• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is IBT recommended to stress test ryzen refresh?

Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
850 (0.37/day)
Likes
56
Processor I5 8400
Motherboard Asus Tuf Z370 pro gaming
Cooling Scythe mugen 5
Memory 2x8gb G skill flare x 3200mhz cl 14
Video Card(s) Asus rx 580 strix 8gb
Storage 1x500gb samunsg 970 evo m.2 pcie x4,1x1tb samsung 850 evo, 1x2000gb wd green
Display(s) 2 SAMSUNG 24" CFG7 SERIES C as accessory monitor (music,tv,videos,film)
Case Fractal design define r6
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Lightning iTrack Solo,Dynaudio Emit M10, Cambridge Audio CXA60
Power Supply Evga supernova 650watt p2
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech G710
Software Windows 10 64 bit, Bitdefender Internet Security 2018
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14931106 https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3311411
#1
I have a ryzen 2600 and a Aorus x470 gaming 7 wifi mb, there was a new bios that i installed and ran prime 95 that was stable at 4ghz, ibt 2.54 was a whole different story.

It froze,graphic artifacts, vcore up and down,cpu and soc llc adjusted, ez oc of the ram, xmp profile ram manually set ram to 1.350volt 1.360 volt
after ibt x10 maximum with alot of graphic artifacts, black screen, freeze for many seconds you name it, i finally got it to finish ibt at maximum.

Is IBT recommed to stress test ryzen refresh?

What is recommeded top stresstest ryzen refresh with?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,502 (1.64/day)
Likes
1,929
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Gamesies i5
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.95Ghz HT OFF / 3.2Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 4040Mhz DDR4 18-19-18-36-360-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black w Magnetic Side Panel
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse $15 500Mhz polling silent click no brand mouse
Keyboard Penclic tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 1690 Multi, 223 Single, superpi 1M - 7.2s
#2
IBT is always good... sisoft sandra multimedia bench, Aida 64 stress test (although you have to leave that one for hours)...

Honestly what usually craps out with ryzen OCs (in my experience) is the memory - thats much harder to test, and some of my 'STABLE' OCs (after hours of stress tests) would crash after like day 20 of uptime on a development workstation.

So my way of testing stability is usually a quick 20 min stress test, about 10 cinebench runs while watching tv, and then a few hours of gaming. Then I just leave the rig on for a week or two, and if it stays up and keeps benching/gaming then it is stable.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,486 (4.52/day)
Likes
3,852
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#3
Intel Burn Test
There's the clue
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,502 (1.64/day)
Likes
1,929
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Gamesies i5
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.95Ghz HT OFF / 3.2Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 4040Mhz DDR4 18-19-18-36-360-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black w Magnetic Side Panel
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse $15 500Mhz polling silent click no brand mouse
Keyboard Penclic tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 1690 Multi, 223 Single, superpi 1M - 7.2s
#4
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,553 (1.78/day)
Likes
1,946
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.6ghz1.435c NB2.44ghz Ht2.64ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 16Gb @1600 cas8
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250OS), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn, 1tb seagate sshd hybrid(games)
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far 6600 3dmark
#5

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
19,500 (4.51/day)
Likes
3,786
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#6
I recommend a series of tests. Sometimes things will crash in test A but pass test B. I don't like that, I want my system to be rock solid. LinX and Prime95 are good, as well as memtest86+ for memory.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
850 (0.37/day)
Likes
56
Processor I5 8400
Motherboard Asus Tuf Z370 pro gaming
Cooling Scythe mugen 5
Memory 2x8gb G skill flare x 3200mhz cl 14
Video Card(s) Asus rx 580 strix 8gb
Storage 1x500gb samunsg 970 evo m.2 pcie x4,1x1tb samsung 850 evo, 1x2000gb wd green
Display(s) 2 SAMSUNG 24" CFG7 SERIES C as accessory monitor (music,tv,videos,film)
Case Fractal design define r6
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Lightning iTrack Solo,Dynaudio Emit M10, Cambridge Audio CXA60
Power Supply Evga supernova 650watt p2
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech G710
Software Windows 10 64 bit, Bitdefender Internet Security 2018
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14931106 https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3311411
#7
I had my cpu at 4ghz 1.200 volt llc medium, could play all games no problems, 3200mhz cl 14 ram run at 3200mhz cl 14
It's basically stable.

Prime 95 100% stable, ibt i got alot of unstability,graphic artifacts freezing......

