1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it a good deal?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by t77snapshot, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,250 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    S.Cali
    My friend just bought a GTX 260 and hasn't been in his new system for more then a week. He changed his mind and now wants to invest in a GTX 285. Now instead of returning the card he said he would sell it to me for $175.00 :rockout:(includes box and everything). Do you guys think that's a good deal?


    This is the card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130434
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,919 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,470
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    its $4 less than he paid for it after MIR, so you're basically buying it new off him.

    That said its going to raise your performance quite a lot, even if you are running SLI at the moment.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,664 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    Ohio
    yes its a good deal.
     
  4. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,250 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Well when he bought the card it didn't have a rebate, so he paid 199.99 I see what your saying anyway. thankyou
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2009
  5. KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,811 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    622
    you have a thermaltake psu, you better be sure it can handle it, I had that same psu, actually I still have it, and it won't boot with my GTX285 installed(maybe a bad psu or somethin)

    borrow it and make sure you have enough juice first
     
  6. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,241 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    Good call KainXS. Ask him if you can run it for a day or two to make sure that you've got enough power under the hood. I've heard of too many people spending all their money on a new graphics card to find out that they need a new PSU to run it :banghead:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,779 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    is a good 600w psu from a good brand. why it should handle a single gtx 260?
     
  8. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,241 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    Thermaltake uses some crummy OEM manufacturers in some of their PSUs. Better safe than sorry. If he makes sure it runs, then he won't run into any problems.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,053 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,547
    Location:
    US
    No, buy it new friends come and go so will your lifetime warranty too. I've not looked but there MIGHT be one with higher clocks too + prices are falling some too still.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,250 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Since we are on the subject of psu and vga cards: Shouldn't a 750w psu be good enough for two GTX 260's?
     
  11. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,250 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    S.Cali
  12. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,888 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Are you able to try the card in your machine?
     
  13. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Your friend bought a brand new card, now he wants to get rid of it and he only had it for a week, and wants to sell the card to you for 175?

    EDIT: Your friend should give it to you for free, i know i would, or i would charge you 50 bucks.
     
  14. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,369 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,321
    talk him down to $150 and you have yourself a deal.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,919 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,470
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    953 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    181
    Location:
    NorCal
    I'd tell him I wanted it for $160 since you can get your own shiny new one for less (after rebate) than he's charging you. One in your name with a receipt that you can register for the lifetime warranty with. Otherwise you are probably stuck without a warranty - unless you can go through your friend (which might not always be convenient).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,250 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    S.Cali
    NO

    Haha I wish;)

    Yeah I thought about this...so I did ask him about $160, but he said no and changed his mind all together.:( He now wants to stick with the card and get a second one.
     
  18. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    If you are looking for a upgrade, just catch them when they are on sale.
     
  19. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    you have a 19" screen and a pair of 9600GTs and you want to spend $175 for a 260.. Why?

    My 9600GTs play everything I play at max on my 24"..

    seems to me if you had 7600s or 8600s than yes but its a big waste of $$ with SLI 9600s.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)