• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my laptop gpu dying? How can I check (3070 mobile)

lukastaves

The weirdest thing happened yesterday. Deathloop came to gamepass, I started playing it on my laptop. With DLSS performance could get everything cranked up, +raytracing upscaling to 4k and achieving around 60fps. The only setting I had to tune down a notch was texture quality, because with that I was getting some eventual stutters, and preferred to have a smoother experience.

I was playing for around 2 hours straight then I started getting hdmi flickers, not like the gpu was corrupting, the tv would turn off hdr mode and then turn immediately back on. It started being spaced out, but then becoming really annoying, happening all the time, and eventually the game crashed. I tried opening it up straight away after that and it crashed in less than 5 minutes again. So I rebooted, reconnected everything to make sure it was not lose and tried again.

Now with the exact settings I was playing the game becomes unplayable, not low fps unplayable, like literally running at 1fps and lower. At first I thought that due the crash some setting was modified, and it returned back to using more memory, but I checked and it was the latest settings I had. I tried changing a few stuff and it seems like wherever settings gets me down to 6.5GB usage the gpu works great as expected. If I go above that it becomes a slide show again, and the sluggishness seems related to memory operations too. if I stay still in one spot framerate goes back up, I move a few steps and slows down to less than 1fps again until eventually gets back up.