1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my card dying

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by u2konline, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,037 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Browsing the net working fine, watching videos working fine. I notice in games like APB reloaded, the game freezes up now, so bad i have to shut down my computer. I thought it was due to the update to the game, but nobody else is having trouble. Now before the update the game was dragging a bit, slowdown and seems like there was lag but major lag.
    I also notice i can not record anymore with any game using fraps, never had this issue before. When i hit the record button, it skips around and pauses.
    Tried to play Crysis 1 and the game wont even start, it freezes/crashes.

    You think its my 5750 dying or my CPU?

    Or could it be my onboard sound dying?
     
  2. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Pinpointing the problem just based on these symptoms might be hard. It might be your gpu, or it might also be your psu not supporting the loads any more. You might want to look into that.
     
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17,087 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,331
    Location:
    London,UK
    What are the temps of the card in CCC?

    It could also be a RAM related issue. so test your modules by booting up with only 1 installed and loading up crysis to see if the same problem happends. repeat the same for the other module.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,037 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Temps are fine. 50c at idle, on load 68. It may be my PSU, but yea you're right its going to be hard trying to find the issue. I am going to put in a sound card and see does it fix the fraps recording problem, than try my 9800gt as my last option.
    Be back later.
     
  5. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,655 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    That doesn't sound much like a GPU issue to me. It sounds more like a CPU or RAM issue, and probably not a hardware issue.

    Did you update your drivers (and DirectX) and make sure background processes aren't hogging resources?
     
  6. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,037 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Well i change video cards to my 9800gt, and everything seems to work fine, but recording games with fraps, skips, pauses, you name it. Could it be a PSU Issue?
    As for updating my drivers, that's not the issue. Drivers were updated.
     
  7. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,037 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Alright i just change fraps recording from C drive to my other HD e and recording is smooth now. So is my C Hard drive dying?
     
  8. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,738 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,659
    Location:
    04578
    no the HDD is being hammered

    your HDD has to feed data to ram and vice versa also if the HDD is being used as a page file that slows it down now add Gigabytes of Data being recorded by fraps to the same hard drive your trying to load data to and acts as a memory buffer for windows tasks, its not rocket science, the HDD is just being hammered, just as if you run a defrag and play a game it will skip and stutter.

    i was going to say something insulting.. but i dont need any infractions today.
     
  9. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,037 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I am going to replace my PSU and buy a new card soon.

    You can say what you like, go ahead, i would love to HEAR it. Please tell me what is on your mind.

    As for the problems in general, it just started a few days ago with APB reloeaded, where the game seems to be dragging alone, and than the fraps problem started. Before any of these problems, i have no issues playing any games. So my guess it may be the PSU.
     
  10. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    967 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    As crazyeyes stated, using fraps on the same drive as a game at the same time will introduce stutter. Especially if the pagefile is on the same drive. The harddrive is the slowest component in modern computers.

    If you are getting a new PSU, make sure it is a quality one and it'll last you a long time.
    If you buy a cheap one, you may have it overload and take out your whole system.
     
  11. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,037 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    That's not true. Because i already said that i didn't have any trouble at all until a few days ago. Like 3 days ago out of nowhere when i record it will skip and pause. Before those 3 days ago, i could record just fine with no problems. I think its my PSU.

    I already have 2 new backups. thermaltake's.
     
  12. bucketface

    bucketface New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    142 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    eww thermaltake... lol jks they're o.k.
    Recording to C: still not a good idea.. and as u said was having some effect.
    How's changing the PSU worked out? if it hasn't fixed the problem, have u tried different drivers? if it's some problem with old driver plus new patch it might help. is the problem only with APB?
     
  13. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,126 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    652
    Location:
    Repentigny, QC, CANADA
    I would give a bug +1 to this.

    When playign a game, yeah the game use ra, but they also use Pagefile.. So Pagefile Read/write + Fraps Write + game, you may loose some performance... better to put the destination folder other than c: with fraps ;)

    and a big +1 also to the PSU.

    what model and wattage your thermaltake? they are not bad at all :pimp:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,738 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,659
    Location:
    04578
    i doubt its the PSU a 5750 uses less power then a 9800gt in fact

    5750
    power draw for the GPU alone

    idle 23
    average 54
    peak 64
    max 81

    a 5750 barely exceeds the max power draw of a PCIE socket, meaning a 5750 in real world terms if done right wouldnt even NEED a 6 pin so i highly doubt its the PSU,

    his systems max power draw when gaming is around 150-170w total if playing Bad Company 2 which uses a quadcore then maybe 200w, so i doubt its psu, if that PSU cant handle 150w load it wouldnt even boot the system.

    what this means even the shittiest Termaltake PSU will run that system lol swap it out if it dosent fix it it just means your HDD is slowing down,

    and if no ones told you as you fill an HDD up it gets slower,

    read and write speeds drop as it fills data in toward the center of the HDD, more full the HDD gets the slower it gets on average,

    the outer edge of a Hardrive might be 110mb/s read speeds middle would be maybe 85mb/s while the inside edge might drop as low as 50 so if your trying to read data from the HDD which you are, when gaming, along with Windows using the page file, if pagefile is on windows will attempt to use the page file to free up system resources for applications your using, thus further slowing the drive down then write data to the drive, with Fraps. this isnt rocket science, recording to the other drive fixed the problem did it not?

    and if i remember correctly, you also tend to swap gpus all the damn time from Nvidia to AMD and back again depending on the game, this can seriously fuck up Windows can fuck up the C++ installs for 2005 and 2008, in some cases it can fuck up .net framework, and other situations, these are all problems that can cause hanging and freezing with GPU drivers

    and you say it comes from APB, well that game is utter shit i dont know maybe try uninstalling it, or using a system restore from before you installed it, that would be a key thing to test as well.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2011
  15. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,037 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Well changing my PSU( cheap-o 550W ) to my thermaltake 430 seems to have fix my issue. Even tho i am using my 9800gt and put aside my 5750( i think the 5750 may be dying the way it was playing games ). So it seems like the PSU was fading away and putting in the new one fix it. APB runs great :) And recording is just fine. I do plan on upgrading my 9800gt finally to a GTX 550 2GB in a few weeks. 560 and above is out of my price range sorry guys.

    Oh and about recording to C drive which i have been for years and years, well i am back using that C drive for recording and no issues.
    LATERZ

    I did that a long time ago, but when i say switch, i don't switch like every 2 weeks lol. I don't do that anymore, because i am getting a secondary rig.

    Best MMO/online game i ever played IMO. I play it every day, really dont feel like playing anything else but that. I also have 10 characters :)
     
  16. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,738 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,659
    Location:
    04578
    and its also a broken game that last i knew hated AMD / ATi hardware. and still doesnt work properly
     
  17. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,037 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Well the game worked just fine using my q6600 intel system and 5750. Never had a problem with it. There is lag, but that is due to the servers, not anyone's GPU. Its a great game.
    BTW you know the game was re-launch right?
     
  18. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,881 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    ? :banghead:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)