For some reason i think my cpu fans never really kicks in since it dead quiet at 100% and 75c, fan are running and set to cpu in the bios and should go above 50% at 65c 100% around 80c

Now at 3.9ghz it sort of newer really get's hot doing prime 95 small fft and passed ibt but not without probelms (not 100% stable but passed) it also passed aida64 system stability cpu and ram 30-50 min .
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
1,931 (1.45/day)
Likes
1,587
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#8
If it'll pass IBT on High it's pretty much guaranteed to be stable for any game or benchmark. And more stable than it needs to be for many games and benchmarks. IME. The term "stable" is relative though. Nothing is guaranteed 100% stable. If a random cosmic ray shoots through your system and flips the right/wrong bit...you're crashing whether you like it or not.
Well why not just run linpack then??
Because LINPACK isn't a GUI application that you can run with a couple clicks. Or let you select different levels of stress(test with various amounts of RAM usage). And there's the AVX thing. Which I think is what right clicking the start button on IBT does(Xtreme Stress Mode). Anyway, whatever it is, LINPACK probably doesn't do it. I dunno for sure though. Maybe I'm wrong. I've never run LINPACK on its own. Wouldn't even know how. Ain't got time for that.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,553 (1.78/day)
Likes
1,946
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.6ghz1.435c NB2.44ghz Ht2.64ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 16Gb @1600 cas8
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250OS), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn, 1tb seagate sshd hybrid(games)
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far 6600 3dmark
#9
If it'll pass IBT on High it's pretty much guaranteed to be stable for any game or benchmark. And more stable than it needs to be for many games and benchmarks. IME. The term "stable" is relative though. Nothing is guaranteed 100% stable. If a random cosmic ray shoots through your system and flips the right/wrong bit...you're crashing whether you like it or not.
Because LINPACK isn't a GUI application that you can run with a couple clicks. Or let you select different levels of stress(test with various amounts of RAM usage). And there's the AVX thing. Which I think is what right clicking the start button on IBT does(Xtreme Stress Mode). Anyway, whatever it is, LINPACK probably doesn't do it. I dunno for sure though. Maybe I'm wrong. I've never run LINPACK on its own. Wouldn't even know how. Ain't got time for that.
Strange so , it's both just linpack And it does extra shit especially for Intels AVX extensions hmm ,which is implemented by Amd differently,, and that is (Ibt)there fore part wrote for and definitely compiled for intel by intel, yeh i see no possible avenues for an issue their.:D
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,502 (1.64/day)
Likes
1,929
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Gamesies i5
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.95Ghz HT OFF / 3.2Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 4040Mhz DDR4 18-19-18-36-360-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black w Magnetic Side Panel
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse $15 500Mhz polling silent click no brand mouse
Keyboard Penclic tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 1690 Multi, 223 Single, superpi 1M - 7.2s
#10
Strange so , it's both just linpack And it does extra shit especially for Intels AVX extensions hmm ,which is implemented by Amd differently,, and that is (Ibt)there fore part wrote for and definitely compiled for intel by intel, yeh i see no possible avenues for an issue their.:D
It was written by AgentGod, and it is a graphical gui on Linpack that:

1526426679588.png


You can take your intel tinfoil hat off now. Prime95 has Intel AVX as well, as does RealBench, and Sandra and Aida64. Hell - Timespy has an AVX feature...

1526426808906.png
 
Last edited:

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,988 (2.59/day)
Likes
3,884
Location
04578
#11
Aida64 Stress CPU / FPU / Cache / Memory, Battlefield 4 multiplayer / Battlefield 1 multiplayer. Typically Aida64 if its stable for a few hours means it should be okay to test other applications. Typically if something is not quite right BF4 / BF1 will crash or freeze or stutter etc. With Various Memory OCs and testing those two games will typically show a problem pretty quickly.
 
Joined
May 22, 2013
Messages
1,207 (0.62/day)
Likes
683
System Name Gamer/ HTPC
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard MSI X370 Xpower Titanium
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 AIO
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 2x8GB 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070Ti Titanium
Storage Corsair Neutron 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung 42" 1080p
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Power Supply Corsair 750
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/johan45/
#13
I use Prime 95 for my testing and it hasn't failed me yet, Custom 128 FFT in-place to hammer the CPU and then custom blend with 75-80% ram usage selected, after a couple of hours start unigine heaven on a loop this really tests the whole system for stability and the ability to control temps.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
5,938 (4.04/day)
Likes
4,817
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.31v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
#14
Strange so , it's both just linpack And it does extra shit especially for Intels AVX extensions hmm ,which is implemented by Amd differently,, and that is (Ibt)there fore part wrote for and definitely compiled for intel by intel, yeh i see no possible avenues for an issue their.:D
You do realize that many applications we use every day use AVX yes? And if they don't because they can't they either don't run or lose a crapload of performance. Stop the guesswork that leads you to weird conclusions based on just a name...

