• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Is it safe to bypass the SSID check when flashing new vbios?

Groovymama

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name CyberPower Gaming PC
Processor Intel(R) CoreT i7-920 2.66 GHz 8M L3 Cache LGA1366
Motherboard Asus P6T SE Intel X58 Chipset CrossFireX Mainboard Triple-Channel DDR3/1600 SATA RAID w/ eSATA
Cooling 120MM Fans
Memory 6GB (2GBx3) PC1333 DDR3 PC3 10666 Triple Channel Memory
Video Card(s) XFX ATI Radeon HD 6770 PCI-E 16X 1GB
Storage 500GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM HDD
Display(s) HP 25" LCD
Case NZXT Beta Mid Tower w/ window
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Apevia 800 watt
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#1
Hello, I have an ASUS-manufactured ATI Radeon HD 5850 1G and it has the awful gray vertical line crash. After doing some investigating, I'm told that a fix to the vbios fixed this problem for the 5800-series cards. (I got my machine in 11/2009, and apparently the fix for the vbios was released just a few months after that. As to why I went almost two years without really experiencing this problem, I can't say, but I sure as heck got it now.)

So I went to TPU's awesome video bios page and found the available vbios files for my card. Oh! First, I actually opened my case and looked at the card to confirm the manufacturer and model. And yes, definitely ASUS, definitely a 5850.

So anyway, both vbios files that I've tried have given me an error stating that the SSIDs don't match. :(

Is this normal? Is it safe to use the -fs flag to force flash bypassing the SSID check? I really don't want to end up with a bricked card. Someone, please reassure me. ;)
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
76 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
YOU Knighted king-DOM
System Name the changeling
Processor intel core i7, 980X @ 4.4GHz HT
Motherboard Asus Rampage2Extreme, X58
Memory 12Gb DDR3 1600MHz 7-7-7-20-1T
Video Card(s) 2x HD7950OC 3072MB @ 1050/1600
Storage Corsair sandforce F40 and Force3 128Gb
Display(s) 28" 1920X1200
Case it's a box, I shit you not! an actual BOX! (for now)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply 850W Modular
Software Windows8 64bit
Benchmark Scores meh!
#2
2 years and just getting the display corruption now? did you clean the cards cooler/fan? could be heat related you know. Doesn't seem like a BIOS flash would fix this if its shown up after so long.
 

Groovymama

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name CyberPower Gaming PC
Processor Intel(R) CoreT i7-920 2.66 GHz 8M L3 Cache LGA1366
Motherboard Asus P6T SE Intel X58 Chipset CrossFireX Mainboard Triple-Channel DDR3/1600 SATA RAID w/ eSATA
Cooling 120MM Fans
Memory 6GB (2GBx3) PC1333 DDR3 PC3 10666 Triple Channel Memory
Video Card(s) XFX ATI Radeon HD 6770 PCI-E 16X 1GB
Storage 500GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM HDD
Display(s) HP 25" LCD
Case NZXT Beta Mid Tower w/ window
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Apevia 800 watt
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#3
That's a good point. Here's some history:

I started running the machine in 11/2009. No problems for about a year. Last year, I did have the vertical gray line problem, only when playing Left 4 Dead/Left 4 Dead 2. I fixed it by upgrading to a new (but not TOO new) version of the Catalyst driver - I think it was 9.12.

Just recently, I was playing a lot of WoW, and started having the problem again. I upgraded to the newest drivers (11.8). Same problem. I downgraded back to 9.12 or whatever. Same problem. I tried multiple versions in between, including 10.2, which supposedly included a fix for this issue. No dice, always crashes.

I tested my hard drive, memory (memtest86), etc. to make sure it wasn't something else. Machine was not overheating. I posted on AMD Game forums and got the suggestion to upgrade the vbios. Quote one of the active users there:

"Grey screen crash's were sorted out via Vbios updates from cards respected manufacturers according to several mods. Probably best you send your card in for either an RMA , or ask for the appropriate Vbios update that should resolve the issue.

You shouldn't be getting greyscreens period.. with any driver."​

So that's why I'm trying to update the vbios. HOWEVER, realizing that the simple solution is usually the best, I did clean the case today with compressed air (the fans WERE pretty dirty). Tonight I will try running WoW and see if I have the crash problem again. Hopefully, I won't. But if I do - back to my original question: is it safe to bypass the SSID check?

(Thanks for your reply, btw.) :)
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,984 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,551
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#4
first off and MOST important backup your original bios using GPUZ available in TPU downloads(sorry if you know that but it is deff the first thing todo)

so long as the board type(GPU) is the same with same power cicuits and mem ie refference or the same card but newer bios then the ssid dosnt overly matter.
but it does due to the error sugest their may be an incompatibillity between the bios and your card so backup and be sure of compatabillity then do it, sure, i did my vtx3d 5870(with 900 top clock limit and both were refference type cards/bioses) to a asus with 1200 as its high point on gpu nice 1050 24/7 365 as it folds when not gamein
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name CyberPower Gaming PC
Processor Intel(R) CoreT i7-920 2.66 GHz 8M L3 Cache LGA1366
Motherboard Asus P6T SE Intel X58 Chipset CrossFireX Mainboard Triple-Channel DDR3/1600 SATA RAID w/ eSATA
Cooling 120MM Fans
Memory 6GB (2GBx3) PC1333 DDR3 PC3 10666 Triple Channel Memory
Video Card(s) XFX ATI Radeon HD 6770 PCI-E 16X 1GB
Storage 500GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM HDD
Display(s) HP 25" LCD
Case NZXT Beta Mid Tower w/ window
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Apevia 800 watt
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#5
Well, after cleaning the fans and such I ran really great for a whole evening. Played WoW, no crashes, all seemed like it was fine. But this morning after about an hour of WoW I got the gray line crash again. So I booted to my thumb drive with atiflash, and forced the flash to the newer bios.

