• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is a GTX 1060 6GB (or 3GB) enough?

Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
264 (0.28/day)
Likes
118
System Name Gaming System
Processor i7-4960X
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 32GB DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 ti FTW3
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO; 500GB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) HP zr2740w Surround
Case Corsair A540
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA G2 1300
Mouse Logitech MK550
Keyboard Logitech MK550
Software Windows 10 Pro
#1
Currently I have an ASUS GTX 1070 ti Turbo in my work machine, but I am pulling the card out for another machine that has a 4k monitor coming. My current work machine does not and will not (and cannot) have Steam installed. I only play Age of Empires Definitive Edition (AOE DE) Single Player (and some campaigns) on it when I have a break. Current CPU is an Intel i7 4930k. I have a 4k monitor, but because I have other monitors connected to my computer, when I play AOE DE the max resolution I can get is 2560x1600. This is fine as the monitor is large enough. When I play, CPU utilization is about 40%, and GPU utilization hovers between 40%-50%.

So my question is, for my replacement GPU, will a GTX 1060 6GB be enough? I figure a GTX 1060 is about 60% of a GTX 1070 ti/ 1080 so since my GPU utilization is 50% max, it should be enough? I will not play other games nor can I install them. Another question is , can I get away with a GTX 1060 3GB? Will I run out of VRAM? I tried to look for AOE DE benchmarks but there isn't much info on it.

If you play the game and have a similar GPU please share your experience. Thanks for any help.

No suggestion for AMD cards please. Loud, hot, and too many drivers issues.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
3,063 (6.10/day)
Likes
1,507
System Name Blackbox
Processor Intel i7-7820x
Motherboard Supermicro C9X299-PG300
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB 2666..tentatively
Video Card(s) Powercolor Vega 64
Storage Intel 900p 280GB, 545s 512GB, Barracuda 10TB
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2457, Samsung 4KTV
Case Corsair C70
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
I've never gamed much in 2560x1600 with a 1060, but it's a solid 1080p card for many games.. and probably enough for AoE at 2560 as well.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
565 (6.57/day)
Likes
197
Location
Zadar, Croatia
System Name SloMo
Processor G4560
Motherboard MSi H110-PRO-D
Cooling LC-CC-95 @ Arctic Cooling fan
Memory 2X Crucial DDR4 2400 4GB
Video Card(s) Integrated HD 610
Storage WD 500 GB + Seagate 500 GB + Toshiba 3 TB
Display(s) Lenovo D221
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Manhattan Flex BT Headphones, Encore P-801 stereo speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX450M
Mouse microsoft office mouse
Keyboard Modecom mc-800m
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores gorstak @ hwbot.org
#3
aoe is directx 9? If so, even a 1030 should be enough, let alone 1060, depending on what framerate you wish to play @
But to answer your question, yes, the 1060 3GB is more then enough.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
264 (0.28/day)
Likes
118
System Name Gaming System
Processor i7-4960X
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 32GB DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 ti FTW3
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO; 500GB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) HP zr2740w Surround
Case Corsair A540
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA G2 1300
Mouse Logitech MK550
Keyboard Logitech MK550
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,072 (2.12/day)
Likes
2,008
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#5
A GTX 1060 should be more than enough. I ran it just fine with a GTX 960 2GB across 3 monitors and that is no where near a GTX 1060 in performance
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
565 (6.57/day)
Likes
197
Location
Zadar, Croatia
System Name SloMo
Processor G4560
Motherboard MSi H110-PRO-D
Cooling LC-CC-95 @ Arctic Cooling fan
Memory 2X Crucial DDR4 2400 4GB
Video Card(s) Integrated HD 610
Storage WD 500 GB + Seagate 500 GB + Toshiba 3 TB
Display(s) Lenovo D221
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Manhattan Flex BT Headphones, Encore P-801 stereo speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX450M
Mouse microsoft office mouse
Keyboard Modecom mc-800m
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores gorstak @ hwbot.org
#6
minimum is hd 4000 which is a dx9 card, so I assume the game automatically detects dx or has some option to switch dx. and hd 4000 is basically like a toaster compared to 1030.
You can basically run this game on just about anything, but the lowest and cheapest I'd recommend would be gt 730 64 bit (not 128 bit)

