1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my PSU Enough for an upgrade

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by berwick53, Dec 20, 2008.

  1. berwick53 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    107 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    hi currently i have a OCZ ModxStream Power Supply 450W powering

    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 6000 X2 Dual Core
    Motherboard: GA-M57SLI-S4
    RAM: 2X (OCZ 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 CL 4-4-4-15) so 4gb overall
    HDD: 1 X 320gb SATA II and a 250gb SATA II
    Drives: 1 X Lightscribe RW and a DVD/RW both IDE
    Floppy: one normal
    PCI Devices: 1 x belkin wireless G card
    GFX Card: XFX 8600GT

    but i would like to know whether it could power a Radeon HD 4870 1GB DDR5

    http://www.dabs.com/productview.asp...Mode=1&NavigationKey=11137,43990000,422800000

    Thanks Berwick53
     
  2. lollerskater69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    395 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    OCZ is a good brand and it will power it, but for added saftey and futureproofing it would be nice to get another PSU. But if you can't afford another one, that PSU you have should power one 4870 should run it fine. I have my own 4870 on a 450 watt and it powers mine fine with a Q6600, but I don't entirely suggest it.

    Just make sure you have two PCI-E 6pin connectors.
     
    berwick53 says thanks.
  3. berwick53 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    107 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    so i could get 1 molex to PCI 6pin cable and it would work fine
     
  4. lollerskater69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    395 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    you need two for the 4870
     
  5. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    I think its pushing it but i cant find the ocz 450w modstream, The closest i can find is the 400w and that has 31amps over two 12v rails, The standard requirements are 500w for the HD4870, but im unsure what the minimum required amps are for the card + system.
     
  6. berwick53 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    107 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    thanks for the help
     
  7. berwick53 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    107 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    this is my PSU
    [​IMG]
     
  8. lollerskater69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    395 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    yes you should be fine. A 4870 takes about 18 amps on full load.
     
    Gam'ster says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)