• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is there something wrong with my pc?

FumbDuck

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2020
Messages
10 (0.67/day)
Hi guys,

I tried to be as transparent as possible with all the pictures. This is my first ever pc and I built it with the help of a very knowledgeable friend.

My CPU is constantly clocking in 4000+mhz, even when I've just booted up my pc. It typically stays at 70 degrees and rarely do I see it hit the low 60s. The hardware itself tends to fluctuate on the loud side. This pc is only a few months old and was working smoothly up until about a month ago when some problems started arising (that I think I've completely fixed, one that I'm currently in the middle of fixing). I just feel like my pc could be running better but I screwed up somewhere.

Here's a link to all my parts:

History of Errors (as best as I can remember)
- Fully built and functional in early Summer 2020
- I had very minimal (if any from vague memory) issues until I decided to get 2 extra ram sticks
- PC ran with 32gb ram for a few weeks before BSOD errors started appearing, more and more frequently at that
- Booted with a backup file (don't remember when time-wise)
- Still ran into BSOD issues
- [09/05] Uninstalled & reinstalled Windows OS
- [09/09] First BSOD since
- [09/10] Removed two of the RAM sticks so only running 16gb now (testing if the new ram I got could be faulty)
- [09/13] Reseated CPU cause of a Ez Debug CPU Red Light

-[09/15] There haven't been any issues in terms of running games or streaming videos/movies yet.
-[09/16] I hope everyone who has commented since can see/get notifications from edits. Thank you for all the comments and recommendations! I read every single one and the overall consensus I'm getting is to replace the stock cooler, which I have already placed the order for.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,228 (0.23/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Stock cooler? Reseat and reapply thermal paste
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
238 (0.10/day)
System Name maipc
Processor 4790k @ 4.4Ghz / 1.16v
Motherboard Asus vii hero
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Hyperx fury 1866 / CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 Gaming X 6GB
Storage 1TB 860EVO + 1TB 860EVO + 4TB WD Red + 4TB WD Red
Display(s) Asus VG259QM (1080p IPS 240Hz)
Case Cooler Master Centurion 6
Power Supply Seasonic SSP-450 RT (80+ Gold OEM PSU)
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 3.5G
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Rapid-i
Software Win 10 64bit
CPUs should downclock to reduce power consumption when they are under low load.
A good way to check if yours is doing this is the "effective clock" value in hwinfo64.
Most other tools that show you the clock rate will probably show you the "current" clock which may not be indicative of what the CPU is actually doing since modern CPUs change the speed they run at many times per second. You can read more about this here: https://www.hwinfo.com/forum/threads/effective-clock-vs-instant-discrete-clock.5958/
Just for reference, my average effective clock was 245Mhz while writing this post.

If the CPU does not downclock, the temperature will be high even at idle. BIOS settings can cause the CPU to not downlock so check that.

You may (also) have a memory compatibility problem.
Try testing your memory with memtest86. Test both the 16GB and 32GB configuration.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,344 (6.05/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Perfectly normal temps

Also, see my sig, and that is aimed especially at the first response to your OP.

Stock cooler on a 3600 is just going to run hot. If it throttles heavily, then you need to swap coolers. Reapplying paste won't save you.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,228 (0.23/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Perfectly normal temps

Also, see my sig, and that is aimed especially at the first response to your OP.

Stock cooler on a 3600 is just going to run hot. If it throttles heavily, then you need to swap coolers. Reapplying paste won't save you.
70c idle is not normal
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,344 (6.05/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
70c idle is not normal
Stock cooler doesn't run 60C-70C on idle, come on now!

Reseat that cooler and reapply thermal paste, OP.
"My CPU is constantly clocking in 4000+mhz, even when I've just booted up my pc."

I'm seeing 1.336V on the GPU z screen. On top of that, OP is saying he can run his stuff with no real issues. I'm not assuming this is idle at all.

I'm also seeing a host of preceding issues. Maybe its just a reseat... but that was done before as well. If the problem started after the last reseat of CPU, then sure... Clean job and paste it is.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
270 (0.08/day)
System Name Gaming PC/ EDU PC/ HFS PC
Processor Intel i9-9900KF/ Dual Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard Asrock Z390 Taichi Ultimate/ Dual Asrock X370 Proffesional Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-C14S/ Arctic Xtreme Freezer/ Ryzen Wraith Prysm RGB
Memory 64GB Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB 3200/ 32GB Corsair Dominator 3000/ 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 3200
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080Ti Ventus / Zotac GTX 1080Ti Mini / EVGA GTX 1060 SC Gaming
Storage Dual 970 EVO Plus 1TB + 6Tb 860 EVO/ 960 EVO 500GB + 18Tb R0/ 840EVO 250Gb + 16Tb R0
Display(s) Samsung 32" LC32JG50 Curved 2560x1440 144Hz / Samsung 32" LC32H711 Curved 2560x1440 Freesync
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830 NV Edition/ Dual Cooler Master 690 Advance II
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 SBX/ Creative X-Fi Titanium Pci-E/ On-board Realtek
Power Supply Triple Corsair Platinum HX850i
Mouse Logitech G7 WL / Logitech G903 Lightspeed / MS BT 8000
Keyboard Dual Logitech G19s
Software Win10 Pro
cpu temps really seems a bit on the higher side, although ryzens in idle are running higher voltage than under load when it is not manually overclocked. Running in win10 uses higher clocks when some background os process is started and in a time cpu downclocks itself when nothing runs on it.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Messages
273 (0.30/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 3 3100 (Zen 3 TBA...)
Motherboard Asus B550-F Gaming Wifi
Memory 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600MHz CL18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1060 6GB Dual
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 Evo
Case Antec Three Hundred U3
Power Supply Zalman ZM700-SV 700W Silver
Sounds like another instance of the high default voltage issue.