Here is a vid of gt 730 running PUBG

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
264 (0.28/day)
Likes
118
System Name Gaming System
Processor i7-4960X
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 32GB DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 ti FTW3
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO; 500GB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) HP zr2740w Surround
Case Corsair A540
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA G2 1300
Mouse Logitech MK550
Keyboard Logitech MK550
Software Windows 10 Pro
#7
A GTX 1060 should be more than enough. I ran it just fine with a GTX 960 2GB across 3 monitors and that is no where near a GTX 1060 in performance
3x 1080p monitors? Do you have to dial down any graphics details? Any lag (although the game is buggy and lag).

minimum is hd 4000 which is a dx9 card, so I assume the game automatically detects dx or has some option to switch dx. and hd 4000 is basically like a toaster compared to 1030
Minimum is probably for 1280x1024, and like I said, with a 1070 ti GPU utilization was 40-50%. 1030 will not work. It is too slow, and has only 2 video output.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
565 (6.57/day)
Likes
197
Location
Zadar, Croatia
System Name SloMo
Processor G4560
Motherboard MSi H110-PRO-D
Cooling LC-CC-95 @ Arctic Cooling fan
Memory 2X Crucial DDR4 2400 4GB
Video Card(s) Integrated HD 610
Storage WD 500 GB + Seagate 500 GB + Toshiba 3 TB
Display(s) Lenovo D221
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Manhattan Flex BT Headphones, Encore P-801 stereo speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX450M
Mouse microsoft office mouse
Keyboard Modecom mc-800m
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores gorstak @ hwbot.org
#8
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,072 (2.12/day)
Likes
2,008
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#9
3x 1080p monitors? Do you have to dial down any graphics details? Any lag (although the game is buggy and lag).



Minimum is probably for 1280x1024, and like I said, with a 1070 ti GPU utilization was 40-50%. 1030 will not work. It is too slow, and has only 2 video output.
Ran med-high settings. No lag. Ran surprisingly well.

But again you should be fine. Even the recommended specs are over 80% slower than a GTX 1060
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
264 (0.28/day)
Likes
118
System Name Gaming System
Processor i7-4960X
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 32GB DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 ti FTW3
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO; 500GB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) HP zr2740w Surround
Case Corsair A540
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA G2 1300
Mouse Logitech MK550
Keyboard Logitech MK550
Software Windows 10 Pro
#10
Ran med-high settings. No lag. Ran surprisingly well.

But again you should be fine. Even the recommended specs are over 80% slower than a GTX 1060
Great, thanks! I will try to get a 1060 3GB then. Save me some $.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
24,388 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,055
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#11
No suggestion for AMD cards please. Loud, hot, and too many drivers issues.
tsk tsk tsk, drivers have been good for them, sapphire pulse cards run pretty quiet.

Don't bother with 3GB.

4, 6 , 8 ALL THE WAY.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
4,291 (2.12/day)
Likes
2,613
Location
USA
#12
Great, thanks! I will try to get a 1060 3GB then. Save me some $.
I wouldn't do that. The difference is about $30 generally and the performance difference is better than the $30 difference. Get the 6GB version or get a used 1070. You'll thank yourself later..
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
264 (0.28/day)
Likes
118
System Name Gaming System
Processor i7-4960X
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 32GB DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 ti FTW3
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO; 500GB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) HP zr2740w Surround
Case Corsair A540
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA G2 1300
Mouse Logitech MK550
Keyboard Logitech MK550
Software Windows 10 Pro
#13
tsk tsk tsk, drivers have been good for them, sapphire pulse cards run pretty quiet.

Don't bother with 3GB.

4, 6 , 8 ALL THE WAY.
I have so many problems with AMD cards in the past. I have no luck with AMD so I steer clear of it. And besides, the comparable reference RX 5xx run hot. I think AMD engineering is not up to par with nVidia.
1. MSI 6950 - caught fire
2. Powercolor 7850 - drivers issue with Crossfire. System freezed
3. Sapphire 290 - died and they want me to send it back to Taiwan, not USA
4. XFX 290 - died and RMA. Not problem with the RMA card though
5. All 3 of my 290 including ASUS run hot and loud, up to 90c.
6. Not to mention just about every time I install AMD drivers I get some errors of some sort. Every time!

