• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my GPU being bottlenecked by my processor?

Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
hell
System Name Chuck Norris's cousins' friends' uncles secret gun
Processor Phenom 9500
Motherboard Asus M3A
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Memory 6gb PC6400
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 3870
Storage 400gb 7200rpm 32mb cache WD
Display(s) Acer 20" 1280x1024
Case (no clue, offbrand or somethin XD)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 700w "Rocketfish"
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark 06-9227
#1
I have a phenom 9500 (tlb patch off, no OC) and a radeon hd 3870 (its oced to 800mhz/1170 by factory default) and right now I'm getting 12fps on crysis at best..only at 1280x1024 at high...the odd thing is even if I turn down the graphics to insanely down to 800x600 and everything low, I still max out at 15 fps (at best:wtf:) Im running on Vista Ult. 64-bit, and on CCC 8.11 (8.12 wouldnt work on my system for some reason) I have a 700w PSU and 6gb of ram going right now at 800mhz)......... (its kinda pissing me off, I can go and play COD4 with everything maxed out with over 100fps lol) Also, for no reason my FPS when playing CSS will dip down to below 20 (my old P4 3.2ghz could get over 60fps on it :mad:) Any suggestions....:banghead:
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,960 (2.31/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#2
Meh you got something wrong somewhere and it isn't the cpu nor your graphics card.

My brother plays Crysis on 1024x768 on a 17" monitor on an AMD Sempron 2Ghz, 1GB RAM, on low/medium settings 8600GTS 256MB and the game still runs smooth.
And you say you put it 800x600 and everything low and don't get more than 15fps on your rig?
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.13/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#3
try reinstalling the games and the drivers
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,960 (2.31/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#4
try reinstalling the games and the drivers
And defragment your hard disk, and make sure you don't have background processes like an antivirus scan or antispyware scan running while you're gaming. Also disable your vista sidebar - that can take up a lot of resources depending on what gadgets you got.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.35/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#5
there really isnt such a thing as bottlenecking, rather it is CPU scaling, happens with any setup.
dont forget that crysis runs with the command line c:\program files\EA Games\Crytek\Crysis.exe -shitlist radeon
 
Likes: r9
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
hell
System Name Chuck Norris's cousins' friends' uncles secret gun
Processor Phenom 9500
Motherboard Asus M3A
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Memory 6gb PC6400
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 3870
Storage 400gb 7200rpm 32mb cache WD
Display(s) Acer 20" 1280x1024
Case (no clue, offbrand or somethin XD)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 700w "Rocketfish"
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark 06-9227
#6
Ok, I uninstalled and reinstalled and, get this....15FPS OMG (on high, 1280x1024, no AA...) and on 800x600, everything low 30 FPS!!!OMG!!! AMD YOURE SO COOL!!!! maybe when they can actually make a worthwile CPU and Graphics card that can actually do what you pay for without making over 10 revisions to drivers that are *supposed to* make it work will I buy ATI/AMD again... (im dling the demo, but EA's so cheap they only have a 300kbs upload cap, lol) i wouldnt doubt if the demo itself had an "activation key" or will only let you install it 3 times without dling a different one...no wonder why everyone pirates them....:mad:
 

-mStat-

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Mine
Processor Intel C2D e6600 2.4 @ 3.4
Motherboard Abit AW9D-Max
Cooling Zalman CNPS7000C (Proc Idle: 25C Load 35C)
Memory 2x1gb G-Skill DDR2 800mhz (4-4-4-12)
Video Card(s) Visiontek 4870 HD 790/1000
Storage 2x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 , 2x 320gb Seagate
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster LCD 245BW 24" Widescreen
Case Coolermaster Cosmos-S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatality
Power Supply 850w Zalman Modular
Software Vista
#7
Maybe you just have so much shit on your computer that, its not any issues with CPU/GFX Card scaling. Too many processes, or just to much shit running in general. Before you deem anything garbage. I suggest you do a clean install before you make that decision.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
hell
System Name Chuck Norris's cousins' friends' uncles secret gun
Processor Phenom 9500
Motherboard Asus M3A
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Memory 6gb PC6400
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 3870
Storage 400gb 7200rpm 32mb cache WD
Display(s) Acer 20" 1280x1024
Case (no clue, offbrand or somethin XD)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 700w "Rocketfish"
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark 06-9227
#8
53 processes on idle, 36% RAM being used and CPU at 7% while I'm typing this...most likely driver issue....btw, a while ago i dled AMD overdrive, apparently it doesnt work for vista ult (at least x64) Im tring to dl 8.12 but i doubt it will fix anything....(demo is still 300kbs cheapass EA :wtf:)
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
1,745 (0.41/day)
Likes
176
Location
The Nevada Wasteland
System Name 9th Level
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 BE @3.4Ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA790FX-UD5P
Cooling Corsair H100, x2 250mm, x1 140mm, x3 120mm fans.
Memory 8GB Patriot DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX480 (800/1600/2000/@1.0v)
Storage x1 80GB, x2 1TB.
Display(s) Acer 24" 2ms 1920x1200
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Fatal1ty Xtreme gamer 64mb Xram
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#9
Now you're starting to troll. Kill the processes, 53 is way to many.

