MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019, OS drive) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2015) 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
2080Ti has a 250W TDP so x2 you got 500W and that’s real power draw without rest of system. Depending on the rest of system you must add another 150W to 300W. For the 5900X system you’ve listed I would add at least 200W. And that’s all system on stock.
At 60% you’re down to 300W for GPUs.

But all this is for normal usage. For mining is a very different story, I can tell from personal experience. Mining software does not utilize fully the GPU, only a part of it and VRAM. You can actually underclock and undervoltage the GPU to a certain point without losing mining perf, and that is what saves power. BTW the 5900X is a complete waste for a GPU mining system. You can easily put a small APU in there. Unless you want to use it for other tasks too. And this is what complicate things. You must fully be aware all the time of what those GPUs are doing when/if gaming for example, or you can near fully load the PSU, if not over load it.
 

xXZexxMooreXx

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2021
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
2080Ti has a 250W TDP so x2 you got 500W and that’s real power draw without rest of system. Depending on the rest of system you must add another 150W to 300W. For the 5900X system you’ve listed I would add at least 200W. And that’s all system on stock.
At 60% you’re down to 300W for GPUs.

But all this is for normal usage. For mining is a very different story, I can tell from personal experience. Mining software does not utilize fully the GPU, only a part of it and VRAM. You can actually underclock and undervoltage the GPU to a certain point without losing mining perf, and that is what saves power. BTW the 5900X is a complete waste for a GPU mining system. You can easily put a small APU in there. Unless you want to use it for other tasks too. And this is what complicate things. You must fully be aware all the time of what those GPUs are doing when/if gaming for example, or you can near fully load the PSU, if not over load it.

It turned out that I couldn't put both 2080 Ti's in the same computer as one of the TI's (Aorus) shroud is too big to allow putting the other one in. I tried dropping to a lower slot, but then mobo headers wouldn't allow it. So I ended up putting the new Ti, with the smaller footprint with a Vega 64 (undervolted (says 140w when mining with it)).

I didn't get the 5900x for mining, I just happened to have it with the 750w. I have a second computer with a Ryzen 3600 in it, which is what I put the other Ti in as it only has 700w psu. I have an 8 GPU mining case coming, so I'm just going to use the 3600 for that.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,175 (1.53/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Thanks for coming back with your followup.
 
Top