I wouldn't do that. The difference is about $30 generally and the performance difference is better than the $30 difference. Get the 6GB version or get a used 1070. You'll thank yourself later..
But I will never upgrade this card. It goes into my work machine and I can only play 1 game on it. I feel if I get something more powerful it is just wasted. Also difference now is more like $50.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
7,447 (4.69/day)
Likes
6,386
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.31v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
#14
I have so many problems with AMD cards in the past. I have no luck with AMD so I steer clear of it. And besides, the comparable reference RX 5xx run hot. I think AMD engineering is not up to par with nVidia.
1. MSI 6950 - caught fire
2. Powercolor 7850 - drivers issue with Crossfire. System freezed
3. Sapphire 290 - died and they want me to send it back to Taiwan, not USA
4. XFX 290 - died and RMA. Not problem with the RMA card though
5. All 3 of my 290 including ASUS run hot and loud, up to 90c.
6. Not to mention just about every time I install AMD drivers I get some errors of some sort. Every time!


But I will never upgrade this card. It goes into my work machine and I can only play 1 game on it. I feel if I get something more powerful it is just wasted. Also difference now is more like $50.
3GB is fast running into VRAM constraints even at 1080p. If you are fine with dialing down things like texture resolution, then 3GB is OK. But my experience is that lacking VRAM can quickly kill the experience, consistency suffers. You'd have to actually test AOE DE with that specific card to see how it works for you.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2014
Messages
123 (0.08/day)
Likes
50
#15
Side note: the AMD RX580/590 (GCN 4th gen, 14/12nm) is a mature product, is what 290 (GCN 2nd gen, 28nm) should had been. So the problems are not there anymore (even if performance wise they didn't advance that much).
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
436 (0.53/day)
Likes
327
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor E5645 (4,1Ghz) 6c/12t
Motherboard P6X58D Premium
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 24 gb DDR3 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 8gb/Red-Devil/
Storage 2 ssd/Samsung 128Gb/Kingston 240Gb + HDD 500Gb
Display(s) 1x Acer 1080P Ips 2x Eizo(Triple Monitor Setup)
Case Lian Lee
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse SteelSeries Kana V2
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike 11710 Score(Physics 14182),Cinebench 963
#16
A GTX 1060 should be more than enough. I ran it just fine with a GTX 960 2GB across 3 monitors and that is no where near a GTX 1060 in performance
Yep...I can confirm this...I been using GTX 970 atm with my triple monitor setup and have no issue what so ever to play majority of games on medium/high settings with 60 FPS,before that I was also using GTX 660 TI and that was also working solid but with lower details on majority of games....However I was also using AMD RX 470 and that is almost on par with GTX 970 performance wise but with much better support for triple monitor setup but I sold that card due to the mining crazy prices earn some money and get (back then) cheaper GTX 970... I been thinking to get myself AMD RX 480/580 now when their price droped really low....will see....
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,072 (2.12/day)
Likes
2,008
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#17
Yep...I can confirm this...I been using GTX 970 atm with my triple monitor setup and have no issue what so ever to play majority of games on medium/high settings with 60 FPS,before that I was also using GTX 660 TI and that was also working solid but with lower details on majority of games....However I was also using AMD RX 470 and that is almost on par with GTX 970 performance wise but with much better support for triple monitor setup but I sold that card due to the mining crazy prices earn some money and get (back then) cheaper GTX 970... I been thinking to get myself AMD RX 480/580 now when their price droped really low....will see....
Yea gaming on the GTX 960 was pretty cool. Ran well surprisingly. Only problem was I ran out of VRAM very quickly in certain games so some had to drop to low settings to stay under 2GB
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
4,291 (2.12/day)
Likes
2,613
Location
USA
#18
But I will never upgrade this card. It goes into my work machine and I can only play 1 game on it. I feel if I get something more powerful it is just wasted. Also difference now is more like $50.
Fair enough, but I have some advice;
3GB is fast running into VRAM constraints even at 1080p. If you are fine with dialing down things like texture resolution, then 3GB is OK.
This. To prevent hitting the 3GB barrier, turn down/off AA instead of textures. You'll get better framerates and most games would go beyond the 3GB of RAM that card has.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,795 (0.99/day)
