• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Is this alright? [i7 4770k @ 4.5Ghz 1.3v 90c during high Intelburntest]

Joined
Dec 14, 2005
Messages
1,760 (0.40/day)
Likes
91
Location
Calverton, New York
System Name Current rig
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus Z710-Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U9S
Memory 32GB Ripjaws V 3200
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 980 Ti Strix OC 6GB
Case rosewill L4412
Power Supply seasonic 1kw
#1
Hey all. I just built a new rig and custom water cooling loop. I'm overclocking my 4770k but when I try anything other than intelburntest it stays at or below 72c. But when I try intelburntest it goes in to the low 90's on high and very high. Should I be worried? Why am I pulling some much heat when I have a 650 dollar custom loop setup? 45x100 1.3v vcore, 42x100 1.17 vring. 1.8v PLL or whatever that is, core input voltage or something? Any help would be appreciated
Also, AI SUITE 3 shows my temp getting to 77, not 90.
Untitled.jpg
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,613 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,341
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
IBT uses a new AVX instruction set that takes the CPU to a whole new level of heat! I would suggest not to run the proc at 90 for very long and move to something like Prime95 or the AIDA64 stability testing.

Also go with core temp...AI shows the socket temp from what I saw.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
Why am I pulling some much heat when I have a 650 dollar custom loop setup?
Because you have a $650 water-cooling loop on an Intel APU.

Go by realtemp or try AIDA64 for temps. AIDA64 offers the most information, that I've seen.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2013
Messages
32 (0.02/day)
Likes
11
#4
How did you choose 1.3 vcore? Have you tested lower?

Some chips need higher, some lower.. i would test.. This would bring temps down.

4770K's run hot.. i lapped and delidded a couple and that helped tremendously. . The best method is trying to reduce voltages as much as you can..
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2007
Messages
99 (0.03/day)
Likes
30
Location
Croatia
System Name Cabal
Processor intel corei7 8700k
Motherboard Asrock z370 fatal1ty gaming
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB(4x8kit) ddr4 4000mhz
Video Card(s) Msi Gtx1070 Gaming X 8gb
Storage kingston hyperX SSD 240gbx1, 120gbx2, WD black Caviar 1TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift pg278q G-Sync
Case Corsair 760t Graphite Series
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X ae-5
Power Supply Corsair RM850i
Mouse Roccat Tyon
Keyboard Corsair RGB Strafe mechanical keyboard
Software Win7 64bit ultimate, win10pro 64bit (dual boot)
#5
hi guys! i also have built a new and very similar rig(see sys specs) witH aio coolermaster prestige 240l water colling solution.
i currently oced 4770k to 4.5ghz usin 1.25v vcore, 1.15 cpu ring voltage, vrin to 1.8v, uncore multi x44 and all is fine but...temps are fine when gaming hard max at 65c but when i clock to 4.6(1.3vVcore) i can get to desktop and finish aida with very high max temps at 93c!!? and running 3dmark11 cpu physics test it freezes.
DDR ram voltage is deffo 1.65v xmp profile 1 for my 2x8gb kit kingston beast 2400mhz default freq and latencies.
TRYED HUNDREDS COMBINATIONS but no go for stable 4.6 ghz its tiring but ill figure it...
my last cpu was core 2 quad q9550 and that was a heaven for ocing from 2.8ghz to 3.8 on air WITH MAX TEMPS 65c..good old days
any advice would be great
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#6
Probably just poor contact in between the DIE and IHS so heat transfer wont be very good so your custom loop wont be able to cool the DIE correctly. if you do use AIDA64 and just do the FPU test you will even see higher temps as IBT is more of a bench test not a stress test.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.64/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#7
Did you disable VR fault management?

Also try lower cache freq, maybe 41x @ 1.13v, LLC6, cpu current 120%. And do you really need 1.30v for 4.5Ghz?
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.64/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#8
i need over 1.3vcore for 4.5ghz.

but i also run much cooler as mine is delidded so max i see at 4.5ghz is low 60s.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,469 (0.46/day)
Likes
381
Location
Toronto
Processor i7-2670QM / Q9550 3.6ghz
Motherboard laptop / Asus P5Q-E
Cooling laptop / Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 2x4gb ddr3sd / 2x2gb ddr2
Video Card(s) 570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
Storage ST9750420AS / ST1000DM003
Display(s) BenQ FP241VW / BenQ GW2265HM
Case MSI gx780 / Corsair 500r
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply laptop / Corsair 750tx
Mouse Steelseries Kinzu V2 / Logitech M120
Keyboard Logitech Deluxe 250 / Logitech K120
Software Windows 7
#9
it's called burnintest for a reason, but i didnt know AVX was added... is there a way to turn that off? i used it for my OC stability testing, 5min crash meant 2hr crash in TF2 in my case, so i found it much faster than doing some 24h prime test
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
659
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#10
90°C is too much even for IBT.
1.3V is way over the line imo for this frequency. I know chips are different one from another, but this is just too much.
For example mine runs at tiny bit over 1.1V at 4.4GHz.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.64/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#11
90°C is too much even for IBT.
1.3V is way over the line imo for this frequency. I know chips are different one from another, but this is just too much.
For example mine runs at tiny bit over 1.1V at 4.4GHz.
congratz, you have a good chip.

some of us are not so lucky.

needs 1.38vcore for 100% stability.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
376 (0.09/day)
Likes
53
System Name Ed-PC
Processor Intel i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 V-Pro
Cooling CM 212 evo
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer DDR3 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia MSI 660ti PE OC
Storage WD black 500gig
Case Corsair 500R
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V2
Software Win7 Pro 64bit
#12
OCCT has AVX option on its linpack test , with LinX and IBT I think you have to use older version with no AVX support .
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
659
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#13
Or you can use Prime95, which supports all these latest instructions for a long time.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#14
Or you can use Prime95, which supports all these latest instructions for a long time.
No it hasn't. At least not AVX2 which is the new instruction on Haswell. Also Prime95 takes way to long to get any usable information out of it in terms of system stability.

