• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it possible to drop wireless and not wired?

konman795

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have a D-Link wireless N router that I've been using for only about a year. It has never dropped a signal or needed to restart for anything but all of a sudden yesterday it started dropping wireless signals but everything connected to it via the Ethernet cable was completely fine (no disconnects). Is it possible to have the wireless transmitting part of the router is defective but the wired parts work fine? I have tried power cycling and resetting the router multiple times already but same problems. Is it time for a new router (and this time a high quality one)?
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.81/day)
Likes
2,460
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#2
Have you tried to update the firmware on it?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,426 (5.49/day)
Likes
10,577
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
Yes, it is possible. It could also be interference from something also.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,852 (1.90/day)
Likes
2,308
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor Intel Core i3 8350K
Motherboard Asus Prime Z370
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung 960 EVO, Intel DC P3700 1.6TB
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#4
id say more than likely newtekie has the right answer,have u made any changes to where its sitting? or maybe you have a cordless phone on the same channel?
 

konman795

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Nope, it hasn't been moved at all. Only thing different is a new laptop was added to the network. The laptop is further away from the router than I am. The firmware is up to date as well. I forgot to mention, when the wireless stops working, all 3 of my roommates laptops are affected as well.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,426 (5.49/day)
Likes
10,577
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
It could be any number of things. It might not even be something you've done, your neighbor could have a new cordless phone, and every time they use it, it kills your wireless. I've seen that happen a few times. The problem is even more likely if you are running the N network at 5GHz instead of 2.4GHz, as the signal tavels further, and the signals that can interfer can also travel further. The 2.4GHz frequency has a lot of things that could interfer, I've already mentioned cordless phones, but Microwaves are actually a big killer of wireless network, again I've seen a few times where the neighbors new microwave was killing the connection(though that was on G not N).

If you can, go into the router and adjust the frequency it is running on. Preferably moving it to 5GHz if it is on 2.4GHz, or moving it to 2.4GHz if it is on 5GHz. You should also be able to change the channel it is running on, which will slightly change the frequency. Keep trying different channels, and once you find one doesn't have interference, the problem will likely go away.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.81/day)
Likes
2,460
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#8
It may well be interfernce, even if it's not from your house but maybe a neighbours. Try doing a scan for the wireless networks in the vicinity and choose a different channel if yours is on the same as others.

Netstumbler can help with that: Link
 

konman795

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
alright, set it to a slightly different frequency and so far so good :) hope it holds up!