Its one of the reasons AVX offsets don't really do much too. Effectively it just means a lower clock. I also love how people say 'hurr durr 5.2 Ghz and I don't stress test on AVX loads because never used anyway'... yeah. Dream on :)
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,737 (0.87/day)
Likes
935
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1803)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#15
There's also linpac binaries specifically made for AMD CPU's
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,368 (5.41/day)
Likes
11,662
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
This is why I use OCCT. It has Prime95 and Linpack bundled in one nice interface.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
5,938 (4.04/day)
Likes
4,817
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.31v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
2,982 (4.76/day)
Likes
2,151
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - stock
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#18
You do realize that many applications we use every day use AVX yes?
I am really curios as to how you figured that must be the case or is it just an assumption as I suspect ? Though I am unaware of any statistics with regards to this , I have many reasons to believe AVX is sparingly used at best in commercial software.

You are simply not going to find much of it outside synthetic test. The ways in which you include AVX support in your software are cumbersome and involve using certain functionalities which are compiler specific which are generally avoided. Hell ,there is still a fair amount of software out there which doesn't even use the previous SSE extension , these are instructions present in all CPUs for something like a decade , SSE2 is pretty mainstream and that's close to being two decades old. And of course there is also the fact that you simply can't always make extensive use of it , in fact more often than not that's the case.

Metro used to crash on CPUs that didn't have SSE 4.1 , you can bet developers would like to avoid cases like these at all cost. They would much rather skip AVX which is a high difficulty/low gains task and ensure their game runs on a toaster.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
850 (0.37/day)
Likes
56
Processor I5 8400
Motherboard Asus Tuf Z370 pro gaming
Cooling Scythe mugen 5
Memory 2x8gb G skill flare x 3200mhz cl 14
Video Card(s) Asus rx 580 strix 8gb
Storage 1x500gb samunsg 970 evo m.2 pcie x4,1x1tb samsung 850 evo, 1x2000gb wd green
Display(s) 2 SAMSUNG 24" CFG7 SERIES C as accessory monitor (music,tv,videos,film)
Case Fractal design define r6
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Lightning iTrack Solo,Dynaudio Emit M10, Cambridge Audio CXA60
Power Supply Evga supernova 650watt p2
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech G710
Software Windows 10 64 bit, Bitdefender Internet Security 2018
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14931106 https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3311411
#19
Update: Cpu fan speed was related to bios im now on a earlier bios that works
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,988 (2.59/day)
Likes
3,884
Location
04578
#20
I am really curios as to how figured that must be the case or is it just an assumption as I suspect ? Though I am unaware of any statistics with regards to this , I have many reasons to believe AVX is sparingly used at best in commercial software.
Its being used more and more. Hell even PUBG makes use of AVX and that games a mess.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
5,938 (4.04/day)
Likes
4,817
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.31v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
#21
I am really curios as to how you figured that must be the case or is it just an assumption as I suspect ? Though I am unaware of any statistics with regards to this , I have many reasons to believe AVX is sparingly used at best in commercial software.

You are simply not going to find much of it outside synthetic test. The ways in which you include AVX support in your software are cumbersome and involve using certain functionalities which are compiler specific which are generally avoided. Hell ,there is still a fair amount of software out there which doesn't even use the previous SSE extension , these are instructions present in all CPUs for something like a decade , SSE2 is pretty mainstream and that's close to being two decades old. And of course there is also the fact that you simply can't always make extensive use of it , in fact more often than not that's the case.

Metro used to crash on CPUs that didn't have SSE 4.1 , you can bet developers would like to avoid cases like these at all cost. They would much rather skip AVX which is a high difficulty/low gains task and ensure their game runs on a toaster.
https://forums.anandtech.com/threads/avx2-and-fma3-in-games.2460033/

I don't say these things because I'm assuming them, if that were so, my OC would have been done with AVX offsets, which is not the case ;)

Not having AVX or AVX2 means the CPU 'drops' to an instruction set that is available. Either SSE (if the application supports it) or lower AVX. Been like this for years already...

