• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it a good idea? Where am i wrong?

Feänor

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
512 (0.09/day)
Hi everyone. I just came across some huge deal, an amd opteron 4122, for 110$. That's six core running at 2,2 ghz. I just wanted to know if there's any affordable way to assemble a 2 or 4 socket motherboard with 2 or 4 of those and a few gpu's. A 12 core system,even running at 2,2 ghz should do quite some ppd.

I think the problem is choosing the right motherboard and memory. I'm open to any suggestion or offer on that.

Other than that, i already have a corsair tx850 power supply (70A), hard drive, and gpus (gtx 470 or gtx 460 or gtx 275 co-op). I know my case can take e-atx motherboard (stacker 830).

And finally, could it run windows 7 or must it be dedicated? Could i use normal software and run games on it, or will it be only useable by an advance computer tech (which i'm not)?

Could it be better than my i7 rig in ppd performance?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,085 (8.12/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO, ID Cooling Frostflow 240
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Don't bother. The 4122 is not a six core to begin with, it's a quad. Retail seems to be about $110 dollars on them as well.
 

Feänor

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
512 (0.09/day)
You're right for the spec, i didn't realized that the ad title had an error in it. Sorry.

But even as a 8/16 core setup, would it cost me a kidney to fold on that kind of rig? trading my 8 HT core system to 16 real ones seems a gain, at least on paper, no?
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.16/day)
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
You're right for the spec, i didn't realized that the ad title had an error in it. Sorry.

But even as a 8/16 core setup, would it cost me a kidney to fold on that kind of rig? trading my 8 HT core system to 16 real ones seems a gain, at least on paper, no?

well you have time to do the research, as erocker said - that is the going price, not some huge deal.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
366 (0.08/day)
Location
Langenburg Saskatchewan Canada
Processor Intel xeon W3680@ 3.7ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 12gb G skill 1600mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX radeon r9 380
Storage 1 Western Digital 1Tb Black + 2 Western Digital 1.5Tb Green
Display(s) LG 32" 1080p lcd tv
Case Corsair 800D
Power Supply Corsair AX 1200
Software Windows10 pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/rranju
looks like the 4000 series only support a max of 2 processors and the 6000 is up to 4 processors. super micro might have a dual socket board.
 

Feänor

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
512 (0.09/day)
If i understand you all, the project, while it could be done, is not worth the time/$ i would spend in it? I mean i'll have to sell my cpu/mobo/ram, then find the server cpu/mobo/ram in canada or on ebay. I tough that multi socket would be more ppd/$, but maybe not...
 

BUCK NASTY

4P Enthusiust
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,974 (1.01/day)
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
If i understand you all, the project, while it could be done, is not worth the time/$ i would spend in it? I mean i'll have to sell my cpu/mobo/ram, then find the server cpu/mobo/ram in canada or on ebay. I tough that multi socket would be more ppd/$, but maybe not...
I would stick with the i7. I have priced multi-CPU server builds and it gets expensive and the power draw will be more. What kind of TPF/WU's is the i7 doing now?
 

bogmali

In Orbe Terrum Non Visi
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
8,691 (1.85/day)
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i9-10920X
Motherboard MSI X299 Pro Carbon
Cooling Corsair H115i AIO
Memory Adata 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS GTX-1080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB/860 EVO 512GB M.2 NVMe
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Coolermaster MasterCase H500P
Audio Device(s) AudioEngine D1 DAC/Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 1K Watt
Mouse Corsair Ironclaw RGB
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken

Feänor

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
512 (0.09/day)
That's quite a motherboard, with a hell of a special!

Is it possible to use the computer normally, or does it require a special version of windows 7, and other special software. I'm asking this because i can't have many system at home, and i'll have to be able to do day-to-day computing and fold at the same time, so no dual boot or anything.

Also, is 1gb of ram per cpu enough?. I'm usind a hair under 1gb for the a3_core.exe now, so will the opteron use more?
 

bogmali

In Orbe Terrum Non Visi
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
8,691 (1.85/day)
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i9-10920X
Motherboard MSI X299 Pro Carbon
Cooling Corsair H115i AIO
Memory Adata 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS GTX-1080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB/860 EVO 512GB M.2 NVMe
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Coolermaster MasterCase H500P
Audio Device(s) AudioEngine D1 DAC/Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 1K Watt
Mouse Corsair Ironclaw RGB
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
I'm finding out that in order to get all four CPU's to show and utilized is you have to use a server OS. I have 2GB per CPU on mine so it should be more than enough.
 