Good news: flashing worked
Bad news: no signal from my video card, I'm looking at black screen
Good news: I backed up my old bios onto my thumb drive so I can blindly type the command to flash it with that old bios
Bad news: can't seem to get my computer to boot to thumb drive anymore, instead it's booting to windows normally (I can hear the little start up song)
Good news: I figured I could hook up a VGA cable to my onboard graphics and get this fixed up in a jiffy
Bad news: my PC has no such port for onboard graphics, if there are any
Good news: I have an old PCIe card I can install for now
Bad news: even if I do that, I'm not sure how I can then flash my old card back to its old bios, and even if I do, I'm still going to have gray line crashes.

Summary: I am ordering a new card today and will install it when it gets here, and hope for the best. Any suggestions? I'm leaning towards a Sapphire Radeon HD 6570 1 GB.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
76 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
YOU Knighted king-DOM
System Name the changeling
Processor intel core i7, 980X @ 4.4GHz HT
Motherboard Asus Rampage2Extreme, X58
Memory 12Gb DDR3 1600MHz 7-7-7-20-1T
Video Card(s) 2x HD7950OC 3072MB @ 1050/1600
Storage Corsair sandforce F40 and Force3 128Gb
Display(s) 28" 1920X1200
Case it's a box, I shit you not! an actual BOX! (for now)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply 850W Modular
Software Windows8 64bit
Benchmark Scores meh!
#6
remove PCIE card, install PCI card, boot into PC BIOS, set primary display adapter to PCI

shut down, install PCIE card (along with PCI card), reboot, you now have display via PCI card

flash your PCIE cards BIOS, remove PCI card, boot into windows, voila.

i say voila - but its easier to write it than do it :)

EDIT i just saw its another PCIE card, well if you have 2 PCIE lanes for fitting 2 cards, you can still do it (just remember to flash the correct card, atiflash -i gives you adapter numbers)
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,984 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,551
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#7
as he said ive done and it worked well 3870 and few others saved
its deff easier with 2 very diff cards as its easier to be sure which is which

on the grey lines have you tried refitting some fresh Tim on it it may have got old/unseated and you could also bake the card a while that works well
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,314 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#8
Just RMA it, i do believe ASUS do give 3 year warranty's on there cards.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name CyberPower Gaming PC
Processor Intel(R) CoreT i7-920 2.66 GHz 8M L3 Cache LGA1366
Motherboard Asus P6T SE Intel X58 Chipset CrossFireX Mainboard Triple-Channel DDR3/1600 SATA RAID w/ eSATA
Cooling 120MM Fans
Memory 6GB (2GBx3) PC1333 DDR3 PC3 10666 Triple Channel Memory
Video Card(s) XFX ATI Radeon HD 6770 PCI-E 16X 1GB
Storage 500GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM HDD
Display(s) HP 25" LCD
Case NZXT Beta Mid Tower w/ window
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Apevia 800 watt
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#9
I contacted Asus but have not heard anything back from them. I was kind of fed up after the last two days so I just went out and bought a new card, installed it, and so far so good (fingers crossed). I picked up an XFX Ati Radeon HD 6770. Games look good and I haven't had any problems. It is much quieter than my last card and also only took one power connection (vs. the two that my last card took).

At this point I'm still pretty paranoid, even though reasonably, I shouldn't have any problems with a brand new card!
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
76 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
YOU Knighted king-DOM
System Name the changeling
Processor intel core i7, 980X @ 4.4GHz HT
Motherboard Asus Rampage2Extreme, X58
Memory 12Gb DDR3 1600MHz 7-7-7-20-1T
Video Card(s) 2x HD7950OC 3072MB @ 1050/1600
Storage Corsair sandforce F40 and Force3 128Gb
Display(s) 28" 1920X1200
Case it's a box, I shit you not! an actual BOX! (for now)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply 850W Modular
Software Windows8 64bit
Benchmark Scores meh!
#10
couldn't you have upgraded (not downgraded) the card at the same time? or not too bothered, just needed another card?
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name CyberPower Gaming PC
Processor Intel(R) CoreT i7-920 2.66 GHz 8M L3 Cache LGA1366
Motherboard Asus P6T SE Intel X58 Chipset CrossFireX Mainboard Triple-Channel DDR3/1600 SATA RAID w/ eSATA
Cooling 120MM Fans
Memory 6GB (2GBx3) PC1333 DDR3 PC3 10666 Triple Channel Memory
Video Card(s) XFX ATI Radeon HD 6770 PCI-E 16X 1GB
Storage 500GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM HDD
Display(s) HP 25" LCD
Case NZXT Beta Mid Tower w/ window
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Apevia 800 watt
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#11
I thought the 6770 would be fine for my needs (which is mostly work, WoW, and occasionally other games like L4D2 and Fallout 3). Plus it was readily available locally. I'm also thinking I will try to pursue an RMA with Asus on the other card (although is that possible now that I've bricked it?) and if I get a replacement, just keep it as a backup or maybe sell it to a friend (cheap!).