• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my CPU dead?

Joined
Aug 9, 2020
Messages
106 (0.96/day)
System Name Alex-PC
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-F, BIOS Ver. 1202, AGESA 1.1.0.0 Patch B
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax Black
Memory 2x 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2070 Mini
Storage 1x 500 GB Samsung 980 PRO PCIe 4.0 NVMe + 1x SanDisk X400 512 GB SSD + 2x Crucial MX500 1 TB SSD
Display(s) 1x 1080p144, 1x 1080p75
Case be quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black
Power Supply Corsair CX 650 2017 80+ Bronze Non-Modular
Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
Keyboard ROCCAT Horde AIMO
Benchmark Scores Airflow: 3x be quiet! Pure Wings 2 High-Speed 140mm PWM, 2x front intake, 1x rear exhaust
Bit of a long story.

A few months ago I built my first Ryzen build. I had a B550 Aorus Pro board with a Ryzen 9 3900X tamed by a NH-D15. Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 CL16 RAM.

Recently, I upgraded the RAM to some 2x 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600 CL16 kit. And everything worked just fine. I was even able to increase the DRAM frequency to 3733 and pass several passes of Memtest86 without issues.

Problems started appearing immediately after I messed with the timings. Instead of leaving the default XMP timings (16-19-19-39) and DRAM frequency at 3733, I set about tightening the timings with the DRAM frequency still at 3733.

That went horribly wrong, my system rebooted several times until I managed to get into the BIOS, which was now freezing about 5 seconds in. Sometimes instantly. Instead of shutting the PC off from the PSU when this happened, I shut it off from the power button.

Then after several reboots, it wouldn't post at all and it was stuck on CPU.

Keep in mind I did not mess with any CPU settings in the bios. All on auto. All voltages, including SoC, on auto. DRAM voltage was 1.35v.

I then returned the board (and surprisingly got a refund), and now have a ROG Strix B550-F on the way.

The last thing I saw on that board was the CPU debug light being active, all fans at full blast. No CMOS resets, CMOS jumpers, anything, worked to reset the BIOS. DualBIOS didn't trigger. QFlash didn't work either. Thanks, Gigabyte.

I thought all that would happen if you got the timings wrong was either automatically reverting back to the working settings or no POST, which the latter can be fixed with a CMOS reset. But nothing worked in my case.

So, my question is... Did I kill my CPU by messing with the RAM timings? Is it gone, or did I just corrupt the BIOS? The RAM still works fine as I'm currently using it in my backup Intel build.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,107 (1.70/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-36-400 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) GTX 2080 Ti (Undervolted OC 1925MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) LG 49NANO85 - 49" 4K 120HZ NanoIPS
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard Penclic C3
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
probably just dead mobo. It is possible that it killed the CPU on the way out, but generally that's not easy to do.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
105 (1.22/day)
I reckon mobo
whoever you cant blame it on gigabye
you messed with timings your paying consequences gigabyte dont promise you can oc
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,571 (5.35/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
I reckon mobo
whoever you cant blame it on gigabye
you messed with timings your paying consequences gigabyte dont promise you can oc
Lets play fair. A CMOS reset should have allowed it to return to functional.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
708 (0.48/day)
System Name The de-ploughminator
Processor I7 8700K @ 5.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Ti + Heatkiller IV wb
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG 34GN850-B
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Did you manually set the Infinity Fabric Frequency and divider to 1866mhz in the AMD Overclocking TAB ? if so then the BIOS is bricked.
Don't do anything in the AMD overclocking TAB without testing that they are stable first.