9500 with no OC and your complaining about performance...FFS, crysis is a crapply optimized game. Crysis warhead is much better.
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,371 (2.14/day)
Likes
1,002
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#10
HD3870 and Crysis did NOT play well for me either. I couldn't even get the game to run with it. I kept getting artifacts. Honestly though, close some of the background programs and see if it helps.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.97/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#11
HD3870 and Crysis did NOT play well for me either. I couldn't even get the game to run with it. I kept getting artifacts. Honestly though, close some of the background programs and see if it helps.
I cxould fold (on the card) and play crysis at the same time with my hd3870. 1024 *768 & e6400
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#12
Ok, I uninstalled and reinstalled and, get this....15FPS OMG (on high, 1280x1024, no AA...) and on 800x600, everything low 30 FPS!!!OMG!!! AMD YOURE SO COOL!!!! maybe when they can actually make a worthwile CPU and Graphics card that can actually do what you pay for without making over 10 revisions to drivers that are *supposed to* make it work will I buy ATI/AMD again... (im dling the demo, but EA's so cheap they only have a 300kbs upload cap, lol) i wouldnt doubt if the demo itself had an "activation key" or will only let you install it 3 times without dling a different one...no wonder why everyone pirates them....:mad:
Chill man it's not AMD/ATIs fault something is not right with your pc not the video card/CPU like the are saying try defrag how much space is on your harddrive? You could try updating drivers..I know pcs with lower specs than that than run crysis faster than 15 fps
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,724 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,630
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#13
ummm you have something set wrong i played crysis 1280x1024 all high with a 3850 256mb no issues. 30FPS or so. is this a fresh isntall did you have an NV card in it previously? do you have a virus?
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
hell
System Name Chuck Norris's cousins' friends' uncles secret gun
Processor Phenom 9500
Motherboard Asus M3A
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Memory 6gb PC6400
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 3870
Storage 400gb 7200rpm 32mb cache WD
Display(s) Acer 20" 1280x1024
Case (no clue, offbrand or somethin XD)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 700w "Rocketfish"
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark 06-9227
#14
sorry for blasting ati like that, i was pissed off that day -.- anyways, i have kaspersky anti virus, and i have a bad feeling its that, so im gonna try to uninstall it and see if anything happens..and i defrag my hd every week, and its a 400g 32mb cache one...if it really mattered. answers pl0x?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,960 (2.31/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#15
Try the following - it will automatically kill all extra processes (including Kasperski) just for that login session (So you don't need to uninstall your antivirus or anything just now). Check your fps. If they increase, it's definitely a process issue.

If you use Windows Vista
To perform a clean boot on a computer that is running Windows Vista, follow these steps.

1. Click Start
Type msconfig in the Start Search box, and then press ENTER. If you are prompted for an administrator password or for a confirmation, type the password, or click Continue.
2. On the General tab, click Selective Startup.
3. Under Selective Startup, click to clear the Load Startup Items check box.
4. Click the Services tab, click to select the Hide All Microsoft Services check box, and then click Disable All.
5. Click OK.
6. When you are prompted, click Restart.
7. After the computer starts, start the game or program and check whether the problem is resolved.


If you use Windows XP
To perform a clean boot on a computer that is running Windows XP, follow these steps.

