• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it possible to share Graphic card memory with RAM ?!

Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
374 (0.13/day)
Location
NJ Hillside
System Name Windows7 64bit Ultimate
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K
Motherboard Asus Z170M-PLUS
Cooling Cooler Master T4
Memory G.skill 32GB DDR4 (2x16GB) 3200MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX970 4GB
Storage PNY 500GB SSD + Seagate 4TB SSHD
Display(s) HP LE1851w
Case Cooler Master N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 750watt
Mouse HP
Keyboard HP
Benchmark Scores no need
Hi every one :)

I have this question in my mind from a long time :confused:

Is it possible to share Graphic card memory with RAM ?


I mean I have PCI-E HD 4670 512MB and 4GB of RAM

So, Is that possible ?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.46/day)
not really. It's kind of already done with certain GPUs, but outside of those products, no, it is not possible for end users.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,386 (4.04/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
It also wouldn't help you a whole lot. Keep in mind that information needs to be transferred from the CPU, through the PCI-E bus, into the GPU and then into video memory. The latency between CPU and GPU Memory would make it slower than conventional memory since the GPU isn't using the memory. (GPU to VRAM is fast, CPU to VRAM is not, relatively speaking.)
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
13,805 (4.83/day)
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Julia (WCG)/Trish (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior (WCG)/4P (WCG)/Kreij (WCG)/Trish02 (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/Ryzen 1700X/Ryzen 1700/Ryzen 1600X/Ryzen 1800X/Opteron 6168x4/FX-8350/Ryzen 1800X
Motherboard X370 Taichi/A320 Pro-VHL/B350 M/B350 M/AB350 K4/SuperMicro 4P/ASUS 990X/ Asrock X370 mITX
Cooling NH-D14/SNH-U14S/Scythe Mugen5/Scythe Mugen 5/NH-U14S/CM 212+ (x4)/Xig DK Nighthawk/Scythe Mugen 5
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1800X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 7770/HD 4670/GTX 1080/8400GS/onboard/GTX 1080/HD 7870
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, .... misc...
Display(s) Dual Dell Ultrasharp U2414H
Case Silverstone FT01B/Corsair 230T/Versa H15/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom/Tt P3 open/Define XL r2
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/CS650M/Focus Gold 650/EVGA P2 850/HX 650/X Gold 1050/M12 II 750/X Gold 750
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 10 Pro (Fortress), Win 10 Pro (Ella02), Ubuntu for everything else
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,716 (2.12/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
This link explains some of what I think you may be looking for (Windows virtual memory addressing as it applies to video cards/video memory)


http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1323113&postcount=1

It is good info even if it doesn't specifically answer your question :ohwell:
What Norton said (and Mussels sticky)! Any memory sharing is through the system and drivers. Some cards (like the X300) use system ram automatically, but only allocate a specific chunk.

Generally speaking, system ram is much slower to address from the GPU than the GPU ram itself.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,386 (4.04/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
What Norton said (and Mussels sticky)! Any memory sharing is through the system and drivers. Some cards (like the X300) use system ram automatically, but only allocate a specific chunk.

Generally speaking, system ram is much slower to address from the GPU than the GPU ram itself.
I don't think that was what he was asking. It sounded like he wanted to address GPU memory as system memory.
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
13,805 (4.83/day)
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Julia (WCG)/Trish (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior (WCG)/4P (WCG)/Kreij (WCG)/Trish02 (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/Ryzen 1700X/Ryzen 1700/Ryzen 1600X/Ryzen 1800X/Opteron 6168x4/FX-8350/Ryzen 1800X
Motherboard X370 Taichi/A320 Pro-VHL/B350 M/B350 M/AB350 K4/SuperMicro 4P/ASUS 990X/ Asrock X370 mITX
Cooling NH-D14/SNH-U14S/Scythe Mugen5/Scythe Mugen 5/NH-U14S/CM 212+ (x4)/Xig DK Nighthawk/Scythe Mugen 5
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1800X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 7770/HD 4670/GTX 1080/8400GS/onboard/GTX 1080/HD 7870
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, .... misc...
Display(s) Dual Dell Ultrasharp U2414H
Case Silverstone FT01B/Corsair 230T/Versa H15/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom/Tt P3 open/Define XL r2
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/CS650M/Focus Gold 650/EVGA P2 850/HX 650/X Gold 1050/M12 II 750/X Gold 750
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 10 Pro (Fortress), Win 10 Pro (Ella02), Ubuntu for everything else
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
I don't think that was what he was asking. It sounded like he wanted to address GPU memory as system memory.
Op's question was fairly general so I steered him over to where some of his answers may be found....