 
Joined
Dec 14, 2019
Messages
235 (0.67/day)
Location
Loose in space
System Name "The black one in the dining room"
Processor Intel i7 5960X @4.6GHz
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H105 w/4 Silverstone FM121 fans @110cfm ea on the radiator
Memory 64GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 2600 (8x8)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Fury X
Storage 960GB MyDigital NVMe. 480GB MyDigital NVMe, 1TB Samsung 860, 4 Western Digital 2TB Black
Display(s) 40" Samsung 8000 series 4K
Case Modded Corsair Carbide 500R
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Keyboard Logitech K750 Solar, DiNovo Edge
Software Win 10 Enterprise LTSC
Try the CPU in another mobo. I've done very very bad things to CPU's in the past 21+ years and only managed to kill one of them (It was under warranty and AMD replaced it. That was in 2001). If you didn't change any CPU voltages odds are it's OK.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,122 (4.54/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I'm wondering if the I.F. could be faulty enough to brick the CPU.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
4,001 (1.72/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Try the CPU in another mobo. I've done very very bad things to CPU's in the past 21+ years and only managed to kill one of them (It was under warranty and AMD replaced it. That was in 2001). If you didn't change any CPU voltages odds are it's OK.
if you had read the post, he has another board on the way.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2020
Messages
106 (0.96/day)
System Name Alex-PC
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-F, BIOS Ver. 1202, AGESA 1.1.0.0 Patch B
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax Black
Memory 2x 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2070 Mini
Storage 1x 500 GB Samsung 980 PRO PCIe 4.0 NVMe + 1x SanDisk X400 512 GB SSD + 2x Crucial MX500 1 TB SSD
Display(s) 1x 1080p144, 1x 1080p75
Case be quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black
Power Supply Corsair CX 650 2017 80+ Bronze Non-Modular
Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
Keyboard ROCCAT Horde AIMO
Benchmark Scores Airflow: 3x be quiet! Pure Wings 2 High-Speed 140mm PWM, 2x front intake, 1x rear exhaust
Yeahhh, I kind of messed up the IF in the AMD overclocking tab. My bad. I guess I did brick the board. Better than a dead CPU!

However. I hope the IF setting I set in the BIOS doesn't carry over to another board?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
708 (0.48/day)
System Name The de-ploughminator
Processor I7 8700K @ 5.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Ti + Heatkiller IV wb
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG 34GN850-B
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
New board should work, the Aorus B550 doesn't have dual BIOS so you were out of luck there, lesson learned :D
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2020
Messages
106 (0.96/day)
System Name Alex-PC
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-F, BIOS Ver. 1202, AGESA 1.1.0.0 Patch B
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax Black
Memory 2x 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2070 Mini
Storage 1x 500 GB Samsung 980 PRO PCIe 4.0 NVMe + 1x SanDisk X400 512 GB SSD + 2x Crucial MX500 1 TB SSD
Display(s) 1x 1080p144, 1x 1080p75
Case be quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black
Power Supply Corsair CX 650 2017 80+ Bronze Non-Modular
Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
Keyboard ROCCAT Horde AIMO
Benchmark Scores Airflow: 3x be quiet! Pure Wings 2 High-Speed 140mm PWM, 2x front intake, 1x rear exhaust
New board should work, the Aorus B550 doesn't have dual BIOS so you were out of luck there, lesson learned :D
Lesson learned to no longer buy Gigabyte to be honest, I only had issues with that board outside of OC. Let's hope the Asus board treats me right

But yeah. I'll just be enabling XMP profile and overclocking something that isn't the RAM next time.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
2,317 (1.41/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14 @ 3600Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Sapphire 5600XT pulse
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Lesson learned to no longer buy Gigabyte to be honest, I only had issues with that board outside of OC. Let's hope the Asus board treats me right

But yeah. I'll just be enabling XMP profile and overclocking something that isn't the RAM next time.
You probably did but I will ask anyway. Did you reset the BIOS on the board?
This may not be the CPU but the MOBO which doesn't agree with the CPU due to RAM timings. I wouldn't cross out the CPU yet.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,097 (1.65/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
New board should work, the Aorus B550 doesn't have dual BIOS so you were out of luck there, lesson learned :D
Dual bios (Gigabyte) only kicks in during a bad flash and you bricked the other bios by turning off the power. The system automatically goes to the default bios which would have the original bios revision.

