• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is RAM getting more expensive?

Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,477 (1.54/day)
Likes
1,751
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#51
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
910 (0.57/day)
Likes
280
System Name BlueKnight
Processor Intel Celeron G1610 @ 2.60GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2PH (rev. 1.0)
Memory 1x 4GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz (Kingston KVR13N9S8/4)
Video Card(s) 1x NVIDIA GeForce 9500GT 512MB (Zotac ZT-95TEH2P-FSL)
Storage 1x 160GB (Western Digital WD1600AAJS-75M0A0)
Display(s) 1x 20" 1600x900 (PHILIPS 200VW9FBJ/78)
Case μATX Case (Generic)
Power Supply 300W (Generic)
Software GNU/Linux Mint 17
#52
A VM with 8GB RAM will use 8GB RAM no matter the host OS.
But if you have 9GB, the OS takes 2GB, the other takes 100MB. Linux will make the difference by not using 1.9GB. And you will have 8.9 available against 7GB on rival OS (cannot run your 8GB VM there).

That's the problem. So yea, it can help (A LOT).

It's not exactly true either. There are very light Linux distros but the fancy ones (meaning the big ones) all want 2GB or more.
You do not need all that, that's just useless. Pick a XFCE, LXDE or even a lighter alternative. By using just the core with basic command line, you will have even more RAM to do actual work.

No, the correct is: "You do not want." Simple.

Everything's possible, you just need to want to work.
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,921 (3.36/day)
Likes
5,439
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#53
@Blue-Knight I think we've had this argument before, and it's absolutely pointless. Your precious xubuntu will use more than 100mb if it is avaliable. It is called Dynamic Random Access Memory for a reason you know.

And it is most likely a question of can't. There are several can'ts in computing.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
910 (0.57/day)
Likes
280
System Name BlueKnight
Processor Intel Celeron G1610 @ 2.60GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2PH (rev. 1.0)
Memory 1x 4GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz (Kingston KVR13N9S8/4)
Video Card(s) 1x NVIDIA GeForce 9500GT 512MB (Zotac ZT-95TEH2P-FSL)
Storage 1x 160GB (Western Digital WD1600AAJS-75M0A0)
Display(s) 1x 20" 1600x900 (PHILIPS 200VW9FBJ/78)
Case μATX Case (Generic)
Power Supply 300W (Generic)
Software GNU/Linux Mint 17
#54
Your precious xubuntu will use more than 100mb if it is avaliable.
It depends... With the windows manager running it uses 260MB-300MB. With just the core, basic command line it uses ~50-80MB. And that's because I have a lot of system applications running.

There are several can'ts in computing.
Only if your client or company puts that limitation. Otherwise, nothing will prevent you from running other OS, you just need to have a compatible CPU.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,224 (0.92/day)
Likes
2,008
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K / 4.8 GHz @ 1.2V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE + Prolimatech MK-13 / Thermalright TY143 / Corsair SP-120L / Yate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 OC 2GB
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Microsoft Basic Optical Mouse, Corsair MM600, Inateck 900x300 mouse mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key
Software Win7 Pro 64 (Installed on Coffee Lake using PS/2 Emulation mode)
#55
Eventually the consumer won't pay beyond a certain range. However at the current range, its inelastic though its probably close to the maximum anyone is willing to pay.

Its inelastic when the price goes up or down with no change in demand, its probably still in the inelastic range.

Ram was probably underpriced, at 2012 levels, in relationship to demand, if the shelves are being cleared presently despite higher prices. I paid $60 for my 2x8 GB Hyper X kit December 2012 and its currently $160 now.

My theory is that consumers realize no value beyond 8 GB of ram, and $60 gets you a unit of [performance computer ram], $60 is how much the average budget builder allocates for their ram, therefore as long as 8 GB or greater is $60 they can get away with higher prices.

The same thing has happened with oil, rumors of shortage and several spills, production issues, etc raised the price at the pump from $2/gallon to $5/gallon, since then we have had plenty of oil available in the United States, and record recent domestic production of oil, but oil prices remain around $4.00/gallon. Consumers are willing to pay that much for oil, probably more.

Source on gas:

http://www.eia.gov/dnav/pet/hist/LeafHandler.ashx?n=PET&s=MCRFPUS1&f=A

and

http://www.eia.gov/dnav/pet/hist/LeafHandler.ashx?f=W&n=PET&s=EMM_EPMR_PTE_NUS_DPG
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
910 (0.57/day)
Likes
280
System Name BlueKnight
Processor Intel Celeron G1610 @ 2.60GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2PH (rev. 1.0)
Memory 1x 4GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz (Kingston KVR13N9S8/4)
Video Card(s) 1x NVIDIA GeForce 9500GT 512MB (Zotac ZT-95TEH2P-FSL)
Storage 1x 160GB (Western Digital WD1600AAJS-75M0A0)
Display(s) 1x 20" 1600x900 (PHILIPS 200VW9FBJ/78)
Case μATX Case (Generic)
Power Supply 300W (Generic)
Software GNU/Linux Mint 17
#56
$60 is how much the average budget builder allocates, therefore as long as 8 GB or greater is $60 they can get away with higher prices.
That's true! I paid $55 for 4GB of ordinary, cheapest DDR3 RAM.

