• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is the Intel I225-V Ethernet chip still a buggy piece of...

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
5,149 (3.22/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Street Meat
Processor AMD R7 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-XE
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140 White
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN750 1TB, SN750 500GB, Asus Hyper M.2, 2x Intel 545S 256GB, 1TB Toshiba spinner
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA G+ 750, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
I just pay for gigabit service, I get pretty close to it..

st.PNG
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
18,873 (3.34/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard EVGA X570 FTW Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (4 x 8GB SR Samsung B-Die) @ DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850W T2
Mouse Steelseries Prime Wireless
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 Keyboard with MX Cherry Green Switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Gotta link?
They are on stepping B3 (third respin of the chip). The reasons have been well covered in the media. It's the known chip eratta. Revision B3 is good, anything before that is... questionable at best.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
2,685 (1.24/day)
Location
North East Ohio, USA
System Name My Ryzen 7 7700X Super Computer
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7700X
Motherboard Gigabyte B650 Aorus Elite AX
Cooling DeepCool AK400 (White)
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Flare X5 DDR5 EXPO
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX3060 12GB (https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/d6y4u)
Storage Samsung 980 EVO 1 TB NVMe SSD (System Drive), Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB NVMe SSD (Game Drive)
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV272U (DisplayPort) and Acer Nitro XV270U (DisplayPort)
Case CoolerMaster MasterBox Lite 5 RGB
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply MSI A850GF
Mouse Logitech M705
Keyboard Steelseries
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/liwjs3
Luckily I was able to find a board with a Realtek chip on it as versus an Intel chip for my recent build.
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
11,801 (3.89/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
Processor Ryzen 5600 at 4.7 all core ($130)
Motherboard MSI B550-VC Pro ($109)
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140 ($43)
Memory T-Force Vulcan Z 3200 CL16 4x8GB ($84)
Video Card(s) MSI 6800 XT Trio Z ($540)
Storage Kingston KC3000 1TB ($90)
Display(s) NZXT 27" Canvas 2560x1440 IPS 165hz ($145)
Case Corsair 110q ($60)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 DAC ($100) - Logitech 400w THX 2.1 ($85)
Power Supply Corsair RM 850w Gold ($105)
Mouse Razer Naga X ($40)
Keyboard Anne Pro 2 ($40)
Software Windows 11 ($10)
Benchmark Scores $1,581
Hi,
Yeah my speed is listed as 1200mbps don't believe the nic is able to do that but this is x299 1219v
View attachment 278477

Have to also figure speed is also limited by where ever your downloading from.

I have 1200 down as well, and I get
1674077450515.png
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
10,463 (1.73/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
They are on stepping B3 (third respin of the chip). The reasons have been well covered in the media. It's the known chip eratta. Revision B3 is good, anything before that is... questionable at best.
My point was, even if 100% of a specific product, or product revision are affected with a specific bug, that does not mean 100% of the users of that product are or will be affected by that bug.

In fact, typically, when there is a bug in products that make it past in-house testing and get distributed out into the market, that bug usually affects only a small handful of users in very uncommon scenarios and circumstances.

Surely, especially for the integrated devices, ASUS, MSI, Gigabyte and the other big players did in-house testing on their boards too before releasing them to the market. "IF" this bug affected 100% or even 10% of their boards, they would have stopped production and fixed the issue.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
1,330 (1.73/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
System Name Project Kairi v0.5 (temporary downgrade)
Processor Intel Xeon E5-4669 v3
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-Ultra Gaming rev 1.0
Cooling id-Cooling Frostflow X 360 + Gelid GC-Extreme
Memory 64 GB (4x 16) Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-2133 @ 9-11-11-21 1.35v
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF Gaming OC GeForce RTX 3090 24 GB GDDR6X
Storage WD Green SN350 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung The Frame 2022 32-inch (1080p60)
Case Cooler Master MasterFrame 700
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio (classic)
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2 1.3kW 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed K/DA + Logitech G840 XL K/DA
Keyboard Logitech G Pro K/DA with GX Brown switches
Software Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 22H2
Benchmark Scores Older build pic (with R9 5950X installed): https://i.imgur.com/yxc0HrZ.jpg
The hardware reset bug is specific to the i225 (and seems now the 226 series), the i211, 217 and 218-V or -LM are completely fine.

The higher the data rate the higher are the chances the thing will completely crash. It's seemingly a controller design fault, as even after driver, firmware and hardware revisions the issue still seems to occur every now and then.

My general advice is if you have v1 or v2 hardware and need link stability limit it to Fast Ethernet (100 Mbps) mode and go no higher, gigabit is usually fine but will occasionally lock up on i225-V B2 from my experience. 2.5GbE will cause the earlier revision chips to crash quite often.

My point was, even if 100% of a specific product, or product revision are affected with a specific bug, that does not mean 100% of the users of that product are or will be affected by that bug.

In fact, typically, when there is a bug in products that make it past in-house testing and get distributed out into the market, that bug usually affects only a small handful of users in very uncommon scenarios and circumstances.