@OP - The Infinity Fabric and controller are in the Cpu, not on the board. You have just as much chance bricking a Cpu with unlawful IF overclocking. Hope the new board works though.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2020
Messages
106 (0.96/day)
System Name Alex-PC
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-F, BIOS Ver. 1202, AGESA 1.1.0.0 Patch B
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax Black
Memory 2x 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2070 Mini
Storage 1x 500 GB Samsung 980 PRO PCIe 4.0 NVMe + 1x SanDisk X400 512 GB SSD + 2x Crucial MX500 1 TB SSD
Display(s) 1x 1080p144, 1x 1080p75
Case be quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black
Power Supply Corsair CX 650 2017 80+ Bronze Non-Modular
Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
Keyboard ROCCAT Horde AIMO
Benchmark Scores Airflow: 3x be quiet! Pure Wings 2 High-Speed 140mm PWM, 2x front intake, 1x rear exhaust
You probably did but I will ask anyway. Did you reset the BIOS on the board?
This may not be the CPU but the MOBO which doesn't agree with the CPU due to RAM timings. I wouldn't cross out the CPU yet.
I did try everything to reset the bios except resetting it in the BIOS GUI itself since it was freezing 5 seconds in.

@OP - The Infinity Fabric and controller are in the Cpu, not on the board. You have just as much chance bricking a Cpu with unlawful IF overclocking. Hope the new board works though.
Greeaaaat...
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,669 (3.70/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F22
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0 PCB, @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T(1.46V)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v2004)
X570 Aorus Pro, purchased Aug 2019.
I bricked my board's BIOS too many times, by messing around a lot with RAM subsystem. Speeds, voltages, timings. Not the CPU cores but IF, VSOC/UMC, DRAM.
Unfortunately on early BIOS versions (first 3~4 months) the board didnt reset itself to the second BIOS that is present.
Clear CMOS didnt work. Not remember what Debug led was on.
The only thing that worked to get it back functional again was to use the "Q-Flash Plus" button and load the whatever BIOS version was in the flash drive.

After that, by 2020 I guess they fixed it on newer BIOS versions and now it doesnt get bricked. Just reseting on defaults after 2~3 attempts and start again if I do anything stupid with the settings. I even try a week ago to boot with 1933MHz on 1:1:1 mode. It just got auto reset to defaults after 2 boot attempts.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2020
Messages
106 (0.96/day)
System Name Alex-PC
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-F, BIOS Ver. 1202, AGESA 1.1.0.0 Patch B
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax Black
Memory 2x 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2070 Mini
Storage 1x 500 GB Samsung 980 PRO PCIe 4.0 NVMe + 1x SanDisk X400 512 GB SSD + 2x Crucial MX500 1 TB SSD
Display(s) 1x 1080p144, 1x 1080p75
Case be quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black
Power Supply Corsair CX 650 2017 80+ Bronze Non-Modular
Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
Keyboard ROCCAT Horde AIMO
Benchmark Scores Airflow: 3x be quiet! Pure Wings 2 High-Speed 140mm PWM, 2x front intake, 1x rear exhaust
Can somebody confirm that a Ryzen can be bricked by setting unstable IF values? Will a new board not fix this?
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,669 (3.70/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F22
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0 PCB, @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T(1.46V)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v2004)
Can somebody confirm that a Ryzen can be bricked by setting unstable IF values? Will a new board not fix this?
Im not sure, but I dont think that any setting is stored on the CPU and can get it messed like that. Like a board BIOS.

