• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

is there any way of putting SAS hd in a simple computer?

tuneboy

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
hi there!
is there any chance to connect a SAS HD, for example the one that is used in IBM x systems to a simple home computer?
if i would need a controller will it support raid?
thx alot in advance!
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
#2
Simple SAS controller. Most are RAID controllers. The good old Perc5 can be bought for ~100 euros which is an 8 port hardware controllers.
 

tuneboy

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
so i actually can put 8 hard drives together? and they will work just fine?
can you recommend on a good cheap controller?
and i have another question, do you know of any mobo that has sas controller on board even if it's a mobo for servers....
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
#4
Plenty of 5400/5500 boards have SAS onboard. Just browse the sites of tyan, supermicro, asus, intel and whatever othermanufacturers there are. Just check ebay for SAS.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,184 (0.63/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TIGRAlpha4
Processor i5 750 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock P55 Deluxe
Cooling S1283 + FFB1212VHE
Memory 16GB DDR3 1800, 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) 560 Ti
Storage 128GB Kingston SSD + 16TB RAID 6
Display(s) Dell P1130 + Samsung 275T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Power Supply Silverstone OP1000-E
#5
tuneboy: welcome to TPU!

There are lots of motherboards with integrated SAS controllers. Here are a few that come to mind:

Supermicro X8ST3-F
Intel S5000VSASASR
Asus DSEB-DG/SAS

You can also get SAS PCI and PCI Express controllers. There are also cards with both SAS and SATA drive ports. See here.
 

tuneboy

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
thx for the help guys
just one more question, if I put any of these controllers in my motherboard, how will the hard drives will be connected? specific cables or maybe something else?