OP do like Cadaveca said, use AIDA for testing Haswell. He easily has more Knowledge on Haswell then anyone else who has replied in this thread.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#15
No it hasn't. At least not AVX2 which is the new instruction on Haswell. Also Prime95 takes way to long to get any usable information out of it in terms of system stability.

OP do like Cadaveca said, use AIDA for testing Haswell. He easily has more Knowledge on Haswell then anyone else who has replied in this thread.
Or use Asus real bench that what i normally do and set the stress test on loop leave it going for a few hours.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#16
Intel Burn test gets too hot. Dont use it
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
376 (0.09/day)
Likes
53
System Name Ed-PC
Processor Intel i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 V-Pro
Cooling CM 212 evo
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer DDR3 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia MSI 660ti PE OC
Storage WD black 500gig
Case Corsair 500R
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V2
Software Win7 Pro 64bit
#17
The problem with Haswell is if you do test with AVX the voltage goes up more than in the i5-35xx/i7-37xx so heat goes way up . Even with Ivy they get pretty hot with AVX enabled .

Only issue with AIDA , is seems it can pass stable in that but not stable in other apps , which is always a possibility even testing in Prime95/Linpack .

[H]OCP ran into this when first testing haswell , in one of there reviews .
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#18
Just use real bench and be done with it its all you need.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
659
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#19
No it hasn't. At least not AVX2 which is the new instruction on Haswell. Also Prime95 takes way to long to get any usable information out of it in terms of system stability.

OP do like Cadaveca said, use AIDA for testing Haswell. He easily has more Knowledge on Haswell then anyone else who has replied in this thread.
You're right about Haswell. That's currently in some test builds only. Normal AVX is supported just fine though.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.64/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#20
The problem with Haswell is if you do test with AVX the voltage goes up more than in the i5-35xx/i7-37xx so heat goes way up . Even with Ivy they get pretty hot with AVX enabled .

Only issue with AIDA , is seems it can pass stable in that but not stable in other apps , which is always a possibility even testing in Prime95/Linpack .

[H]OCP ran into this when first testing haswell , in one of there reviews .
That only happens if you use auto voltage which uses offset or adaptive voltage.

By fixed 1.30v it will be fixed 1.30 even by those avx2 apps, btw aida64 raises the voltage as well, not just by fpu.:)
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
376 (0.09/day)
Likes
53
System Name Ed-PC
Processor Intel i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 V-Pro
Cooling CM 212 evo
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer DDR3 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia MSI 660ti PE OC
Storage WD black 500gig
Case Corsair 500R
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V2
Software Win7 Pro 64bit
#21
That only happens if you use auto voltage which uses offset or adaptive voltage.

By fixed 1.30v it will be fixed 1.30 even by those avx2 apps, btw aida64 raises the voltage as well, not just by fpu.:)
Sure , but many don't use fixed (especially if its stock) and most want offset for 24/7 use , but yes fixed will of course give fixed voltage all time no matter load :D

Here link from HOCP on AIDA with stability . (read down last part of page)

http://www.hardocp.com/article/2013...74770k_ipc_overclocking_review/7#.Uq8t605QalY
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.64/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#22
I mean if you test such apps then test with fixed voltage, otherwise yes use adaptive and dont run such tests since it spikes +0.09v.

x264 encoders have occasional spikes as well, but it wont heat that bad..


Im also at adaptive, i think its the best setting ever, atm in idle :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,041 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#23
When stability testing a new core clock with Aida, stock ram, should I run memory testing or just cpu? After removing my ram overclock I am able to hit new levels of multiplier, currently exploring voltages for 46-48x... It seems to need between 1.25 and 1.35 core voltage for this range. I don't want to kill my ram testing the chip etc.

Also aida crashed last night, but kept running stability tests somehow because the cores were fully loaded and hot until I rebooted this morning when I woke up. I might stick to XTU and Prime95.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#24
I mean if you test such apps then test with fixed voltage, otherwise yes use adaptive and dont run such tests since it spikes +0.09v.

x264 encoders have occasional spikes as well, but it wont heat that bad..


Im also at adaptive, i think its the best setting ever, atm in idle :)
Whats the ambient temp for my chip to run that cool its needs to be below 25c.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.64/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#25
idk 19-22C? Its winter here (atm -2C), I have a small central heating radiator in the room but its not opened to the max..


lol one time i had balcony door open for 1-2 min was gonna go on smoke outside and temps dropped to 10-13C across all 4 cores



EDIT: but there is one thing, if i disable c-states it will be in 30-34C area, 0.7v 800mhz vs 23-27C..
 
Last edited: