• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is pump MOTOR RPM same as PUMP FAN RPM?

Joined
Jul 3, 2021
Messages
60 (2.40/day)
My 360MM ThermalTake Water 3.0 cooler is advertised to have a pump MOTOR SPEED of 3600RPM .. I have it connected to pump fan header on my MSI Z590 ..
MSI motherboard and MSI software both reporting that my pump fan MAX RPM is at 1820RPM .. isn't supposed to be 3600RPM for the pump? or is that different?
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
286 (0.47/day)
Location
Taiwan
Processor i5-9600K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5
Memory Micron Ballistix Sports LT 3000 8G*4
Video Card(s) MSI 2070 Ventus
Storage Adata SX6000 Pro 512G
Display(s) Gigabyte M32Q
Case Phanteks Eclipse P350X
Audio Device(s) Edifier C3X
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex Gold 650W
Mouse Razer Basilisk Essensial
Keyboard Ducky ONE Horizon
It should be reporting the fan RPM, currently without the software of the pump brand, I don't think any motherboard software would report any kind of pump speeds.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2021
Messages
60 (2.40/day)
It should be reporting the fan RPM, currently without the software of the pump brand, I don't think any motherboard software would report any kind of pump speeds.
Yes MSI software is reporting it .. also there is not Thermaltake software just for the cooler !!
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
338 (0.14/day)
Processor i7-3700K
Motherboard asus z77 pro-v
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ddr3-1866
Video Card(s) 980TI SC+
Storage PNY 1311 240Gb ssd, 1Tb and 3Tb spinners
Case cheap!
Audio Device(s) Recon3D
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G2
Mouse eats cheese
maybe poke around the bios and see if that header is set for silent.


that my shot.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2021
Messages
60 (2.40/day)
maybe poke around the bios and see if that header is set for silent.


that my shot.
LOL not sure what you mean by a header set to silent .. the FAN PUMP is PWM and I'm able to control it with no problem .. at MAX 1820RPM .. even if I set it to DC it goes to max 1820RPM
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
338 (0.14/day)
Processor i7-3700K
Motherboard asus z77 pro-v
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ddr3-1866
Video Card(s) 980TI SC+
Storage PNY 1311 240Gb ssd, 1Tb and 3Tb spinners
Case cheap!
Audio Device(s) Recon3D
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G2
Mouse eats cheese
LOL not sure what you mean by a header set to silent .. the FAN PUMP is PWM and I'm able to control it with no problem .. at MAX 1820RPM .. even if I set it to DC it goes to max 1820RPM
as an example asus board have a few preset for fan header, silent, performance, optimal etc.

though you mentioning the dc/pwm difference, yeah that should hit 3600 in dc mode; 3/4 pin difference (as you know)

it does seem odd that its half the max.

sorry can't be more help. i'm pulling for ya.

E: found a decent review - more indepth for installation than any others-

it may just be fine if its the same motor in 120 (its rated 3Krpms instead of 3.6K but that is a 120 rad and i'm sure for cost it would be for a 120,240/280/360)
The motor speed of the pump is rated at 3000 RPM. The pump is rated at 12VDC with a power input of 3.9W at 12V. The ARGB LED power rating is 1.06W at 5V. Please, note that you would need to multiply the RPM reported in the UEFI/BIOS with 2 to get the effective or true speed due to the bipolar motor.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 3, 2021
Messages
60 (2.40/day)
as an example asus board have a few preset for fan header, silent, performance, optimal etc.

though you mentioning the dc/pwm difference, yeah that should hit 3600 in dc mode; 3/4 pin difference (as you know)

it does seem odd that its half the max.

sorry can't be more help. i'm pulling for ya.

E: found a decent review - more indepth for installation than any others-

it may just be fine if its the same motor in 120 (its rated 3Krpms instead of 3.6K but that is a 120 rad and i'm sure for cost it would be for a 120,240/280/360)
On the same review you sent me look what it says:

"The motor speed of the pump is rated at 3000 RPM. The pump is rated at 12VDC with a power input of 3.9W at 12V. The ARGB LED power rating is 1.06W at 5V. Please, note that you would need to multiply the RPM reported in the UEFI/BIOS with 2 to get the effective or true speed due to the bipolar motor."
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
338 (0.14/day)
Processor i7-3700K
Motherboard asus z77 pro-v
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ddr3-1866
Video Card(s) 980TI SC+
Storage PNY 1311 240Gb ssd, 1Tb and 3Tb spinners
Case cheap!
Audio Device(s) Recon3D
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G2
Mouse eats cheese
yeah it just struck me as odd that the rpm were ~half of the max.

don't know why it got the spidey senses tingling but did. hope that helps.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
614 (3.57/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Pro XT
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) a lot... 6900XTs, 3090s,80s,70s and 60s, almost all Turing and Pascal Cards + a few older ones.
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
AIO Pumps normally have two magnetic sensors inside.
a fan header for example measures them both and the output in software or the bios is double the actual value.

the actual RPM measured inside the AIO itself is 1800.
an example with a h150i:
Screenshot_1.png
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2021
Messages
60 (2.40/day)
AIO Pumps normally have two magnetic sensors inside.
a fan header for example measures them both and the output in software or the bios is double the actual value.

the actual RPM measured inside the AIO itself is 1800.
an example with a h150i:
View attachment 209171
don't get ur answer to be honest , so is it normal to be showing 1/2 the number?
 