Surely, especially for the integrated devices, ASUS, MSI, Gigabyte and the other big players did in-house testing on their boards too before releasing them to the market. "IF" this bug affected 100% or even 10% of their boards, they would have stopped production and fixed the issue.

I'd argue most people don't complain much because they are unaware of the nature of the connection problem and will usually blame their router or something else, in addition to that it requires gigabit or 2.5GbE network (and mostly the latter) to truly manifest itself and that's still a very low amount of market share.

Routers that support only 100Mbps FE are still hilariously common and in widespread use for most places where residential internet access doesn't exceed 100Mb downstream which is most of the world really...
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
10,463 (1.73/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I'd argue most people don't complain much because they are unaware of the nature of the connection problem and will usually blame their router or something else, in addition to that it requires gigabit or 2.5GbE network (and mostly the latter) to truly manifest itself and that's still a very low amount of market share.
You very much just agreed with me. For many, the problem does not affect them. So they are unaware of any bug. And that's fine.

As far as blaming the router - at first, sure - maybe - until they try another router and still have the same problem.

Routers that support only 100Mbps FE are still hilariously common and in widespread use for most places where residential internet access doesn't exceed 100Mb downstream which is most of the world really...
"Hilariously common and in widespread use...most of the world"? Nah! I am sure there are still many out there, no doubt. But routers, switches and NICs that support 1000Mbps (1Gbps) have been the standard for what? 15 years or longer?

I just looked at Newegg, for example, and the filter options on the left only show 10/100/1000Mbps.

Remember, CAT-5e replaced CAT-5 as the standard way back in 2001. And 5e supports up to 1Gbps.

However, I will agree that - at least until recently - most home broadband service maxed out below 100Mbps. But even then, users' local networks (everything on their side of the gateway device - typically the modem) could support much faster speeds.

But that's all OT at this point.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
774 (0.44/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WiFi
Cooling Corsair Hydro H115i
Memory 16Gb CL14 Ripjaws V @3666MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX2070
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus SSD
Display(s) Korean Unbadged
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Audio Device(s) O2 USB Headphone AMP
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G703
Keyboard Crap!
Does anyone here have a link to where you can download firmware updates for the Intel made pcie card with the I225-t1 chip on it? I simply cannot find it anywhere!
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
25 (0.02/day)
Does anyone here have a link to where you can download firmware updates for the Intel made pcie card with the I225-t1 chip on it? I simply cannot find it anywhere!
Your best bet is Station Drivers.

They're your best bet for any driver or firmware actually.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
349 (0.25/day)
Location
Olympia, WA
System Name Sleepy Painter
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus TuF Gaming X570-PLUS/WIFI
Cooling FSP Windale 6 - Passive
Memory 2x16GB F4-3600C16-16GVKC @ 16-19-21-36-58-1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX580 8GB
Storage 2x Samsung PM963 960GB nVME RAID0, Crucial BX500 1TB SATA, WD Blue 3D 2TB SATA
Display(s) Microboard 32" Curved 1080P 144hz VA w/ Freesync
Case NZXT Gamma Classic Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Rosewill 1KW on 240V@60hz
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legend
Keyboard Red Dragon K552
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 2019 LTSC 1809 17763.1757
This thread has destroyed my regrets of not getting an X570 board w/ the I225-V instead of Realtek.

I've had 'similarly symptom'd' problems in years-gone-by on Realtek NICs. I guess 'holding out for (affordable) 10GbE' wasn't the worst choice, I'm just gonna be waiting even longer.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
774 (0.44/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WiFi
Cooling Corsair Hydro H115i
Memory 16Gb CL14 Ripjaws V @3666MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX2070
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus SSD
Display(s) Korean Unbadged
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Audio Device(s) O2 USB Headphone AMP
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G703
Keyboard Crap!
Your best bet is Station Drivers.

They're your best bet for any driver or firmware actually.
That site is a mess now they changed it, and nope, no firmware downloads...

Update: Their firmware page is back, but these are NVM images for inserting into a motherboard BIOS.

My card is an Intel built PCIe card, and I have searched everywhere and simply cannot find a firmware download for it anywhere.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
25 (0.02/day)
You very much just agreed with me. For many, the problem does not affect them. So they are unaware of any bug. And that's fine.



As far as blaming the router - at first, sure - maybe - until they try another router and still have the same problem.





"Hilariously common and in widespread use...most of the world"? Nah! I am sure there are still many out there, no doubt. But routers, switches and NICs that support 1000Mbps (1Gbps) have been the standard for what? 15 years or longer?



I just looked at Newegg, for example, and the filter options on the left only show 10/100/1000Mbps.



Remember, CAT-5e replaced CAT-5 as the standard way back in 2001. And 5e supports up to 1Gbps.



However, I will agree that - at least until recently - most home broadband service maxed out below 100Mbps. But even then, users' local networks (everything on their side of the gateway device - typically the modem) could support much faster speeds.



But that's all OT at this point.

That site is a mess now they changed it, and nope, no firmware downloads...
Ugh, yeah its a bit annoying now.

No one paying for servers and constantly leeching will do that though.
 
Top