• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Is my Q6600 dying?

Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#26
they actually do. I de-IHS'd a lot of my CPU's, and there was always reports of certain CPU's being soldered on. A quick google oughta find you results on it.
Ah, I think we could be stuck in the symantics. I had understood your use of the term "solder" to mean the solder used for mounting electrical components, like CPUs, resistors, capacitors, etc. Both the metal and the material: typical melting point 180-250°c.

Whereas, the IHS thermal attachment method we see on CPUs or other components with IHS, can be using one of two methods:

1./ Adhesive TIM, similar to those heatsinks you see on PCBs that are not attached via clips but "glued" to the chip. The adhesive can soften or indeed melt at higher temperatures.
2./ Indium foil. It is a thin sheet of metal (foil) that is inserted between the die and the IHS and is a low-temperature, controlled thickness material, used for thermal attachment.

However, the point still stands, that if the CPU is so hot as to melt the thermal attachement materials, the temperature is probably high enough to damage the CPU (first) rather than just melting the TAM, reducing the cooling ability, so that overclocks are lower.

I span the google machine and found this: http://www.indium.com/blogs/TIM-Blog/Indium-Foil-a-Thermal-Interface-Material/20081003,27,2938/ . Lots of interesting reads on the site.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#27
most motherboards wont overclock as far with 4 ram slots filled compered to 2 ram slots filled. so u might have to lower your overclock to use all 8gb of ram u have.

another point is if the chip has been overclocked for that long it might have degraded to the point that you will have to lower the overclock to make it stable.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#28
Semantics + symantec? you got nortons on the brain!

But yeah at least we got the point across. without any way to test what material they actually USE, its a common beliefs that its some form of solder.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
2,749 (0.77/day)
Likes
1,710
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX200 500GB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#29
I got it back to 3.6GHz stable and sound!

I spent several nights tweaking the settings. I finally found out that by lower DRAM to 800 I could make it last a little longer. After turning off some mem related options in BIOS. I finally make it back to 3.6GHz. Crysis full load stable for 24*7.

Well, I will not buy from GSkill any more. At least not there cheap modules.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#30
not really. they're stupidly expensive.

I went through that whole phase as well, then i thought: F it, i'll run it at stock til i figure out whats stopping my OC. ANd guess what... no games run any slower, that i can notice.

Give it a shot yourself, lower the clocks and see if you actually NOTICE a difference.
I agree . . .

although, the BUS speed itself can make a ton of difference in regards to system throughput . . .


but, the CPU clock itself doesn't make that drastic of a difference in most games, compared to the stock clock setting
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#31
I got it back to 3.6GHz stable and sound!

I spent several nights tweaking the settings. I finally found out that by lower DRAM to 800 I could make it last a little longer. After turning off some mem related options in BIOS. I finally make it back to 3.6GHz. Crysis full load stable for 24*7.

Well, I will not buy from GSkill any more. At least not there cheap modules.
hmm so yours was ram related? i'll keep that in mind when i clock up again.
(My temps are higher on the new board due to the NB cooler not letting me face the CPU cooler the way i want, running 3GHz atm)
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#32
another thought to keep in mind - if you've replaced the factory TIM and gone with AS5 or otherwise . . . after a long amount of time, the heat generated from significant OCs will reduce the TIM's ability to effectively transfer heat as well . . . which can drastically reduce the stability of an OC if any of the cores start getting out of hand . . .