• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is this a BIOS/MB problem or a CPU problem?

Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
220 (0.04/day)
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K @4.5
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32 Gig (16 GigADATA XPG V2 DDR3 2400 + 16 Gig Geil Evo Veloce DDR3 1600 CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
Hello everyone,
Hope you are all having a great time.
I recently bought a new MB/CPU an Asus rog strix z690 a gaming wifi D4 and 12700K to be exact.(I also installed a Lian Li Galahad 360ml Black AIO in my CoolerMaster h500p mesh case if that matters)
Yesterday I finally got to install the new mobo/cpu/cooler and fire up my system. The bios prompted new cpu installed and go configure it!
I noticed it seems all is default so without changing anything saved and rebooted.
My previous windows 10 installation automatically recognized new hardware and booted up successfully. so far so good.
I then tried to ran a few benchmarks, ran cinebench r23 once (single and multicore tests) and all was fine.
Ran a 3dmark spy test and it went fine.
tried Aida64(CPU/FPU/Cache) and it crashed after 20mins I guess(or after it I'm not sure). I thought maybe the crash was because of driver issues, lets have a fresh installation of windows 10. so I did just that.
Installed new Windows 10, updated the graphics driver, only installed the LAN driver and Armoury Crate and sound driver and went for a second test.
This time Aida64 ran for 50 mins until suddenly the windows crashed/rebooted.
looking at the event viewer, I saw a bugcheck error. again tried running it again, this time it went out for more than an hour without a hitch.
the temps were mostly around 75/76 (when it crashed the first time, the maximum temp was 82, my ambient was around 30/33c, I removed the case top shroud which exposed the radiator and than decreased the temps for like 5 degrees)
today I tested the Aida64 for another 2 and half hours without any crashes thankfully. The temps were around 74 at max.
At this point I dont know if my CPU is faulty or this is caused by motherboard, as I noticed my BIOS version is 0404 which is not even listed in Asus support BIOS section :
1654321241413.png

As you can see it starts with 0223 and jumps to 0605. mine is 0404 and dates back to 8/26/2021
1654321324354.png

The dates don't even match! my BIOS date goes back to 26th of august, while the initial BIOS date is said to be released on November 3rd! and the versions dont match either!
I'm so puzzled. Could this be the issue here?
How can I make sure which one is faulty? the cpu or motherboard?
if it turns out to be the motherboard would it be fine to update to the bios to something closer to my bios date like Version 0901 and not all the way to the latest one that came 2 days ago?

Thanks a lot in advance.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
54,464 (8.35/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to either 1500Mhz 0.737v | 1700Mhz 0.75v | 1900Mhz 0.9v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
That just means the BIOS you're on was removed from the website

Why would you not want to update, or have already updated?

Most likely, your RAM isn't set up correctly/forgot to enable XMP
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
220 (0.04/day)
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K @4.5
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32 Gig (16 GigADATA XPG V2 DDR3 2400 + 16 Gig Geil Evo Veloce DDR3 1600 CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
That just means the BIOS you're on was removed from the website

Why would you not want to update, or have already updated?

Most likely, your RAM isn't set up correctly/forgot to enable XMP
Thanks a lot.
I'm hesitant for two reasons, 1, I'm worried that updating to a random latest bios version, would actually make it worse (break something) since my version is not even listed and dates back to the official release one!
and two, I don't want to lose avx512 capabilities, that seems to be blocked by microcode update in the motherboard. I have pretty good uses planned for it.(I can see two microcode updates in two bios version log changes which are more recent)
moreover, the Asus EZ Update doesn't find any update for the bios!
1654335526894.png


and yes, the XMP is not enabled and ram frequencies are reported 2133 I guess while they are 3000 or 3200mhz to begin with.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
6,845 (3.55/day)
Location
Norway, currently in Lund, Sweden
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X, 142/95/120, PBO +150Mhz, CO -7,-7,-20(x6),
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling LOBO + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14 @3800c15
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UC@2250MHz max @~200W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
RAM is the most likely culprit here IMO. Have you enabled XMP? If so, try disabling it. Try reseating your RAM, and run memtest or a similar long-term RAM stability test.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
220 (0.04/day)
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K @4.5
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32 Gig (16 GigADATA XPG V2 DDR3 2400 + 16 Gig Geil Evo Veloce DDR3 1600 CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
RAM is the most likely culprit here IMO. Have you enabled XMP? If so, try disabling it. Try reseating your RAM, and run memtest or a similar long-term RAM stability test.
Thanks a lot, After nearly 3 weeks of trying everything I finally found the culprit. no amount of stress testing would show the issue.
TLDR:
It was the RAM frequency.

More explanation:
basically everything was on defaults, and ram frequency was set to 2133mhz. the crash would only happen when all the system was under full load. that is all 20 threads working at 100%, reading and doing processing on my samsung nvme 980 1tb, and ram was being used around 50%, 60%.
Thanks to God! after I set the ram frequency to 3200mhz, all issues vanished.
I had also contacted the Asus support, and they said, your bios is the one loaded at the factory and is extremely old, just update the bios sequentially from the oldest available on the support section till the very end and the newest one. I did so and it seems it improved the system performance as well.
I need to add that, I had run all stress tests(Aida64(cpu,fpu,cache,memory), prime95)/memtest, successfully prior to doing that, hours and hours of stress testing on cpu and memory and disk individually didnt show anything, it seems for the crash to happen, it had to be all 3 working at full speed!

I hope no one deals with this kind of headache, but if they sadly do, I hope this helps them figure out the issue and solve it.

That just means the BIOS you're on was removed from the website

Why would you not want to update, or have already updated?

Most likely, your RAM isn't set up correctly/forgot to enable XMP
Thanks a lot again.
Dumb me was so stressed out and after different stress testings that completely forgot about this until the very end!
I always thought xmp = overclocking and when something is off and there is an issue (like crashing, instability), it should be disbaled (or at least not bothered about until that mentioned issue is fixed!)
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
54,464 (8.35/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to either 1500Mhz 0.737v | 1700Mhz 0.75v | 1900Mhz 0.9v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
XMP sets your RAM's frequency, latencies and voltages automatically instead of manually - whether its considered overclocked or not, depends on the RAM you bought

(Example: my motherboard supports DDR4 4400, but my CPU does not. So i'd be overclocking by turning XMP on with that RAM, and thats why the high end stuff usually has a second XMP profile with 'in the middle' settings)
 
Top