• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Is my PSU to weak?

Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
#1
Hi there guys! :toast:

I upgraded my system a while ago and I was wondering if my PSU is slowing down my computer, especially slowing my graphicscard.
I get some pretty bad performance in both new and old games.
For example my 3DMark'06 score, with my setup it should be around 10.500 points, but what I get is just 6558.
The CPU score is just what it should, but my graphicscard score is way too low.
Also my computer freezes when I connect a portable harddisk, or it sometimes just shutsdown and I have to reset the PSU using the power switch on the PSU.
Overheating is not it, I think everything part is at an very acceptable temperature!
from Everest: CPU max seen at 45 after some games, and graphicscard never seen above 75 degrees celcius.

www.antec.com/specs/SP500_spe.html

My setup:
Antec Smartpower 500watt
Sapphire Radeon HD 2900 XT
AMD X2 6000+
2GB DDR2
MSI K9A Platinum mainboard
Thermaltake MaxOrb
Hauppauge PVR-350 pci tv-card
Western Digital 7200rpm 250gb S-ATA hdd
2 NEC DVD/CD writers
1 floppy drive
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,523 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,156
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,523 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,156
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#4
that would prob. be better for you than the corosair since it has 8-pin
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#6
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
215 (0.06/day)
Likes
25
Location
Southern Arizona, USA
System Name Home/Work/Home
Processor Dual Xeon 5570 / Core i5-2.6Ghz / Dell Vostro 410 Xeon L5430
Motherboard Lenovo D20 / Dell 4110 / Vostro 410 G33 based
Cooling stock / stock / stock
Memory 12Gb / 4Gb / 4Gb
Video Card(s) 9800GT 512 / HD3000 / 9800GT 512 PCIE
Storage Geez Louise - a whole bunch !
Display(s) CRT Phillips Brilliance 204P
Case EATX / Laptop / Glorious Dell Vostro 410
Audio Device(s) stock / stock / stock
Power Supply stock / stock / stock
Mouse Zowie, is there another?
Keyboard Awesome Dell Natural (by Microsoft)
Software W2K3 Svr / W2K3 Svr
Benchmark Scores Alot / not so much / Working on it
#8
Wait a minute....How long have you run that PS?

How long have you run that PS?

You may need to clean it out thoroughly - if it has dust buildup.

Does it have the 6 PIN PCI-E connector?...Or are you using an adapter?

If you use an adapter, make sure there are no other components on the same cable.:toast:

Regards,
jtleon
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
#9
How long have you run that PS?

You may need to clean it out thoroughly - if it has dust buildup.

Does it have the 6 PIN PCI-E connector?...Or are you using an adapter?

If you use an adapter, make sure there are no other components on the same cable.:toast:

Regards,
jtleon
About one and a half years.

I did that when I was upgrading my computer one week ago! :D

It has one 6 PIN PCI-E connector from the psu, and the other 6 pin is a adapter coming from molex's.

Hmmm..the cable where the adapter is on is also connected to the 4 pin molex plug on the mainboard and the harddisk :p

But anyway, I think my psu cant produce enough amps on the 12v for my videocard one way or another
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#11
if it says about 550 the it might be a good idea to bought a 650-700watt just to be sure

hd2900 is a power hog