 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,495 (4.71/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
"My CPU is constantly clocking in 4000+mhz, even when I've just booted up my pc."

I'm seeing 1.336V on the GPU z screen. On top of that, OP is saying he can run his stuff with no real issues. I'm not assuming this is idle at all.

I'm also seeing a host of preceding issues. Maybe its just a reseat... but that was done before as well. If the problem started after the last reseat of CPU, then sure... Clean job and paste it is.
Just because it is clocking up to 4 Ghz doesn't mean it has a heavy load that warrants a 60-70C idle temp. You can clearly see a low 7% load in the image and sitting at 71C.

I think you mean CPUz, yes?

It typically stays at 70 degrees and rarely do I see it hit the low 60s.
Seems like idle....... or a poor way to say under load. :p

But yeah, the NZXT CAM software and performance monitor both show low/near idle loads and 70C temps....
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,344 (6.05/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Just because it is clocking up to 4 Ghz doesn't mean it has a heavy load that warrants a 60-70C idle temp. You can clearly see a low 7% load in the image.

I think you mean CPUz, yes?

Seems like idle....... or a poor way to say under load. :p
Yes, CPUz. Still, if it has the voltage there to maintain 4 Ghz, it has voltage not equal to the lowest power state, right?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,495 (4.71/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
Yes, CPUz. Still, if it has the voltage there to maintain 4 Ghz, it has voltage not equal to the lowest power state, right?
Sure, but 70C is way too hot............for idle/near idle loads as the pictures show us.

I can see blips to 60C and such, sure, but if it gets no lower than that on idle like I think the OP is saying, that is clearly a problem. :)
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,344 (6.05/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Sure, but 70C is way too hot............for idle/near idle loads as the pictures show us.
60-70C and the load isn't 0%, some screens show 7% ;) 7% is a pretty high 'idle' if you ask me, for a 6c12t.
But anyway. Needs more data to really get a definitive answer on that. Regardless, we know the cooler is sub par and we also know 20 bucks gets you a half decent tower with about half the decibels. I'd put two and two together here, if you repaste again, do it with a decent block of metal.

Can agree that its a problem btw, but the solution is almost certainly NOT a repaste of the same piece of shit.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,228 (0.23/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Default bios settings with a 3600 temps should be 45c idle with jumps into the 50s while boost clocks change and background processes use the cpu though this should be momentarily, and if it is constantly 4ghz+ and not lowering the clock speed during idle /low use then op should run optimised defaults in the bios and check voltages

Either way 70c during low operation is still not normal even for the stock cooler, you need to drop that
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,495 (4.71/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
60-70C and the load isn't 0%, some screens show 7% ;)
But anyway. Needs more data to really get a definitive answer on that. Regardless, we know the cooler is sub par and we also know 20 bucks gets you a half decent tower with about half the decibels. I'd put two and two together here, if you repaste again, do it with a decent block of metal.
lol, splitting hairs isn't helping... 60-70C is still WAY TOO HOT FOR IDLE!!!!!!! I 'idle' at 4% on my PC... higher with icue running.. that CAM software is running causing the load. 7% load and 60-70C is too high. Period. I didn't say 0%.. I even mentioned 4 and 7% come on man... focus! Coffee?

The cooler may be sub par but it isn't 60-70C Idle sub-par...

Anyway, I'd like to have the OP clarify if that is the lowest temps he sees after the system settles. He said he did some work in his PC so maybe he bumped the cooler? Who knows. A repaste is free and easy and a good place to start. Not to mention updating hte BIOS to the latest version.... making sure he's using the AMD balanced plan so it throttles back at idle... etc.

