• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Is it possible to set gpu load to full 7970

Simmyen

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard Gigabyte 990 FXA - UD5
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P - CPU
Memory Kingston Hyper x 2*8gb
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon HD 7970 3gb DirectCU II
Storage Western Digital® Desktop Black 2TB
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black Edition
Power Supply Corsair HX 1050w
#1
Got an Asus radeon hd 7970 directCU II, and was wondering if it's possible to set the gpu usage to full when im playing games.

When im playing borderlands 2, the load is set to around 50% :wtf:

got the laters AMD drivers as well...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,435 (1.24/day)
Likes
733
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
#2
Do you have the game maxed out in the settings for your resolution, and are you playing at the max resolution you can?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#3
download kombustor (there are others, and its entirely useless for real life measurements) and run a Furry/Tesselation test for like 2 minutes. If you're gpu hits 97-100% all is fine with it and obviously it eats your borderlands settings alive, so knock them up a bit. If it still runs at 50% on the test, something is wrong, throttling maybe.
 

Simmyen

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard Gigabyte 990 FXA - UD5
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P - CPU
Memory Kingston Hyper x 2*8gb
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon HD 7970 3gb DirectCU II
Storage Western Digital® Desktop Black 2TB
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black Edition
Power Supply Corsair HX 1050w
#4
Do you have the game maxed out in the settings for your resolution, and are you playing at the max resolution you can?
yea i am

download kombustor (there are others, and its entirely useless for real life measurements) and run a Furry/Tesselation test for like 2 minutes. If you're gpu hits 97-100% all is fine with it and obviously it eats your borderlands settings alive, so knock them up a bit. If it still runs at 50% on the test, something is wrong, throttling maybe.
alright, will try it out :)
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#5

Simmyen

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard Gigabyte 990 FXA - UD5
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P - CPU
Memory Kingston Hyper x 2*8gb
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon HD 7970 3gb DirectCU II
Storage Western Digital® Desktop Black 2TB
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black Edition
Power Supply Corsair HX 1050w
#6
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,042 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,647
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#7
It will adjust as needed. Most likely 100% was not needed
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,593 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,826
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#8

Simmyen

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard Gigabyte 990 FXA - UD5
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P - CPU
Memory Kingston Hyper x 2*8gb
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon HD 7970 3gb DirectCU II
Storage Western Digital® Desktop Black 2TB
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black Edition
Power Supply Corsair HX 1050w
#9
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,719 (0.75/day)
Likes
345
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
#10
It is needed. My FPS is around 50 fps...



Vsync is turned off
Try this, my laptop and its 660m weren't quite hitting 60 fps constantly but then I did this and it solved the problem for me at least.

Go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Borderlands 2\WillowGame\Config and open DefaultEngine.ini. Then search for [SystemSettings]. There you will find your graphical options. I manually set my FPS cap to 60, as well as changing my resolution to 1920x1080 (which is odd, as I had already done that in the options, but it was set to 720 in the ini file). After manually making these changes and saving the ini file, I booted the game. Fraps had it running at 60 with all options maxed out.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#11
Sounds normal to me. Not everything uses the GPU equally hard and the overall frame rate may not be that high along with 50% usage which is also normal. Run Furmark etc and it should ramp up to around 100%

Also, switching vsync on necessarily reduces the utilization (I know yours is off).
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.70/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#12
Crunch 4 wcg wu's on it then tell me if it isn't most of the way maxed out.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,710
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#13
With boost type Nvidia cards, you can use Nvidia Inspector to disable idle and force max core clock to be used continuously. It's a lot like when you force a CPU to run at a constant OC rate. It will still run at near idle temps when there's no load though.

With AMD cards, I'm not sure if there even IS a tool you can do that with. I wouldn't worry too much about what you're seeing with Borderlands though. It's a cell shaded game that doesn't put much load on high end GPUs.
 

Simmyen

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard Gigabyte 990 FXA - UD5
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P - CPU
Memory Kingston Hyper x 2*8gb
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon HD 7970 3gb DirectCU II
Storage Western Digital® Desktop Black 2TB
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black Edition
Power Supply Corsair HX 1050w
#14
Its not only Borderlands... I have to run Battlefield 3 on Low settings for a good fps over 60 (i cant play when the fps is under 60) even on small maps like Grand Bazar... This card is supposed to be much more powerful..
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#15
Load level isn't something set or controlled by the card. It is how much demand the game is putting on the card. It sounds to me like you have a bottleneck somewhere that is limiting the card.
 

Simmyen

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard Gigabyte 990 FXA - UD5
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P - CPU
Memory Kingston Hyper x 2*8gb
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon HD 7970 3gb DirectCU II
Storage Western Digital® Desktop Black 2TB
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black Edition
Power Supply Corsair HX 1050w
#16
I've recently changed absolutely all the components in my computer. Everything is all new. I've installed Windows 7 Professional and updated it, installed the drivers to my motherboard, updated them to the latest version, my graphics card is also all new, and i have updated the drivers there as well... My processor is an overkill, as well as the motherboard and the gpu. I have no clue what the problem can be... :/

Edit : I've even overclocked the GPU's core clock to 1050 Mhz (stock 925) , the Memory Clock to 6050 Mhz (stock 5500) I haven't adjusted the Voltage yet. The temperature never raises over 50 degrees when playing.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#17
I suggest making a new test install of Windows and seeing how it goes. Use a spare HDD or partition. If that works better, then you have your reference point and it might be time to just ditch your current install and use the new one.

Borderlands 2 runs at hundreds of fps on my GTX 580, so yours should do even better, as it's a bit more powerful. Also, try installing the latest DX runtime from Microsoft's website.

Having said that, you have an FX8350 and I've got a 2700K at 4.7GHz, which might be making all the difference.