• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is there any problem with my 7870 HAWK?

linhdc

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I tested my MSI 7870 HAWK with furmark 1.9.1 and AB graph showed like this:



GPU load was not stable at 100% and jumped back and forth from 63-100%.
Anyone can expain? :confused::confused::confused:
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,445 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,110
#2
It could be over voltage protection or possibly a weak PSU?

Have you tried setting the power setting in CCC to 20%

Have you tried uninstalling and re-installing your video drivers?
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#3
you need to change the user interface of Afterburner to the default MSI to get rid of the 'Shader clock' & view the add options for AMD cards
And 1168 mV is most likly to high for that card reset to stock & move the cor up without increassing the mV & see what happens
look like 1168 mV is stock Core
Clock Clock Memory GPU Voltage(measured)

Desktop 300 MHz 150 MHz 0.86 V
Multi-Monitor 300 MHz 1200 MHz 0.93 V
Blu-ray Playback 1000 MHz 1200 MHz 1.10 V
3D Load 1100 MHz 1200 MHz 1.17 V
 
Last edited:

linhdc

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
It could be over voltage protection or possibly a weak PSU?

Have you tried setting the power setting in CCC to 20%

Have you tried uninstalling and re-installing your video drivers?
you need to change the user interface of Afterburner to the default MSI to get rid of the 'Shader clock' & view the add options for AMD cards
And 1168 mV is most likly to high for that card reset to stock & move the cor up without increassing the mV & see what happens
look like 1168 mV is stock Core
I've tried all of these and still not work. :confused:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,710 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,126
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,682 (3.97/day)
Likes
6,405
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#7
I thought some cards, namely Nvidia though, throttled on furmark. Try running another benchmark like 3dMark 11 and post a ss of those scores.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,022 (0.97/day)
Likes
483
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#8
I thought some cards, namely Nvidia though, throttled on furmark. Try running another benchmark like 3dMark 11 and post a ss of those scores.
Just don't use Furmark with modern cards. Both AMD and nVidia throttles their cards in Furmark.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.12/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#9
Run several loops of Unigine Heaven for stability testing. Post your machine specs.
Furmark has nothing to do with your CPU and no, it shouldn't be any "bottleneck" with the 2400.