Many things going on here.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,344 (6.05/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
884 (1.31/day)
Location
south wales uk
System Name 1. The Devils Dialysis VR rig 2. intel teliscope rig 3.MSI GP72MVR Leopard Pro .
Processor 1.3900x @stock 2. i7 7700k @5. 3. i7 7700hq
Motherboard 1.aorus b450 elite 2. z270-a asus prime
Cooling 1.soft tube loop, cpu and gpu 2. soft loop cpu only
Memory 1.hyperx preditor @3600 16gb 2.vengence 32gb @3000 3. 16gb hyperx @2400
Video Card(s) 1.MSI 1080 8gb with EKWB 2. Sapphire Nitro+ rx580 8gb @1450 3. gtx 1060 3gb
Storage 1.256gb M.2,500gb ssd, 2 3tb HDs 2. 256gb ssd, 2tb 3. 256 m.2. 1tb ssd
Display(s) 1.LG 50inch UHD , oculus rift VR headset with touch. 2 SONY bravia1080p flat pannel 3. 17 inch
Case 1. Thermaltake P5 2. loop
Audio Device(s) 1 Onboard 2 Onboard 3 Onboard
Power Supply 1.seasonic gx 850w 2. thermaltake 600w rbg
Mouse 1 ROG Gladius 2 Corsair m65 pro
Keyboard 1. ROG Strix Flare 2. Corsair F75 RBG 3. steelseries RBG
Software 1. win 10 enterpise 2. win10 pro 3, win10 home
Benchmark Scores 1.1950 cb 2. 1106 cb 3.cb 970
yes sounds like a overvoltage issue, have you the latest bios on your motherboard if not download and flash it, those temp are way too high at idle with a stock cooler buddy.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,643 (4.44/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Sounds like another instance of the high default voltage issue.

I have to agree.
I just put one together yesterday a 3600 into an Asus B450 and the idle temp in the Bios was in the 60's (C) and CPU voltage was around 1.45V which is a lot higher than I like it.
I tried undervolting, and changing the TIM and it made little difference.
Changed the stock cooler for an after market tower and it's in the low 50's (C) and CPU Voltage is now at roughly 1.35V.
I'm not impressed by the Temp still and not happy giving it to the person I am building it for if it's going to be running hot.
Asus needs to get their shit together.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,495 (4.71/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
I just put one together yesterday a 3600 into an Asus B450 and the idle temp in the Bios was in the 60's (C) and CPU voltage was around 1.45V which is a lot higher than I like it.
What cooler? Board? Helpful info to know... ;)

That said, BIOS temps are mostly irrelevant. It's pure voltage and clocks without any power savings. You need to base it on windows temps. For example, with a 3900x @ default I sit around 40-45C in the BIOS, but in windows on idle using the AMD balanced plan, I see low 30s.....(this is with a 3x120mm AIO, note. Stock cooler is going to be several C higher than that, but not 60-70C at idle.
 
Last edited:

FumbDuck

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2020
Messages
10 (0.67/day)
lol, splitting hairs isn't helping... 60-70C is still WAY TOO HOT FOR IDLE!!!!!!! I 'idle' at 4% on my PC... higher with icue running.. that CAM software is running causing the load. 7% load and 60-70C is too high. Period. I didn't say 0%.. I even mentioned 4 and 7% come on man... focus! Coffee?

The cooler may be sub par but it isn't 60-70C Idle sub-par...

Anyway, I'd like to have the OP clarify if that is the lowest temps he sees after the system settles. He said he did some work in his PC so maybe he bumped the cooler? Who knows. A repaste is free and easy and a good place to start. Not to mention updating hte BIOS to the latest version.... making sure he's using the AMD balanced plan so it throttles back at idle... etc.

Many things going on here.
I've just booted my pc. The only apps I've got open are Chrome and NZXT Cam. The lowest I am seeing it fluctuate to is 54 degrees.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,228 (0.23/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Run hwinfo and observe the average temp at idle listing the lowest and highest doesn't really give you the whole picture as they can heat up very quickly for a second and then drop back down again. Is your cpu down clocking or is it a constant? 54c doesn't seem too bad and definitely looks better than 70c
 

FumbDuck

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2020
Messages
10 (0.67/day)
I just noticed this now.

So you left that grated cheese under there? No wonder its not cooling right then...
I didn't even know what I was looking at, at first haha.. I've already placed an order for a new cooler!

Run hwinfo and observe the average temp at idle listing the lowest and highest doesn't really give you the whole picture as they can heat up very quickly for a second and then drop back down again. Is your cpu down clocking or is it a constant? 54c doesn't seem too bad and definitely looks better than 70c
I downloaded hwinfo but I'm not sure what I'm looking at haha. CPU clocks consistently at 4300mhz+. I've closed all the background apps that were previously on in my original pictures (Wallpaper Engine, Razer Central, ICUE)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,228 (0.23/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Run it and choose run sensors only you'll see a bunch of info pertaining to cpu speeds temps volts etc seems like you have no power saving settings active in your bios if it's a constant 4.3ghz
 

FumbDuck

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2020
Messages
10 (0.67/day)
Just because it is clocking up to 4 Ghz doesn't mean it has a heavy load that warrants a 60-70C idle temp. You can clearly see a low 7% load in the image and sitting at 71C.

I think you mean CPUz, yes?

Seems like idle....... or a poor way to say under load. :p

But yeah, the NZXT CAM software and performance monitor both show low/near idle loads and 70C temps....
Haha I'm new to this computer stuff (or even English apparently)
 
Top