This is an interesting post on that forum to make things more concrete - AVX is useful for physics calculations, for example, an area where the CPU is the weakest link;

As I mentioned in my OP, PhysX 3.xx uses AVX for cloth solving, so it appears that SIMD is seeing a lot more use in the various physics engines than in the main game engine...
This comes directly from one of the programmers of PhysX, who was in fact responding to one of my own posts on Anandtech concerning CPU and GPU PhysX..
If anything, CPU Physics is on the up and up, as NVidia has started to throw a lot of resources into developing their PhysX 3.xx SDK, and it runs primarily on the CPU and is extremely fast.
Witcher 3 has some of the best cloth physics in a game, and it runs completely on the CPU. A lot of the effects seen in current PhysX 3.xx titles are even better than what was seen in GPU accelerated PhysX titles 5 years ago.
#33Carfax83, Jan 9, 2016
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
2,982 (4.76/day)
Likes
2,151
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - stock
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#22
Not having AVX or AVX2 means the CPU 'drops' to an instruction set that is available. Either SSE or lower AVX. Been like this for years already...
Doesn't work like that , AVX is an extension like everything else added to the original x86 ISA. There is no interchangeability that takes place , code either use AVX registers/instructions or not. If something that needs AVX runs on a CPU lacking said extension it will not fallback to SSE. You need explicit code paths for that , which goes back to my explanation as to why AVX support is cumbersome and generally avoided.

This is an interesting post on that forum to make things more concrete - AVX is useful for physics calculations, for example, an area where the CPU is the weakest link;

As I mentioned in my OP, PhysX 3.xx uses AVX for cloth solving, so it appears that SIMD is seeing a lot more use in the various physics engines than in the main game engine...
This comes directly from one of the programmers of PhysX, who was in fact responding to one of my own posts on Anandtech concerning CPU and GPU PhysX..
If anything, CPU Physics is on the up and up, as NVidia has started to throw a lot of resources into developing their PhysX 3.xx SDK, and it runs primarily on the CPU and is extremely fast.
Witcher 3 has some of the best cloth physics in a game, and it runs completely on the CPU. A lot of the effects seen in current PhysX 3.xx titles are even better than what was seen in GPU accelerated PhysX titles 5 years ago.
#33Carfax83, Jan 9, 2016
Sure it's useful for some stuff , the emphasis being on some.

I don't say these things because I'm assuming them, if that were so, my OC would have been done with AVX offsets, which is not the case ;)
I suspect some developers have the uninspired idea to let the compilers auto vectorize code rather that manually optimizing it. This explains why sometimes the AVX offset is triggered. If games really had proper support for AVX you would see quite a huge gap in performance that can't be explained by the drop in frequency alone when this occurs yet that doesn't seem be the case. Then again , these "AVX offset triggers" don't seem to always occur for everyone under the same situations , so it might just be a poor implementation on Intel's part.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
9,653 (2.38/day)
Likes
8,640
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 5.0 GHz All-Core + Uncore & AVX Offset @ 0
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 10734:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/16266163 TS 8154:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/4331316
#23

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,894 (5.58/day)
Likes
7,160
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,553 (1.78/day)
Likes
1,946
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.6ghz1.435c NB2.44ghz Ht2.64ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 16Gb @1600 cas8
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250OS), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn, 1tb seagate sshd hybrid(games)
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far 6600 3dmark
#25
You do realize that many applications we use every day use AVX yes? And if they don't because they can't they either don't run or lose a crapload of performance. Stop the guesswork that leads you to weird conclusions based on just a name...

Its one of the reasons AVX offsets don't really do much too. Effectively it just means a lower clock. I also love how people say 'hurr durr 5.2 Ghz and I don't stress test on AVX loads because never used anyway'... yeah. Dream on :)
To you and others , i realise more than you realise i do.

I am of the opinion though ,that this old program adapted by(for) intel , on an intel compiler with a new Gui could contain glitchy code(ie the gui has code running on the same processor that's benching to display stuff ,with a guess i would say Java, it might not be the test causing issues directly, but issues do not imply reliability of the test or its minor or major fails more importantly, in this use case imho, im not a well experienced coder, more occasional but thinking logically about stuff this seam's a reasonable hypothesis) still.
I said that because the OP was using this software to test his CPU ,and was getting graphical artefacts?? Wtaf.

Now I am not a conspirational sort and I am not claiming to know anything for sure.....

But if i got a brand new cpu of any type or brand ,then ran code on it to test just it ,if i got gpu artefacts i would find something else to test with personally ,regardless of what some might say.

There are too many choices to use, to be holding Ibt precious, it isn't.

@phanbuey Agent is god eh , fine but he wrote it before Ryzen existed , and I get your point but i have experience of plenty of old software that doesn't work right after some time or has issues with a particular system/platform.
I implied it could be a slight issue with the software only ,graphical corruption is not common imho while benching CPUs.
 
Last edited:
Top