Just to crarify...
When you wrote on OP that "QFlash didn't work either"...
...you mean the Q-Flash Plus button?
With a flash drive (FAT32) on white usb port, loaded with a BIOS file named gigabyte.bin?
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2020
Messages
106 (0.96/day)
System Name Alex-PC
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-F, BIOS Ver. 1202, AGESA 1.1.0.0 Patch B
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax Black
Memory 2x 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2070 Mini
Storage 1x 500 GB Samsung 980 PRO PCIe 4.0 NVMe + 1x SanDisk X400 512 GB SSD + 2x Crucial MX500 1 TB SSD
Display(s) 1x 1080p144, 1x 1080p75
Case be quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black
Power Supply Corsair CX 650 2017 80+ Bronze Non-Modular
Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
Keyboard ROCCAT Horde AIMO
Benchmark Scores Airflow: 3x be quiet! Pure Wings 2 High-Speed 140mm PWM, 2x front intake, 1x rear exhaust
white usb port, loaded with a BIOS file named gigabyte.bin?
I think in my panic I didn't put it in the right slot and have the file renamed...
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,669 (3.70/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F22
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0 PCB, @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T(1.46V)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v2004)
I think in my panic I didn't put it in the right slot and have the file renamed...
Well that sucks (the predicament)...
Too bad, and I have the thought that B550 AorusPro is a nice board.

Why didnt you ask here for advise?

Any way, whats done is done... I hope you enjoy your system now with the new board.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2020
Messages
106 (0.96/day)
System Name Alex-PC
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-F, BIOS Ver. 1202, AGESA 1.1.0.0 Patch B
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax Black
Memory 2x 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2070 Mini
Storage 1x 500 GB Samsung 980 PRO PCIe 4.0 NVMe + 1x SanDisk X400 512 GB SSD + 2x Crucial MX500 1 TB SSD
Display(s) 1x 1080p144, 1x 1080p75
Case be quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black
Power Supply Corsair CX 650 2017 80+ Bronze Non-Modular
Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
Keyboard ROCCAT Horde AIMO
Benchmark Scores Airflow: 3x be quiet! Pure Wings 2 High-Speed 140mm PWM, 2x front intake, 1x rear exhaust
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
2,317 (1.41/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14 @ 3600Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Sapphire 5600XT pulse
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
The CPU can't be bricked. the I/O on the CPU cannot be changed. You don't set anything in the CPU but the motherboard which communicates with it. The I/O on the CPU adjusts to the speed of the RAM and that is all.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,470 (0.27/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Just a bad board, nothing to do with IF or ram timings, just coincidental bad timing, excuse the pun
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,669 (3.70/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F22
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0 PCB, @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T(1.46V)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v2004)
If the CPU still works that is
Unless you put some crazy levels of voltage I think it will.
Just a bad board, nothing to do with IF or ram timings, just coincidental bad timing, excuse the pun
Please read again from #15 and below. The board probably wasnt bad. The OP may not have done the right procedure to flash BIOS with Q-Flash Plus button.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2020
Messages
106 (0.96/day)
System Name Alex-PC
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-F, BIOS Ver. 1202, AGESA 1.1.0.0 Patch B
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax Black
Memory 2x 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2070 Mini
Storage 1x 500 GB Samsung 980 PRO PCIe 4.0 NVMe + 1x SanDisk X400 512 GB SSD + 2x Crucial MX500 1 TB SSD
Display(s) 1x 1080p144, 1x 1080p75
Case be quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black
Power Supply Corsair CX 650 2017 80+ Bronze Non-Modular
Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
Keyboard ROCCAT Horde AIMO
Benchmark Scores Airflow: 3x be quiet! Pure Wings 2 High-Speed 140mm PWM, 2x front intake, 1x rear exhaust
I haven't messed with the voltages at all. Every voltage related setting was on auto. Only DRAM voltage to 1.35v, as recommended.

And, I just got info that the Infinity Fabric settings are stored on a volatile flash memory chip that's powered by the CMOS battery, not the CPU. Technically, the CPU should work on a new board... I don't know what to believe anymore
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,916 (2.98/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB273GP
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
Dunno what the difference is but I never bricked my x570, if anything was wrong it would simply refuse to boot 3 times and then revert to defaults automatically.
 
Top