Now if you are paying $60 for 8GB, you are in a paradise. I would put 16GB if I could get such low price.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,921 (3.36/day)
Likes
5,439
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#57
Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz 8GB



Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz 4GB



From here, prices in SEK. Now might be time to get that 4GB stick I need...
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.56/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#58
I'm kicking myself for not getting 16GB of RAM way back when I put my rig together.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,800 (2.11/day)
Likes
4,132
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T/ Xeon E3-1290 / Dual Xeon X5675's
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming / Asus Sabertooth Z77 / GIGABYTE GA-7TESM
Cooling TRUE 120 / Deep Cool Assassin / Stock
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 / Samsung Reg - 24GB DDR3 Hexa-Channel
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music / X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1/ EVGA SuperNOVA 750
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#59
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,477 (1.54/day)
Likes
1,751
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#60
@Blue-Knight I think we've had this argument before, and it's absolutely pointless. Your precious xubuntu will use more than 100mb if it is avaliable. It is called Dynamic Random Access Memory for a reason you know.

And it is most likely a question of can't. There are several can'ts in computing.
Yep. I got software that WONT work in wine on linux and would break license terms as well. I also have several windows applications I rely on that don't have linux versions. Most of the beta software I test is windows only and NO WINE is allowed for the test.

Also Linux is really only got for web servers and not really a good desktop OS.

It depends... With the windows manager running it uses 260MB-300MB. With just the core, basic command line it uses ~50-80MB. And that's because I have a lot of system applications running.


Only if your client or company puts that limitation. Otherwise, nothing will prevent you from running other OS, you just need to have a compatible CPU.
See above.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
910 (0.57/day)
Likes
280
System Name BlueKnight
Processor Intel Celeron G1610 @ 2.60GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2PH (rev. 1.0)
Memory 1x 4GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz (Kingston KVR13N9S8/4)
Video Card(s) 1x NVIDIA GeForce 9500GT 512MB (Zotac ZT-95TEH2P-FSL)
Storage 1x 160GB (Western Digital WD1600AAJS-75M0A0)
Display(s) 1x 20" 1600x900 (PHILIPS 200VW9FBJ/78)
Case μATX Case (Generic)
Power Supply 300W (Generic)
Software GNU/Linux Mint 17
#61
Also Linux is really only got for web servers and not really a good desktop OS.
That's your opinion (and far from truth, in my opinion).

Yep. I got software that WONT work in wine on linux and would break license terms as well. I also have several windows applications I rely on that don't have linux versions. Most of the beta software I test is windows only and NO WINE is allowed for the test.
Ah, I understand. You are not free, you are a slave (so you can't choose). If the software is not available to other OS just recreate yourself or find an alternative (as I said, you have to work).

You can still free yourself... These proprietary companies always contaminating naive users... Shame on them.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,477 (1.54/day)
Likes
1,751
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#62
Linux sound servers have issues, Lots of the hardware I have has driver issues, the media players suck on linux, GPU drivers are broken.,,, etc.


Uhhhh who said anything about being a slave? really. That escalated quickly.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
910 (0.57/day)
Likes
280
System Name BlueKnight
Processor Intel Celeron G1610 @ 2.60GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2PH (rev. 1.0)
Memory 1x 4GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz (Kingston KVR13N9S8/4)
Video Card(s) 1x NVIDIA GeForce 9500GT 512MB (Zotac ZT-95TEH2P-FSL)
Storage 1x 160GB (Western Digital WD1600AAJS-75M0A0)
Display(s) 1x 20" 1600x900 (PHILIPS 200VW9FBJ/78)
Case μATX Case (Generic)
Power Supply 300W (Generic)
Software GNU/Linux Mint 17
#63
remixedcat, continue to elude yourself.

I am leaving this topic because I do not want to get banned from another forum.

Happy New Year!
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,477 (1.54/day)
Likes
1,751
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#64
What???? You're definitly jumping the gun here. STOP IT.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,663 (1.27/day)
Likes
1,013
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#65
Ah, I understand. You are not free, you are a slave (so you can't choose). If the software is not available to other OS just recreate yourself or find an alternative (as I said, you have to work). You can still free yourself... These proprietary companies always contaminating naive users... Shame on them.
The fuck?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
25 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Processor Intel i5 Quad Core @ 3.1GHz.
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Fan
Memory XMS3 DDR3 8GB (2x4GB)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 610
Storage 500 GB Seagate Hard Drive
Case Blue Mars LED Case
Power Supply 500W
Software Windows 7
Benchmark Scores 7.5 CPU 7.9 RAM 6.4 Gaming Graphics 5.9 Hard Drive
#66
I bought my XMS3 DDR3 2x4GB RAM for about £24. (roughly $40). They are now at an insane £80+ (roughly $130). I can't believe this, i bought my RAM about 14 months ago, a little over a year. Why have they shot up so much since?! Maybe it is what people are saying, about DDR4.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,489 (3.47/day)
Likes
7,255
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
8,524 (2.19/day)
Likes
7,529
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 5.0 GHz All-Core + Uncore AVX Offset 0
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ DDR4-3300 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Titan XP Star Wars Collectors Edition (Galactic Empire)
Storage HGST UltraStar 7k6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 14625:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/15253894 TS 10496:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3557134
#68
Seriously. I'd say Richard Stallman posted that if I didn't know better.

I love Linux, but sometimes, you can love something too much... Saying people who don't choose what you choose are slaves is pretty much mind slavery of it's own sort. Don't drink the koolaid, yo.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,477 (1.54/day)
Likes
1,751
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#69
Holy feck in the neck!!!! DDR2 800 sticks are freakin expensive! For the hubby's compy he needs 8GB and it will cost 160USD! Riiiip Offfff!!!