• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Is there any way CCC can be higher then 690/800?

Joined
Feb 4, 2006
Messages
214 (0.05/day)
Likes
2
Location
Minneapolis, USA
System Name Sick Wid It
Processor i7 950 @ 4.0 Ghz 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master V8
Memory CORSAIR XMS3 (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5870
Storage WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10,000 RPM
Display(s) Acer X241W -- 24'
Case Antec Twelve Hundred Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum 7.1
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series 850W
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores SuperPI 1M@ - 8.939
#1
Does anyone know if there is any kind of tweaking could be done to Ati CCC so that overclocking will NOT be limited to 690/800?:confused:
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
59 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Utah
Processor E6850 @ 4.05 GHz
Motherboard Abit IP35 Pro
Cooling XP120 Extreme
Memory Ballistix PC8500
Video Card(s) 1900XTX @ 700/840
#2
Why do you want to use overdrive? You can do everything better with Atitool.

As far as your question, no. I don't believe there is anyway for the CCC to go beyond those clocks. Kind of pathetic.
 

Rodster

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
155 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#3
If you guys are referring to ATi's Catalyst Control Center, I think ATi needs a better idea because CCC made me switch to nVidia.

ATi IMO has some fantastic cards that compete with nVidia's best. In the past that was some of ATi's problem 'Drivers'. They got it squared away by making they're products and drivers very stable.

I installed CCC and noticed an immediate dip in system and game performance as well as higher system resources. ATi really needs to re evaluate the direction they are taking with their driver set. CCC looks cool when you bring it but something is very wrong with the new drivers that require CCC.
 

b1lk1

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2005
Messages
688 (0.15/day)
Likes
17
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Money pit
Processor Q2Q Q8300
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 deluxe WIFI AP@N
Cooling 120.2/Swiftech655/Apogee GT/DD Fillport & res
Memory OCZ PC3-1333MHZ 2X1GB/Kingston HYPERX PC3-1325MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4830
Storage Seagate 7200.11 1TB
Display(s) Dell 2209WA
Case some crap 5 year old generic modded case
Audio Device(s) X-FI fagtality
Power Supply PC P&C 510W
Software Vista Premium 64
#4
I have noticed absolutely no system performance loss or problems with CCC. No extra resources are being used and I do not understand how it effects your system that way. Sure sounds like there were underlying problems in your system. Probably just needed to do some windows tweaks and what not. Nvidia drivers are just as buggy. I made the switch back to ATI after running some good Nvidia cards for awhile and while the problems were different, they all have issues. It is too easy to NOT install CCC when installing the drivers, people just don't seem to try. Just click "custom installation" and uncheck CCC from the stuff being installed. CCC is not required and you can use ATI TRAY TOOLS to access the higher functions of the video card. Take the time to learn stuff instead of just installing things blindly.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,807 (0.39/day)
Likes
35
Location
Hamburg
Processor Intel I7 2600k@ 4.5
Motherboard Gigabyte p67 ud4 b3
Cooling AC Cuplex kryos Hf
Memory 8096 Exceleram 1600@ 1333 Cl9 1.35v
Video Card(s) Palit Gtx570@950/1900@1.063v
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 120gb, 2tb Seagate 7200rpm s-ata3
Display(s) Asus 24inch Lcd
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi with Teufel Magnum Power Edition
Power Supply Coolermaster 700W Silent Pro Gold
Software Linux?^^ ;P Windows 7 64bit
#5
i get same frames and scores with omega drivers without ccc and with the ati standard drivers with ccc
i get the same scores so from my point of vies the ccc is pretty cool :D^^
 

Rodster

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
155 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#6
b1lk1 said:
I have noticed absolutely no system performance loss or problems with CCC. No extra resources are being used and I do not understand how it effects your system that way. Sure sounds like there were underlying problems in your system. Probably just needed to do some windows tweaks and what not. Nvidia drivers are just as buggy. I made the switch back to ATI after running some good Nvidia cards for awhile and while the problems were different, they all have issues. It is too easy to NOT install CCC when installing the drivers, people just don't seem to try. Just click "custom installation" and uncheck CCC from the stuff being installed. CCC is not required and you can use ATI TRAY TOOLS to access the higher functions of the video card. Take the time to learn stuff instead of just installing things blindly.
I stand corrected. I guess you should never assume. I was under the impression from ATi that CCC was required so I never even bothered to click on custom install. :eek:

Trust me though I tried ATi drives running CCC with a stripped and tweaked system. I don't take my rig onlie so i'm running SP1a. I disabled most services I don't need at startup. At a cold boot at the desktop my resources jumped from "92meg" drivers prior to v5.11 to "176meg" when I use any driver after v5.12 with CCC.
 

sleepeeg3

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
65 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
It disables most of the functions in game and if you are familiar with system tweaking, the main proggies can be readily disabled. I generally try not to install it though. 5MBs of RAM is still 5MBs of RAM.

My last experience with an nVidia card (BFG 6800GT OC + Silencer) and 5 different drivers was consistent pauses in FarCry. Tried everything rumored to cure the problem and the only way I could get it resolved was too underclock the card. Even reseating the sink did nada and I know my way around goo. Seemed like an all too common problem in FarCry with nVidia cards that I had not heard anything about, until trying it out. None too happy about that. SM3.0 did seem to look better though, despite most reviews showing it not making much of a difference.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,256
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#8
Rodster said:
I stand corrected. I guess you should never assume. I was under the impression from ATi that CCC was required so I never even bothered to click on custom install. :eek:

Trust me though I tried ATi drives running CCC with a stripped and tweaked system. I don't take my rig onlie so i'm running SP1a. I disabled most services I don't need at startup. At a cold boot at the desktop my resources jumped from "92meg" drivers prior to v5.11 to "176meg" when I use any driver after v5.12 with CCC.
ccc requires sp2 and .net framework to run properly on sp1 you'd experience those slowdowns, looks like you should have poster first before switching. lol
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#9
I once tweaked a system down to a 72Mb load for SP2.

It runs F@H :sneaky:


And as for CCC? I flashed my bios, and did a bit of other tweaking. But I still use Overclocker from this site for OCing in 3D enviroments and ATItool for fan control.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 4, 2006
Messages
214 (0.05/day)
Likes
2
Location
Minneapolis, USA
System Name Sick Wid It
Processor i7 950 @ 4.0 Ghz 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master V8
Memory CORSAIR XMS3 (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5870
Storage WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10,000 RPM
Display(s) Acer X241W -- 24'
Case Antec Twelve Hundred Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum 7.1
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series 850W
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores SuperPI 1M@ - 8.939
#10
So is there any tweaks for CCC to may make overclocking higher then 690/800???
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,256
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#11
not that i know of, changing bios's to a higher clocking one only results in the above pictured wierdness. lol
third party ocing tools is your best bet.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2006
Messages
214 (0.05/day)
Likes
2
Location
Minneapolis, USA
System Name Sick Wid It
Processor i7 950 @ 4.0 Ghz 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master V8
Memory CORSAIR XMS3 (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5870
Storage WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10,000 RPM
Display(s) Acer X241W -- 24'
Case Antec Twelve Hundred Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum 7.1
Power Supply CORSAIR HX Series 850W
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores SuperPI 1M@ - 8.939
#12
With x1800XL Ati tool was like magic, I mean it really worked as far as OC'ing, but with my new X1900XT it works but not as well, I guess it has to do with 2d/3d thing, plus I havent had time to play arount with it enough.