• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Is there way to read the voltages the BIOS applies when set to AUTO on P5B-E?

Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#1
The titles says it all. Is there a way?

I have tried so hard to overclock my CPU to 3GHz and beyond, but failed many times until I put the FSB, ICH, PCI-E (I have set CPU to 1.3V, NB to 1.55, RAM to 1.9V manually) to AUTO.

But from my experience the AUTO setting sets a very high voltage on the CPU: like 1.5V for my current overclock.

Is there anyway to find out what the correct values now set are?

BTW, should the ICH and PCI-E voltages have to be increased to make an overclock stable? I'm at 425x7 at the moment. SuperPI Blend Test stable for almost 3 hours and still running. SmallFFT was stable for 4hours+ (yes, I know it is not enough, but the CPU isn't the culprit from what I have seen so far)

Also, I'm running 4x1GB Kingston ValueRAM 667 at 850MHz. Two of them have Hynix chips; other two have I don't know what! But they are identical pair wise. And they are stable at 858Mhz pair wise. But I have been getting errors in Blend Test. Maybe the mobo doesn't like the 4 slots filled? Maybe because they are not 100% identical? (When I installed same type in DIMM1 & 2 and DIMM3 & 4 - i.e. different types in each channel, it mobo can't find my HDDs....and combinations other than the current one make Blend test fail within a minute) :(
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,623 (5.78/day)
Likes
9,345
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
CPU-z, if downloaded and installed should read the CPU voltage at idle and at load.

Use something like the ATITool scan for artifacts (fuzzy cube) to load the system.

Also there is Everest to read the system voltages.

Can you loosen the timings on the ram any to try to regain stability? With different IC brands there shouldnt be that much of an issue to OC together, you just need to find timings that both sets can run well at!

Download memset 3.4 from here to read all the timings or just read them from the CPU-z memory tab.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#3
CPU-z, if downloaded and installed should read the CPU voltage at idle and at load.

Use something like the ATITool scan for artifacts (fuzzy cube) to load the system.

Also there is Everest to read the system voltages.
I know the CPU voltages because I set it manually. And of course I use CPU-Z.

I want to know what the mobo sets for real, when I set the volts to AUTO. i.e. I have set AUTO for FSB Termination Voltage, ICH voltage and PCI-E voltage in BIOS. I want to know if AUTO == DEFAULT or not, and if not what those settings are. Any ideas?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,623 (5.78/day)
Likes
9,345
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
Sorry I missunderstood. AFAIK I dont believe those 3 are readily available in most Voltage readings.

Hate to say it , but have you tried Asus probe?
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#5
Sorry I missunderstood. AFAIK I dont believe those 3 are readily available in most Voltage readings.

Hate to say it , but have you tried Asus probe?
Actually I haven't. I hate it. Maybe it shows them. I can't remember. I will try it.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#6
AISuite or Asus Probe II doesn't show those values :(
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2008
Messages
254 (0.07/day)
Likes
16
Location
Cerritos, California
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard P67 Maximus Extreme
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory G Skil SniperDDR3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 480GB SSD, 2 TB WD 2001FASS
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift
Case Silverstone RV02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatality
Power Supply Enermax Revolutions 1050
Software W7 x64
#7
HW monitor is also a good program to use as it displays more voltage read outs than cpu-z. it will show temps of hardware as well.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#8
HW monitor is also a good program to use as it displays more voltage read outs than cpu-z. it will show temps of hardware as well.
Actually Everest shows more voltages. But none of them show the voltages that I want. :(
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2008
Messages
254 (0.07/day)
Likes
16
Location
Cerritos, California
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard P67 Maximus Extreme
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory G Skil SniperDDR3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 480GB SSD, 2 TB WD 2001FASS
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift
Case Silverstone RV02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatality
Power Supply Enermax Revolutions 1050
Software W7 x64
#9
Actually Everest shows more voltages. But none of them show the voltages that I want. :(
im aware of everest and i have used it. i like everest. it does show pretty much everything you need but it isnt free.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#10
im aware of everest and i have used it. i like everest. it does show pretty much everything you need but it isnt free.
I just wanna use it for trial purposes.
Anyway, I think I figured out the voltages it uses! It used max voltages! (because my overclock was over 50%) That was overkill. I found out stable settings for the system. Was stable on Prime blend test for 8 hours. Had to stop it. Will run it more later and see if it is really stable.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2008
Messages
254 (0.07/day)
Likes
16
Location
Cerritos, California
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard P67 Maximus Extreme
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory G Skil SniperDDR3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 480GB SSD, 2 TB WD 2001FASS
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift
Case Silverstone RV02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatality
Power Supply Enermax Revolutions 1050
Software W7 x64
#11
cool man. glad everything worked out