Having windows 32bit in his sig with 4GB ram (3.25GB usable) he may have been asking if that unused system ram can be utilized for video ram as his card is only 512MB
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,232 (1.25/day)
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Motherboard i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ/MYSTERY P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling MYSTERY Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory MYSTERY DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) MYSTERY 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 InchMYSTERY @1920x1080
Case MYSTERY e M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply MYSTERY ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
Normally this is only possible with integrated graphics.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
374 (0.13/day)
Location
NJ Hillside
System Name Windows7 64bit Ultimate
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K
Motherboard Asus Z170M-PLUS
Cooling Cooler Master T4
Memory G.skill 32GB DDR4 (2x16GB) 3200MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX970 4GB
Storage PNY 500GB SSD + Seagate 4TB SSHD
Display(s) HP LE1851w
Case Cooler Master N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 750watt
Mouse HP
Keyboard HP
Benchmark Scores no need
Okay

So How I can do that

is there any program :confused:
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,597 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
using system memory as additional gpu memory is already done for all recent cards (when they run out of on-board memory)

using graphics memory as system ram is not possible because the gpu mem lives on a different cache hierarchy and is much much slower to access.
it would be possible that someone writes a ramdisk that uses gpu memory and you put the pagefile on that. i don't know of any such software though
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,232 (1.25/day)
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Motherboard i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ/MYSTERY P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling MYSTERY Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory MYSTERY DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) MYSTERY 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 InchMYSTERY @1920x1080
Case MYSTERY e M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply MYSTERY ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
Okay

So How I can do that

is there any program :confused:
Well if you are really trying to add memory or reduce memory of the integrated GPU it would be done in the bios of the motherboard.
But that HD 4670 does NOT fit with in that scenario.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,226 (0.31/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name Silent allround
Processor i5 750 @ 3,0Ghz 1.04v / 3.4Ghz 1.11v/ 3,6Ghz 1.15v
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-USB3
Cooling Thermalright IFX-14 + Scythe Slip Stream 140mm @ 600RPM
Memory 2 x 4GB Samsung M378B5273DH0-CH9 @ 2000 MHz 9-10-10-27 T1
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5870 Vapor-X @ 940/1270
Storage Intel Postville 80GB SSD & Western Digital Green 2TB
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2412M
Case Bitfenix Merc Alpha
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2 with Unified Drivers
Power Supply Nexus NX-5000 R3 530W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Super pi 1M : 8,549s @ 4,7Ghz (Core i7 920)
using system memory as additional gpu memory is already done for all recent cards (when they run out of on-board memory)
Are you sure? So if a game uses more memory than my GPU has than it will use my system memory? Never heard of that before.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,232 (1.25/day)
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Motherboard i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ/MYSTERY P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling MYSTERY Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory MYSTERY DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) MYSTERY 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 InchMYSTERY @1920x1080
Case MYSTERY e M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply MYSTERY ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
Are you sure? So if a game uses more memory than my GPU has than it will use my system memory? Never heard of that before.
I am pretty sure with the 5000 series and up they do.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,386 (4.04/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
I am pretty sure with the 5000 series and up they do.
6870-mem-dxdiag.PNG


The 6870 has 1gb. This is perfectly normal. It's overflow. Keep in mind it doesn't actually use system memory unless it has to, but some video cards with less or when you start running games in eyefinity with only a little bit of video memory will need to swap memory in and out of system memory. You usually notice when this happens though.
 
Last edited:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,858 (2.26/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
using system memory as additional gpu memory is already done for all recent cards (when they run out of on-board memory)

using graphics memory as system ram is not possible because the gpu mem lives on a different cache hierarchy and is much much slower to access.
it would be possible that someone writes a ramdisk that uses gpu memory and you put the pagefile on that. i don't know of any such software though
sounds like a job for a w1zzard :)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,386 (4.04/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
sounds like a job for a w1zzard :)
I could see it happening in linux, but I imagine it would have to be a kernel-mode driver.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,539 (0.70/day)
System Name Last Resort
Processor Core i5 4570 3.2ghz
Motherboard HP OEM
Cooling OEM HP cooler for cpu / Antec case fans for case
Memory 8GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 670 2GB FTW
Storage KINGSTON SA400S37240G + 500GB WD Blue
Display(s) LG ThinQ 4k TV
Case Antec
Audio Device(s) Koss CS-100 headset
Power Supply 550w
Mouse PS/2 ECM-S6102
Keyboard Dell
Software Windows 10 Pro
at OP, you might be better off upgrading to x64 Win7. This way you can make use of all of your system ram, and that much more will be available if the gpu runs out of its VRAM.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,597 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,858 (2.26/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
i was looking into it but it's not worth it considering memory prices nowadays
awww here I thought I could put the extra 2GB of 320bit Gddr5 to work :p
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,386 (4.04/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
awww here I thought I could put the extra 2GB of 320bit Gddr5 to work :p
The latency wouldn't be very good, but the bandwidth would be pretty good so I could see it being a good cache between system memory and your hard drive if it were done.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.46/day)
awww here I thought I could put the extra 2GB of 320bit Gddr5 to work :p
GPGPU work(F@H, BitCoin) already does...

Even using an IOMMU for an extra link isn't quite fast enough, but if you are using hte GPU for processing, that's a different situation entirely. The key is to make the value of the delay worthwhile.
 
Top