Attachments

  • Untitled.jpg
    Untitled.jpg
    88.7 KB · Views: 6
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
614 (3.57/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Pro XT
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) a lot... 6900XTs, 3090s,80s,70s and 60s, almost all Turing and Pascal Cards + a few older ones.
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
don't get ur answer to be honest , so is it normal to be showing 1/2 the number?
tl;dr
Yes. that's normal.

the RPM inside the AIO is measured on two points not one one.
so one full rotation is measured twice.
a pump or fan header on the motherboard just "counts" without taking this into account.

so a motherboard header counts double the actual RPM of an aio Pump.
some Pump Headers are able to differentiate this.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2021
Messages
60 (2.40/day)
tl;dr
Yes. that's normal.

the RPM inside the AIO is measured on two points not one one.
so one full rotation is measured twice.
a pump or fan header on the motherboard just "counts" without taking this into account.

so a motherboard header counts double the actual RPM of an aio Pump.
some Pump Headers are able to differentiate this.
"
so a motherboard header counts double the actual RPM of an aio Pump.
some Pump Headers are able to differentiate this."

So, if that's that case, It's weird that BIOS / Software don't read the full number ?! does that have to do with using a 3 pin for the pump connector ?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
338 (0.14/day)
Processor i7-3700K
Motherboard asus z77 pro-v
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ddr3-1866
Video Card(s) 980TI SC+
Storage PNY 1311 240Gb ssd, 1Tb and 3Tb spinners
Case cheap!
Audio Device(s) Recon3D
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G2
Mouse eats cheese
if you're using a 3 pin header then its not pwm and the p[ump will run (at least a D5 will) at 100% w/o control.

or i'm reading wrong.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2021
Messages
100 (2.70/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5900X (PBO enabled, no other OC) + Alphacool waterblock
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-I Gaming
Cooling custom loop: 360mm XSPC & 360mm Alphacool radiators, Noctua NF-F12 fans; NF-S12 chassis fans
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4-3600 (no aRGB)
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF Gaming GeForce RTX 3080 OC 10GB + Alphacool waterblock
Storage two fast m.2 SSDs and 4GB SATA SSD (the boot drive is a Sabrent Rocket Plus)
Display(s) LG OLED55C1PUB 4K@120Hz TV
Case Lian-Li O11D Mini
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek chip (AAF driver)
Power Supply SilverStone SX800 SFX-L
Mouse Glorious D Minus
Keyboard Keychron C1 tenkeyless (Gateron Reds)
VR HMD Menlo Park, CA dogchow (Oculus Rift S)
Software Redmond, WA dogchow (Windows 10 Pro, $7 from Keysoff)
Benchmark Scores My system matches standard results. I only use benchmarks to set fan curves. I don't care about the
I have an EVGA AIO that does this as well. The special EVGA AIO software corrects the pump speed by doubling the revolutions. The BIOS does not.

My guess is that this has to do with the bipolar motor design. It is making one revolution with positive polarity and another revolution with negative polarity, hence bipolar. So each full cycle (one positive, one negative) is actually two physical revolutions of the impeller. The pump is reporting the number of cycles to the mobo BIOS not the number of revolutions.

Disclaimer: I am not an electrical engineer. If I'm wrong I'm confident a real EE will correct me shortly.

if you're using a 3 pin header then its not pwm and the p[ump will run (at least a D5 will) at 100% w/o control.

or i'm reading wrong.
It will unless you manually select DC control for that header then the pump speed will be controlled by voltage.

I do this in a couple of builds: 1.) an NZXT H1's built-in AIO pump and 2.) another build with a Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 AIO. I use DC control for the 3-pin AIO pump leads. A 3-pin header will still report back speed.

Pin 1: GND
Pin 2: PWR (+12VDC)
Pin 3: FAN_IN or SENSE (this reports back the speed to the motherboard)
Pin 4: PWM or CONTROL (this will control the fan in PWM mode on a 4-pin device)

In DC Control, the motherboard changes the voltage of the second pin; sending less voltage reduces the motor speed, like a dimmer switch for a lightbulb
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
338 (0.14/day)
Processor i7-3700K
Motherboard asus z77 pro-v
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ddr3-1866
Video Card(s) 980TI SC+
Storage PNY 1311 240Gb ssd, 1Tb and 3Tb spinners
Case cheap!
Audio Device(s) Recon3D
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G2
Mouse eats cheese
I have an EVGA AIO that does this as well. The special EVGA AIO software corrects the pump speed by doubling the revolutions. The BIOS does not.


It will unless you manually select DC control for that header then the pump speed will be controlled by voltage.

I do this in a couple of builds: an NZXT H1's built-in AIO pump and another build with a Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 AIO. I use DC control for the 3-pin AIO pump leads.
yeah sorry. i had it assbackwards from using a 3 pin fan on a 4 pin gpu header (pwm only)

thanks for pointing in that out
 
Top