• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is that somehow possible to use Core i7 - 10700F CPU at 4.8 GHz all-core?

MonsterMMORPG

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
5 (0.09/day)
Today my new CPU arrived and thankfully it is working

It is working stable at 4.6 GHZ all core

But can I use it at higher clocks somehow?

I have MSI MAG B460M MORTAR motherboard

NOCTUA NH-D14 Cooler

CPU-z benchmark : https://valid.x86.fr/qcpqqr

r/overclocking - Is that somehow possible to use Core i7 - 10700F CPU at 4.8 GHZ all core?

r/overclocking - Is that somehow possible to use Core i7 - 10700F CPU at 4.8 GHZ all core?

r/overclocking - Is that somehow possible to use Core i7 - 10700F CPU at 4.8 GHZ all core?
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,944 (2.78/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Sure if its unlocked and the board lets you. Might have an option to bump up the BCLK a wee bit but I personally wouldn't with those temps.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
156 (0.36/day)
Location
Taiwan
Processor i5-9600K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
Cooling Custom loop water cooling
Memory Micron Ballistix Sports LT 3000 8G*4
Video Card(s) MSI 2070 Ventus
Storage Adata SX6000 Pro 512G
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR A
Case Phanteks Eclipse P350X
Audio Device(s) Edifier C3X
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex Gold 650W
Mouse Razer Basilisk Essensial
Keyboard Ducky ONE Horizon
Your mobo and your CPU doesn't allow that.
If you wanna overclock, buy an unlocked CPU with a Z motherboard.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,803 (4.72/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
So I can not modify base clock? I would like to try 101 instead of 100
If your Motherboard's Bios allows it, you should be able to go to 103MHz.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
10,975 (1.99/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
I have failed to find base clock changing in bios

so mb is not allowing or I am not able to search good enough?

To set a higher multiplier and sync all cores you'll need an unlocked (K) CPU and a Z motherboard.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
981 (0.28/day)
Location
I.SO
System Name Single Shot Refresh
Processor 9700K
Motherboard Z390 Srtix E
Cooling EK CPU + GPU Hardline
Memory 2x8GB Gskill Royal
Video Card(s) RTX 2080Ti
Storage M.2 970 Evo 1GB
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Asus Gladius
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
Benchmark Scores It Chops : )
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
12,021 (4.35/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
So I can not modify base clock? I would like to try 101 instead of 100
You should be able to do that. Chances are you can get up to 105mhz bclk stable with that board. But realistically, anything above that will be up to silicon lottery.

You might need to update your BIOS, but if you are having problems finding the setting, either it's not there at all or you have not found the right menu. Either way, it's very likely time to find someone with know-how to help you out hands-on.
 

MonsterMMORPG

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
5 (0.09/day)
It seems like my motherboard with combination of 10700f doesn't support base clock changing

it is grayed out here too

1606911841408.png
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
981 (0.28/day)
Location
I.SO
System Name Single Shot Refresh
Processor 9700K
Motherboard Z390 Srtix E
Cooling EK CPU + GPU Hardline
Memory 2x8GB Gskill Royal
Video Card(s) RTX 2080Ti
Storage M.2 970 Evo 1GB
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Asus Gladius
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
Benchmark Scores It Chops : )
TBH mate even if you could change your base clock you would be lucky to get over 100MHz so probably not worth the hassle.

If you feel like tinkering, have a go at tightening your memory timings if you are able to do so in the bios.

If you have never done anything like this, maybe do some reading up on it first before attempting to do so.

Cheers.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,277 (1.72/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Chernobyl
Processor 10850K @ 5.1 VB / 5.0 > 75C 24/7
Motherboard MSI 490-A PRO
Cooling 280mm mini waterloop
Memory 32 GB 4200 Mhz DDR4 18-19-19-38-440 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080
Storage 3x1TB SSDs, 2TB SSD
Display(s) LG 49NANO85 - 49" 4K 120HZ NanoIPS
Case Metallicgear Neo Silver
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard Penclic C3
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
can you OC the cache frequency?

Also putting all your boost settings to max will help.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,803 (4.72/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit

MonsterMMORPG

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
5 (0.09/day)
I don't see the base clock in that XTU screenshot.
I do see undervolting and multipliers are greyed out.


4.6 is max boost for that Processor.

I think the reference clock is base clock displayed as 100.000 MHz
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,803 (4.72/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I think the reference clock is base clock displayed as 100.000 MHz
oops, I missed that detail in the corner.
Have you tried installing Throttlestop to see if the FIVR is locked, that would mean a Bios update might unlock it, so base clock can be changed.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,944 (2.78/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,277 (1.72/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Chernobyl
Processor 10850K @ 5.1 VB / 5.0 > 75C 24/7
Motherboard MSI 490-A PRO
Cooling 280mm mini waterloop
Memory 32 GB 4200 Mhz DDR4 18-19-19-38-440 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080
Storage 3x1TB SSDs, 2TB SSD
Display(s) LG 49NANO85 - 49" 4K 120HZ NanoIPS
Case Metallicgear Neo Silver
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard Penclic C3
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
I don't see the base clock in that XTU screenshot.
I do see undervolting and multipliers are greyed out.


4.6 is max boost for that Processor.

1606918448443.png


^ i meant those settings.

Locked processors overclocking is largely removing the boost caps set by default. Putting power profile to max, OCing memory timings and cache etc. The majority of the benefits will come just from ensuring that it stays at boost always and tuning ram timings.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,803 (4.72/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,277 (1.72/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Chernobyl
Processor 10850K @ 5.1 VB / 5.0 > 75C 24/7
Motherboard MSI 490-A PRO
Cooling 280mm mini waterloop
Memory 32 GB 4200 Mhz DDR4 18-19-19-38-440 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080
Storage 3x1TB SSDs, 2TB SSD
Display(s) LG 49NANO85 - 49" 4K 120HZ NanoIPS
Case Metallicgear Neo Silver
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard Penclic C3
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,803 (4.72/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Yes but my reply to quoting you was relevant to what you said.
You quote me and go off on a tangent about something else.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,277 (1.72/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Chernobyl
Processor 10850K @ 5.1 VB / 5.0 > 75C 24/7
Motherboard MSI 490-A PRO
Cooling 280mm mini waterloop
Memory 32 GB 4200 Mhz DDR4 18-19-19-38-440 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080
Storage 3x1TB SSDs, 2TB SSD
Display(s) LG 49NANO85 - 49" 4K 120HZ NanoIPS
Case Metallicgear Neo Silver
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard Penclic C3
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Yes but my reply to quoting you was relevant to what you said.
You quote me and go off on a tangent about something else.

I quoted you because you misunderstood what boost settings I was talking about, and the bottom line was... talking more about boost settings.

Sorry if it confused you...

In any case it doesn't matter -- I hope your day goes better.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,301 (4.77/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
Locked cpu, locked chipset.

If you can't adjust the bclk from the bios, you're stuck at stock. As was said, buy an unlocked cpu and a board that supports overclocking if you want to do it. :)
 
Top