1. Click Start, and then click Run.
2. Type msconfig in the Open box, and then click OK.
3. On the General tab, click Selective Startup.
4. Under Selective Startup, click to clear the following check boxes:
* Process SYSTEM.INI File
* Process WIN.INI File
* Load Startup Items
5. Click the Services tab, click to select the Hide All Microsoft Services check box, and then click Disable All.
6. Click OK.
7. When you are prompted, click Restart.
8. After the computer starts, start the game or program and check whether the problem is resolved.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.32/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#16
ummm you have something set wrong i played crysis 1280x1024 all high with a 3850 256mb no issues. 30FPS or so. is this a fresh isntall did you have an NV card in it previously? do you have a virus?
+1
I played crysis with a 7900GS(700mhz/900mhz) and a x2 4600+@2.5ghz played around 20fps with everything on high 1280x1024 with no AA
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
2,143 (0.65/day)
Likes
312
System Name THE MAD BEAST!!!
Processor Tinfoil rapper with some coathangers
Motherboard Graham cracker with with frosting
Cooling A shovel full of snow
Memory Grey matter out of a corpse
Video Card(s) Cat eyes
Storage A whales brain
Display(s) Cyclops eyeball
Case Inside a yetis hollowed out corpse
Audio Device(s) howling banchee
Power Supply 32 hamster on a massive wheel
Software WHo needs software when you have a box of kittens
Benchmark Scores IS gatrillions a number?
#17
hey cod4 is not really a intensly taxing game, is your card bursting into flames while you play crysis or try...? heat can add a big part to anything on a computer
 

kiriakost

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
1,054 (0.32/day)
Likes
69
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Q6600 QUAD
Motherboard ASUS P5QC
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon
Memory HYPER-X KHX1600C8D3T1K2 /4GX PC3-12800 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5770 VAPOR-X
Storage Raptors 73Gb - Raid1
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Special moded ..
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music + mods Audigy front Panel (full working)
Power Supply HIPER 4M780 PE 980W Peak
Software XP PRO SP3
#18
Thats how the low end HD3850 performs ;) (VGA stock clocks )

30/1/2009 9:05:23 πμ - XP
Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
DX9 1280x1024, AA=No AA, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
Demo Loops=2, Time Of Day= 9
Global Game Quality: Custom
Custom Quality Values:
VolumetricEffects=Medium
Texture=Medium
ObjectDetail=Medium
Sound=Medium
Shadows=Medium
Water=Medium
Physics=Low
Particles=Medium
Shading=Medium
PostProcessing=Medium
GameEffects=Medium
================================================== ============
TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
Play Time: 66.18s, Average FPS: 30.22
Min FPS: 19.85 at frame 1933, Max FPS: 50.00 at frame 991
Average Tri/Sec: 21033696, Tri/Frame: 696009
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 1.32
!TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
Play Time: 57.37s, Average FPS: 34.86
Min FPS: 19.85 at frame 1933, Max FPS: 50.00 at frame 991
Average Tri/Sec: 24530608, Tri/Frame: 703675
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 1.30
!TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
Play Time: 57.15s, Average FPS: 35.00
Min FPS: 19.85 at frame 1933, Max FPS: 51.10 at frame 75
Average Tri/Sec: 24611902, Tri/Frame: 703238
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 1.30
TimeDemo Play Ended, (3 Runs Performed)
 

Grant64330

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
hell
System Name Chuck Norris's cousins' friends' uncles secret gun
Processor Phenom 9500
Motherboard Asus M3A
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Memory 6gb PC6400
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 3870
Storage 400gb 7200rpm 32mb cache WD
Display(s) Acer 20" 1280x1024
Case (no clue, offbrand or somethin XD)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 700w "Rocketfish"
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark 06-9227
#19
meh on that test, i average around 12 or 13fps... id take the test and post it right now but its 5:00am so maybe tomorrow...anyways i might RMA it lol, performance is HORRIBLE on just about everything...ffs i get better fps on COD4 than cs:s (i average 25 fps on it..:wtf:) it might be visiontek for all i know, they are a pretty small company and ive heard of cards like mine having problems because of the factory OC that comes with it :mad:(777mhz to 800 core OC and around 1100 to 1200 RAM OC...) even considering that, im very dissapointed with ATI and whoever else made my card...you expect them to get it right when you pay them over $200 just for a graphics card:ohwell:... :( for ati (although no matter what, id always buy 4870 x2 instead of an overpriced geforce gtx 280 anyday:respect:)
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,526 (0.73/day)
Likes
507
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#20
there really isnt such a thing as bottlenecking, rather it is CPU scaling, happens with any setup.
dont forget that crysis runs with the command line c:\program files\EA Games\Crytek\Crysis.exe -shitlist radeon
+1 and thank you. I think that you put end to this bottlenecking thing.
"rather it is CPU scaling"
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#21
meh on that test, i average around 12 or 13fps... id take the test and post it right now but its 5:00am so maybe tomorrow...anyways i might RMA it lol, performance is HORRIBLE on just about everything...ffs i get better fps on COD4 than cs:s (i average 25 fps on it..:wtf:) it might be visiontek for all i know, they are a pretty small company and ive heard of cards like mine having problems because of the factory OC that comes with it :mad:(777mhz to 800 core OC and around 1100 to 1200 RAM OC...) even considering that, im very dissapointed with ATI and whoever else made my card...you expect them to get it right when you pay them over $200 just for a graphics card:ohwell:... :( for ati (although no matter what, id always buy 4870 x2 instead of an overpriced geforce gtx 280 anyday:respect:)
Your problem is not hardware related, its software related. e.g. drivers, bad user configurations, unwanted services etc. I didn't read your previous posts, but I would advise that you do a fresh re-format of windows if you haven't already.