Feänor

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
512 (0.09/day)
Could you tell me what the difference between windows server 2008 and 7 ?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
3,624 (0.88/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /4790 fold&WCG /2700x fold&WCG/2700x full time WCG
Processor 3900X stock/ 4790K 4.4/2x2700x stock
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/Maximus Hero/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D15/ 2xNH-U12S SE
Memory G Skill Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZ 3800 CL 16 /8 GB Corsair Vengance/2x16 GB XSkill Flare CL14
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/2070 Z/2060 X MSI + 2060 Ventus MSI/GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 480 GB SSD/2x250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / none/Lian test bench/NZXT 500 crap
Power Supply AX 850/AX 860/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7/Linux for AMD
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
Win 7 only support 2 CPU´s
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
3,624 (0.88/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /4790 fold&WCG /2700x fold&WCG/2700x full time WCG
Processor 3900X stock/ 4790K 4.4/2x2700x stock
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/Maximus Hero/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D15/ 2xNH-U12S SE
Memory G Skill Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZ 3800 CL 16 /8 GB Corsair Vengance/2x16 GB XSkill Flare CL14
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/2070 Z/2060 X MSI + 2060 Ventus MSI/GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 480 GB SSD/2x250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / none/Lian test bench/NZXT 500 crap
Power Supply AX 850/AX 860/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7/Linux for AMD
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
I'm loading Windows right now on my 16-core (4) quad core Opteron 8346HE. Once that is done it will be a dedicated folder for -bigadv. Pics to follow later.

This is my motherboard........

TYAN S4985G3NR Thunder n4250QE Quad 1207(F) NVIDIA...

I'm looking forward to some results from that rig. 16x1.8 GHz might be as good as "8"*3.8 GHz (standard i7 OC). I guess that you can't OC them?
 

BUCK NASTY

4P Enthusiust
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,974 (1.01/day)
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
I'm looking forward to some results from that rig. 16x1.8 GHz might be as good as "8"*3.8 GHz (standard i7 OC). I guess that you can't OC them?
While the scalability and stability will be nice for that platform, I'm curious of the power consumption. My i7-870's @3.9ghz/no GPU consume 230watts while folding.

Bog, those CPU are similar to Phenom x4's with a lower clock, correct? Definitely want to see how it scales with SMP2 and -bigadv.

:toast:
 

Feänor

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
512 (0.09/day)
If i'm following, i will not tell easily the difference between the sr2 and standard 7, other than in the supported devices. There is only more possibilities than 7, it's not a different one?

And i must admit i'll follow closely your rig bogmali, as i really think i would go pretty much like you. It'll be very interesting to see the way many slow cores fold and how much power will they use...
 

bogmali

In Orbe Terrum Non Visi
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
8,691 (1.85/day)
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i9-10920X
Motherboard MSI X299 Pro Carbon
Cooling Corsair H115i AIO
Memory Adata 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS GTX-1080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB/860 EVO 512GB M.2 NVMe
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Coolermaster MasterCase H500P
Audio Device(s) AudioEngine D1 DAC/Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 1K Watt
Mouse Corsair Ironclaw RGB
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
Ran into an issue, might have to RMA the board since I cannot run all four CPU's without having random reboots. Have 2 CPU's installed right now and she's running fine. I have Windows Storage Server 2008 installed right now, will run some initial figures later on. More to follow.
 

bogmali

In Orbe Terrum Non Visi
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
8,691 (1.85/day)
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i9-10920X
Motherboard MSI X299 Pro Carbon
Cooling Corsair H115i AIO
Memory Adata 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS GTX-1080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB/860 EVO 512GB M.2 NVMe
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Coolermaster MasterCase H500P
Audio Device(s) AudioEngine D1 DAC/Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 1K Watt
Mouse Corsair Ironclaw RGB
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
Well, project stalled at the moment. Will have to RMA the board back to Tyan. I won't complete boot on 4p config and not stable on 2p when I put some load on the cpu. As a consolation, here is a screenie of my dual Opteron 2350 server that I folded for a short while just so you folks have an idea:

 
Top