1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

is the fx-60 as far as amd will go with socket 939?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Easy Rhino, Jan 15, 2007.

  1. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,356 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,304
    so like the title asks, is the fx-60 it????? or is there a higher clocked cpu out there for the 939 i dont know about?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,956 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    Portugal
    fx-60 is probabily it, the opty clocks very well too
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,356 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,304
    but from what ive heard the fx-60 has the multi completely unlocked so it has amazing overclock potential. plus the 2000HT.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,956 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    Portugal
    more ht don't give you more performance ;)
    the good thing about the fx-60 are the unlocked multis :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    yeh it is the fastest stock cpu on 939!!

    but the 170 or 165 also clock up2 3.2 but the the fx-60 i have seen them at 3.4, all depends on cooling and stepping!!! have a look on google for that there loads out there!!!

    wish there was more 939, i dont want to change to am2!!!infact i wont untill i can see a reason ie performance gain!!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,356 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,304

    i still dont see how that more HT doesnt give more performance. its moving information faster than the 1000HT chips correct? if its not then whats the point of allowing 2000 HT ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,956 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    Portugal
    nop, the ht normal use is about 600/700 tops, mine is set at 1600 and i don't see any difference from 1000
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,356 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,304

    so i should only buy the FX-60 for the unlocked multi then i guess...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,956 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    Portugal
    i guess it's worth the extra unlocked multi
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    11,069 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,184
    It is if I had unlocked multipliers I could Go over 3.0 Ghz
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,356 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,304
    well with 2000HT the overclocking potential is even greater since you can decrease the HT far more than with a 1000HT
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,237 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Socket 939 is also a dead socket...Might be good to get the best chip. Once supply dries up, supply and demand says the price will go up.

    Or you might say the hell with it. Socket 754 is set to outlast 939, and who wants to move backwards?

    At least AM2 will be compatible for another year or two (Thought I read somewhere AMD was sticking with AM2 for quite a while...)

    Keep that in mind.

    'Ocre
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,085
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I explained this a bit in my Beginner's Guide to Overclocking post, but HyperTransport is the link between your CPU, Memory, Chipset, etc.. HyperTransport took over the job of FSB, which finally became too slow for today's modern systems.

    The analogy I like to use is that your HT link is like a highway. Lets say you have four lanes on the highway and at any given time, you can expect to find a maximum of three cars. If you add more lanes to the highway (via overclocking the HT), it doesn't change anything because you still only have three cars going down at any given time. Pretend now that you have a thousand cars trying to go down the same four lane highway. The cars have to slow down and wait for a lane to open before they can get through. The cars pile up and it takes a while before they can get through. If you were to open more lanes, the cars could take advantage of that and speed things up.

    Another quick example.. Lets say you have 1Mbps internet. That internet is shared across your 100Mbps network. If you changed your network to 1,000Mbps, it's not going to make your internet faster because there wasn't the demand for that much bandwidth in the first place.

    Another quick example.. If you have a 4Ghz Core 2 Duo, but you only use it to surf the web, you have the potential to go fast, but not the need for it.

    Theoretically, one could argue that the increased speed would mean that the data would move faster, but it hasn't been proven in any real-world applications.

    (AMD's HyperTransport is Intel's "QuadPumped FSB" [and vice versa])
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,356 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,304
    and i undestand this. but still to overclock you decrease the HT which of course doesnt have much impact on performance. however with 2000HT you can decrease it even more with absolutely no effect, where with 1000HT if you drop it to 400 to get that extra push you are hurting performance. so there is a difference when overclocking right?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,771 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,313
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    i think you guys are confusing ht with something else.all 939 chips are 2000ht because its double data rate.data passes on the rise and fall of each clock cycle so you its 1000x2=2000...understand?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,085
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I suppose, but it's not very hard to keep my 800HT in it's original range when overclocking. Even then, I can still push 960HT with no problems.

    HT at 3x times 240FSB = 720HT
    HT at (stock) 4x times 240FSB = 960HT
    No big deal..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)