Likes
2,414
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K @ 4.6 GHz Core & 4.3 GHz Cache @ 1.168V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE, MonoPlus, Fans: 2xThermalright TY143 / 2xCorsair SP-120L / 2xYate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ @ 3200 14-14-14-34 2T @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) 2x Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 25" IPS
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD, Acoustic Research 2Ch Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Corsair MM600 hard pad, on top of a Inateck 900x300 XL pad, Tiger Gaming Skates.
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key, PS3 Controller
Software Win7 Pro 64 (Installed on Coffee Lake using AsRock's handy PS/2 Simulator in Bios)
#19
I ran a 770 2GB from 2013 until about 6 months ago, with 2560x1440 60 Hz though cannot specifically say if it would have run your game. I just turned down/off a lot of AA and AF, games were perfectly playable and in the midst of action you barely notice the filtering difference. Point being you can run a lot of games if you spend the time tweaking all the settings, and generally the graphics are still very decent. Now running a 1060 6GB, which is a great card. I would go 6GB though because often the prices are pretty close. Zotac and EVGA routinely dump bstock mid week for ~$120 for a 1060 6GB.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
264 (0.28/day)
Likes
118
System Name Gaming System
Processor i7-4960X
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 32GB DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 ti FTW3
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO; 500GB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) HP zr2740w Surround
Case Corsair A540
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA G2 1300
Mouse Logitech MK550
Keyboard Logitech MK550
Software Windows 10 Pro
#20
Okay good advice everyone, I will focus the search on a 1060 6gb then. I did think several times of grabbing an rx 580 8gb as they are going less than $200, sometimes even at $180, but sigh, my office gets quite warm during the summer months with the1070 ti, so I think the 580 will make it unbearable.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,072 (2.12/day)
Likes
2,008
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#21
Okay good advice everyone, I will focus the search on a 1060 6gb then. I did think several times of grabbing an rx 580 8gb as they are going less than $200, sometimes even at $180, but sigh, my office gets quite warm during the summer months with the1070 ti, so I think the 580 will make it unbearable.
That’s quite false. AIB 580s actually run pretty cool and with dual fan and triple
Fan models they do not dump heat into the room.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,795 (0.99/day)
Likes
2,414
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K @ 4.6 GHz Core & 4.3 GHz Cache @ 1.168V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE, MonoPlus, Fans: 2xThermalright TY143 / 2xCorsair SP-120L / 2xYate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ @ 3200 14-14-14-34 2T @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) 2x Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 25" IPS
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD, Acoustic Research 2Ch Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Corsair MM600 hard pad, on top of a Inateck 900x300 XL pad, Tiger Gaming Skates.
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key, PS3 Controller
Software Win7 Pro 64 (Installed on Coffee Lake using AsRock's handy PS/2 Simulator in Bios)
#22
Well they do use more watts and the heat energy has to go somewhere.
 
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
4,992 (3.72/day)
Likes
2,109
Processor Intel i5-6600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 G.Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 128 and 256GB OCZ Vertex4, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Chieftec BX01
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
#23
The game is still sprite-based, so it won't tax any decent card.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,072 (2.12/day)
Likes
2,008
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#24
Well they do use more watts and the heat energy has to go somewhere.
Look at reviews for AIBs though. They ran just as cool as 1060s
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,977 (1.81/day)
Likes
9,510
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#25
That’s quite false. AIB 580s actually run pretty cool and with dual fan and triple
Fan models they do not dump heat into the room.
All of that is a GCE.

GTX 1060 ~ 120 watts
GTX 1070 Ti ~ 177 watts
RX 480 ~ 160 watts
RX 580 ~ 200 watts

FYI: There is more of a difference between the 3 and 6 GB versions of the 1060 than just their VRAM. The 3 GB model has 1152 shader units while the 6 GB model has 1280.
 
Top