1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

is there any way of putting SAS hd in a simple computer?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by tuneboy, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. tuneboy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi there!
    is there any chance to connect a SAS HD, for example the one that is used in IBM x systems to a simple home computer?
    if i would need a controller will it support raid?
    thx alot in advance!
     
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Simple SAS controller. Most are RAID controllers. The good old Perc5 can be bought for ~100 euros which is an 8 port hardware controllers.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. tuneboy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so i actually can put 8 hard drives together? and they will work just fine?
    can you recommend on a good cheap controller?
    and i have another question, do you know of any mobo that has sas controller on board even if it's a mobo for servers....
     
  4. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Plenty of 5400/5500 boards have SAS onboard. Just browse the sites of tyan, supermicro, asus, intel and whatever othermanufacturers there are. Just check ebay for SAS.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    tuneboy: welcome to TPU!

    There are lots of motherboards with integrated SAS controllers. Here are a few that come to mind:

    Supermicro X8ST3-F
    Intel S5000VSASASR
    Asus DSEB-DG/SAS

    You can also get SAS PCI and PCI Express controllers. There are also cards with both SAS and SATA drive ports. See here.
     
  6. tuneboy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thx for the help guys
    just one more question, if I put any of these controllers in my motherboard, how will the hard drives will be connected? specific cables or maybe something else?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)