1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it worth going SLI with 8800GTX?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Exeodus, Jun 28, 2007.

  1. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    628 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    I'm currently thinking of going SLI. At the moment, I have one 8800gtx and I'm thinking of going with two. But I am concerned about a few things and would like some opinions. My first concern is will I encounter a bottleneck when going sli with such powerful cards. My hardware is listed in system specs.
    I am currently running the card with 4x AA, 16x AF, and in games such as F.E.A.R., BF2142,
    COD2, S.T.A.L.K.E.R., I have no problems at all. I get high framerates in all games that I play.
    I'm currently playing at 1680 x 1050 resolution. But i am wondering with upcoming releases such as Crysis and Bioshock , will I start to run into issues with performance.
    Most benchmarks that I can find showing performance of 2 8800gtx's in sli, they are usually tested at 1920 x 1200 res or higher and with quad core processors.

    Any advice would be much appreciated.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,979 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    Portugal
    no, unless it's for benches or a big ass monitor
    i would wait to see how one 88gtx performs in crysis before get another
     
    Exeodus says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Well, it's hard to say. There was that one instance of a single 8800 GTS breaking the Aquamark world record, beating GTX's in SLI by miles. That was with a 5 GHz Core 2, though. Just stating for fact, your CPU will be bottlenecking if you get SLI. It's up to you, really. There will be a difference for sure, just not sure if it will be worth the price.
     
    Exeodus says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,605 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,670
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    May not be worth the price now, but when stronger performing cpu's are released and cost of 8800's go down, it may be worth it later.

    Remember, this is coming from "nothing but a budget junkie".
     
    Exeodus says thanks.
  5. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,525 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Texas
    -Get another if you like to show off your PC and benchmark scores
    -Otherwise don't
    ---unless you have watercooling you're most likely going to have heat problems with two of them in the case
    ---wait until those games come out and if you feel there's enough of a performance increase then I guess do it (that way you don't waste your money now plus the card will be a least a little cheaper by the time SLI will make a difference with GTXs)
     
    Exeodus says thanks.
  6. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    use the money and go to the "dark side" instead bro, get a decent mb and a quad 6600!!!

    that board you have now is nice but the ol amds just can't get up there with those conroes atm...
     
    Exeodus says thanks.
  7. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,525 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Texas
    I definitely agree with mafia...don't waste the money on an extra GTX you don't need
    get a 680i LT mobo and Q6600!!!
     
  8. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,458 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    282
    Location:
    Blighty
    aquamark is an old, outdated benchmark which responds to cpu speed much more than gpu power, in my old opteron rig i got 100,000 with my x1800, and only 105,000 with an 8800gts, yet the gts is WAY faster in games.
    However i really cannot hardly see any difference (a couple of fps max) from my 2.8ghz opty (with ddr1@495cl3) to my 3.4ghz c2d (with ddr2@950cl4), point being that (in my opinion) his 3ghz x2 will not prove a bottleneck at all (except in 3dmark and aquamark)

    id also like to take this opportunity to vote the words bottleneck, bottlenecked, and bottlenecking as the most overused, annoying tech words out there (yes even more so than next gen, and anything mis-spelt to begin with x)
     
    Exeodus says thanks.
  9. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,525 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Texas
    all valid points but we determined he doesn't need SLI, it won't give him a dang in performance increase since the single GTX is so powerful but the Q6600 would be a huge upgrade technology-wise...he'd be future proofing with quad-core and getting I'm sure better performance
     
  10. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,458 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    282
    Location:
    Blighty
    the main point i was making, is that the rose tinted, greener grassed world of core 2 is a bit underwhelming if youve come from a decent speed amd (which he already has) i actually consider going to intel a bit of a mistake, sure, benchmarks tell me its a lot faster than my old rig, games (which are a lot more gpu dependant than cpu dependant) tell a different story

    and judging by the fact that quad cores dont overclock very well (and the trouble games developers are having getting 2 cores working, let alone 4), i cant see it being a worthwhile upgrade
     
  11. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,872 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,671
    Location:
    Ohio
    Exeodus says thanks.
  12. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,525 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Texas
    you guys are probably right, either no upgrade at all or the e6850 (which will be much more useful with high fsb and not overkill with 4 cores) but I'd have to disagree on that mobo hat I believe those got bad reviews with regards to overclocking but don't quote me, I'd just go the extra mile for 680i since we know he has the money available if he was willing to get another GTX
     
  13. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i would agree and say dont go sli and go intel with a good mobo and cpu.... i will be borowing my bro's 8800gtx in a few days, so i will be doing some 8800gtx sli benchmarks.
     
    Exeodus says thanks.
  14. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    At 1600x1050 SLI 8800GTX would be a massive waste.

    I would imagine every game you have should run pretty much maxed out now so I don't see any point of upgrading at the moment.


    The following review shows the difference between a top end X2 (6000+) and a high end C2D in real world games with a a8800GTX SLI setup.

    http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=MTI2MiwsLGhlbnRodXNpYXN0

    In some cases despite the maxed out resolution its quite a surprise what differences there are between the two processors.
     
    Exeodus says thanks.
  15. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,458 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    282
    Location:
    Blighty
    thats an fx62 in that test

     
    Xaser04 says thanks.
  16. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,872 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,671
    Location:
    Ohio
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128018
    Oh here's a DS3 then.

    No SLI, but he wouldn't need it with an 8800GTX and a 6850. Not a snowball's chance in hell.

    I hear the 680i sucks, so I went with a 650i...

    Here's a thinker. The heat generated by two 8800GTX would probably cause a nuclear fission reaction. :rockout:
     
    Exeodus says thanks.
  17. Ehstii New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    607 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Shore, New Jersey
    nah, you should just buy one of us an 8800gtx instead.
     
  18. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    My bad,

    It was a while since I had read the review.
     
  19. ShawnTRD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spencer, NY
    I think your X2 4600 is bottlenecked already.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,205 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Houston
    either buy 1 8800GTX or just a 1 2900XT, no reason to go with 2....
     
  21. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,872 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,671
    Location:
    Ohio
    You would need 2 cpus :laugh:
    Dual 6850's!
     
  22. ShawnTRD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spencer, NY
    The new AMD's will be a QUAD Core that you can run 2 CPU for 2 X Quad Core:nutkick:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,872 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,671
    Location:
    Ohio
    Or, you could just get 2 6000+. Quad core is useless today. Tomorrow, who knows...
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)