My system is weaker than yours AMD Athlon 3800 X2+ @ 2.8 GHz with 9600 GT.

I'm capable of playing COD:WAW at a frame rate between 65 FPS - 90 FPS with full graphics, 4x AA, 8x AF, 1440x900. CSS should achieve better FPS.

Throwing more money at the issue isn't the way forward, buying a ATI 4870 X2 may fix your issue but its money wasted as you shouldn't have this issue anyways. Likewise RMA'ing the video card isn't fixing the issue at hand.
 
Last edited:

Grant64330

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
hell
System Name Chuck Norris's cousins' friends' uncles secret gun
Processor Phenom 9500
Motherboard Asus M3A
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Memory 6gb PC6400
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 3870
Storage 400gb 7200rpm 32mb cache WD
Display(s) Acer 20" 1280x1024
Case (no clue, offbrand or somethin XD)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 700w "Rocketfish"
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark 06-9227
#22
just ran the benchmark, check out this bs: (my VERY old nvidia geforce 8600gs could probably do better than this-i am speechless)

2/1/2009 6:46:40 PM - Vista 64
Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
DX10 800x600, AA=No AA, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
Demo Loops=3, Time Of Day= 9
Global Game Quality: Low
==============================================================
TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
Play Time: 202.24s, Average FPS: 9.89
Min FPS: 2.91 at frame 245, Max FPS: 19.99 at frame 1633
Average Tri/Sec: 10603104, Tri/Frame: 1072187
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 0.85
!TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
Play Time: 154.75s, Average FPS: 12.92
Min FPS: 1.71 at frame 1946, Max FPS: 19.99 at frame 1633
Average Tri/Sec: -13752102, Tri/Frame: -1064043
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -0.86
!TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
Play Time: 152.29s, Average FPS: 13.13
Min FPS: 1.71 at frame 1946, Max FPS: 19.99 at frame 1633
Average Tri/Sec: -14043560, Tri/Frame: -1069347
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -0.86
TimeDemo Play Ended, (3 Runs Performed)
==============================================================

Completed All Tests

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>>--SUMMARY--<<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

2/1/2009 6:46:40 PM - Vista 64

Run #1- DX10 800x600 AA=No AA, 32 bit test, Quality: Low ~~ Overall Average FPS: 13.025
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#23
Grant64330,


I'm speechless.

This proves that your CPU is fine, it isn't bottlenecking you :)

Your ATI 3870 is definitely faulty, if you can get your money back I'd advise that you buy a cheap ATI 4380 for $99 or a 4850 for $150.

The Nvidia equivalent would be the 9800 GTX+ which is about $150 ish.


Edit:

What score do you get in 3Dmark 06 with the ATI 3870 and Nvidia 8600GS?

http://www.futuremark.com/benchmarks/3dmark06/download/
 

Grant64330

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
hell
System Name Chuck Norris's cousins' friends' uncles secret gun
Processor Phenom 9500
Motherboard Asus M3A
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Memory 6gb PC6400
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 3870
Storage 400gb 7200rpm 32mb cache WD
Display(s) Acer 20" 1280x1024
Case (no clue, offbrand or somethin XD)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 700w "Rocketfish"
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark 06-9227
#24

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#25
i got 3dmark 06....my score is 87413dmarks at no AA, 1280x1024, optimal graphics settings...honestly =(

(im gonna upload a photo of all teh settings to photobucket, give me a min XD)
If you ran it at default settings, no need for images as I know the default parameters. I only run it at default so I can get a good comparison.

A score of 8741 for the ATI 3870 isn't bad. Its a average score. I score around 9,000 with my 9600 GT which is only slightly faster than your 3870, so your on track :)

No doubt with a slight overclock of your AMD Phenom 9500 you could get over 10k easily. (not saying you are bottlenecked because you are not!)
 
Last edited: