• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

is this B-die?

Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,933 (1.45/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si

Svop

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2019
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Just get the Ballistix, or get something a little faster. There is no need for 4000 mhz ddr4 on the intel platform.
Their price is almost equal. ($ 7 difference). The question is which memory is better for the intel system?
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
276 (0.06/day)
Location
India
System Name 4k machine
Processor Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus B550 Pro
Cooling Bykski Ryzen Waterblock + BlackIce Pro 360 radiator + D5 variable pump
Memory 16 GB G.Skill RIPJAWS @ 4000Mhz 18-22-22
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix 1080Ti with Bykski Waterblock
Storage 2x 970 EVO Plus 1tb + 960GB Sandisk Extreme Pro SSD + 4TB WD Black + 3 TB Other
Display(s) Samsung 40KU6300 UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster HAF-X
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX + Audio-Technica ATH-M50x
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Logitech G304 + Razer Goliathus Speed mouse pad
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma RGB
Software Windows 10/High Sierra Dual Boot

Attachments

  • ryzenmaster.jpg
    ryzenmaster.jpg
    248.8 KB · Views: 638
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,933 (1.45/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Here it is.
You're off coupled mode, so you're going to get hit in latency sensitive applications.
See if you can increase the fabric clock to 1900MHz.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
276 (0.06/day)
Location
India
System Name 4k machine
Processor Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus B550 Pro
Cooling Bykski Ryzen Waterblock + BlackIce Pro 360 radiator + D5 variable pump
Memory 16 GB G.Skill RIPJAWS @ 4000Mhz 18-22-22
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix 1080Ti with Bykski Waterblock
Storage 2x 970 EVO Plus 1tb + 960GB Sandisk Extreme Pro SSD + 4TB WD Black + 3 TB Other
Display(s) Samsung 40KU6300 UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster HAF-X
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX + Audio-Technica ATH-M50x
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Logitech G304 + Razer Goliathus Speed mouse pad
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma RGB
Software Windows 10/High Sierra Dual Boot
You're off coupled mode, so you're going to get hit in latency sensitive applications.
See if you can increase the fabric clock to 1900MHz.
It doesnt work at 1900 Mhz. Also, afaik, as my RAM is running at 4000 MT/s. it can overcome latency bottleneck caused by IF.
Why nobody try to update and use last version of thaphoon burner?
The screenshot I provided is from latest version .
 

Profenspay

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2019
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
It doesnt work at 1900 Mhz. Also, afaik, as my RAM is running at 4000 MT/s. it can overcome latency bottleneck caused by IF.

The screenshot I provided is from latest version .
can you send such a screenshot from Aida?
 

Attachments

  • ETCpdHIkeFs.jpg
    ETCpdHIkeFs.jpg
    97.8 KB · Views: 528
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
276 (0.06/day)
Location
India
System Name 4k machine
Processor Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus B550 Pro
Cooling Bykski Ryzen Waterblock + BlackIce Pro 360 radiator + D5 variable pump
Memory 16 GB G.Skill RIPJAWS @ 4000Mhz 18-22-22
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix 1080Ti with Bykski Waterblock
Storage 2x 970 EVO Plus 1tb + 960GB Sandisk Extreme Pro SSD + 4TB WD Black + 3 TB Other
Display(s) Samsung 40KU6300 UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster HAF-X
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX + Audio-Technica ATH-M50x
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Logitech G304 + Razer Goliathus Speed mouse pad
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma RGB
Software Windows 10/High Sierra Dual Boot

Attachments

  • Annotation 2019-11-06 232545.jpg
    Annotation 2019-11-06 232545.jpg
    77.8 KB · Views: 595

aljanadi.o

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2020
Messages
7 (0.01/day)
Hey guys
I found this topic here while I was doing some searching about my new Kit ( G.Skill F4-4000C18D-16GVK ) and I wanna share my experience with you.
First this kit has a D die ( not a M die).
Dram calculater doesn't support it.
with this spped und Timings: 3733 (FCLK 1866) 16-20-20-32-CR1 I've got good results. ( I used the Timings for a C die I found it hier)

first pic: XMP
second pic: only Memors speed und FCLK adjusted
third pic: botth speed und timings adjusted
 

Attachments

  • G Skill 16.png
    G Skill 16.png
    92.2 KB · Views: 330
  • G Skill 3733.png
    G Skill 3733.png
    92.2 KB · Views: 347
  • G Skill 3733 CL 16.png
    G Skill 3733 CL 16.png
    92.4 KB · Views: 316
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,933 (1.45/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Here You go.
Still uncoupled, you need to set the Infinity Fabric to 1996MHz well, right now it's 998MHz as you can see by the Northbridge clock.
Ryzen Master also says Coupled Mode OFF. That should read ON.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
276 (0.06/day)
Location
India
System Name 4k machine
Processor Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus B550 Pro
Cooling Bykski Ryzen Waterblock + BlackIce Pro 360 radiator + D5 variable pump
Memory 16 GB G.Skill RIPJAWS @ 4000Mhz 18-22-22
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix 1080Ti with Bykski Waterblock
Storage 2x 970 EVO Plus 1tb + 960GB Sandisk Extreme Pro SSD + 4TB WD Black + 3 TB Other
Display(s) Samsung 40KU6300 UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster HAF-X
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX + Audio-Technica ATH-M50x
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Logitech G304 + Razer Goliathus Speed mouse pad
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma RGB
Software Windows 10/High Sierra Dual Boot
Still uncoupled, you need to set the Infinity Fabric to 1996MHz well, right now it's 998MHz as you can see by the Northbridge clock.
Ryzen Master also says Coupled Mode OFF. That should read ON.
FCLK dont go over 1800 no matter how hard I try. thats why its not coupled. Its running at 1800.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
1,159 (0.26/day)
Location
Austria, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900x
Motherboard MSI PRESTIGE x570 CREATION
Cooling EKWB Phoenix 360 Push/Pull
Memory 32Gb 4400Mhz Patriot Viper Steel(Samsung B-die) @ 3800Mhz 16-16-16-32-48-1T @ 1.38v
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Gaming, watercooled with EKWB
Storage Adata SX8200Pro 512Gb/2x Crucial P1 1Tb/Samsung 840 EVO/6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/IronWolf 8Tb/
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K HDR TV (US - 9 series)
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black Usb-C
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon X4400H reciever, 2x Dali Zensor 7, Dali Zensor Vokal, 2x Dali Zensor 1, Yamaha Sub
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 750W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/spy/10026304
FCLK dont go over 1800 no matter how hard I try. thats why its not coupled. Its running at 1800.
Then you are much better off running your ram @3600MT (with lower timings) and not @4000MT like you are now. You will get much better performance, especially the latency.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
276 (0.06/day)
Location
India
System Name 4k machine
Processor Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus B550 Pro
Cooling Bykski Ryzen Waterblock + BlackIce Pro 360 radiator + D5 variable pump
Memory 16 GB G.Skill RIPJAWS @ 4000Mhz 18-22-22
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix 1080Ti with Bykski Waterblock
Storage 2x 970 EVO Plus 1tb + 960GB Sandisk Extreme Pro SSD + 4TB WD Black + 3 TB Other
Display(s) Samsung 40KU6300 UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster HAF-X
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX + Audio-Technica ATH-M50x
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Logitech G304 + Razer Goliathus Speed mouse pad
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma RGB
Software Windows 10/High Sierra Dual Boot
Then you are much better off running your ram @3600MT (with lower timings) and not @4000MT like you are now. You will get much better performance, especially the latency.
So far I have failed with any tweaking except XMP...even tried at 3200...but system fails to boot. Now @aljanadi.o has posted an update and timing, I will try to run at that timing OR near of that timing.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
1,159 (0.26/day)
Location
Austria, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900x
Motherboard MSI PRESTIGE x570 CREATION
Cooling EKWB Phoenix 360 Push/Pull
Memory 32Gb 4400Mhz Patriot Viper Steel(Samsung B-die) @ 3800Mhz 16-16-16-32-48-1T @ 1.38v
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Gaming, watercooled with EKWB
Storage Adata SX8200Pro 512Gb/2x Crucial P1 1Tb/Samsung 840 EVO/6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/IronWolf 8Tb/
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K HDR TV (US - 9 series)
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black Usb-C
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon X4400H reciever, 2x Dali Zensor 7, Dali Zensor Vokal, 2x Dali Zensor 1, Yamaha Sub
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 750W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/spy/10026304
You can try leaving the xmp on and just manually changing the IF and Memory clock to 1800.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,933 (1.45/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
FCLK dont go over 1800 no matter how hard I try. thats why its not coupled. Its running at 1800.
But FCLK isn't IF clock. You need to chance the Infinity Fabric clock, it's most likely done elsewhere in your UEFI.
And I had a bit of a brainfart, which someone else pointed out above.
You should aim for 3600MHz (1800MHz DDR) for the RAM, 1800MHz FCLK (which you say works) and 1800MHz IF clock.
You know you can enable coupled mode in Ryzen Master, right? You can make changes to the settings there.

You can try leaving the xmp on and just manually changing the IF and Memory clock to 1800.
That doesn't work well on Ryzen 3000. The XMP settings will most likely prevent the system from booting as well, if he plays with the other settings.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
1,159 (0.26/day)
Location
Austria, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900x
Motherboard MSI PRESTIGE x570 CREATION
Cooling EKWB Phoenix 360 Push/Pull
Memory 32Gb 4400Mhz Patriot Viper Steel(Samsung B-die) @ 3800Mhz 16-16-16-32-48-1T @ 1.38v
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Gaming, watercooled with EKWB
Storage Adata SX8200Pro 512Gb/2x Crucial P1 1Tb/Samsung 840 EVO/6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/IronWolf 8Tb/
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K HDR TV (US - 9 series)
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black Usb-C
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon X4400H reciever, 2x Dali Zensor 7, Dali Zensor Vokal, 2x Dali Zensor 1, Yamaha Sub
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 750W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/spy/10026304
Thats why i said "try"...It really doesnt make sense that the board would boot with 2000MTs but not with 1800MTs if he uses the same timings.

I also suggested to him already to manually set the FCLK and the IF speeds...
 

aljanadi.o

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2020
Messages
7 (0.01/day)

Attachments

  • 6CE93F0B-0F49-40FC-A108-76B13914D9B8.jpeg
    6CE93F0B-0F49-40FC-A108-76B13914D9B8.jpeg
    355.9 KB · Views: 211
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,933 (1.45/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
@amit_talkin this timings were for cjr die, they worked for my djr die but with an single error :(, so now I‘m back to xmp timings with just adjusting the memory speed and fclk till i get rid of this single error.
here is the timings I used
orginal post: https://www.hardwareluxx.de/index.p...zen-3000-trifft-samsung-micron-und-hynix.html
Why not tune your settings instead?
Try increasing the Trfc a bit, that should fix the memory error.
This is better than using some random table from a website.
 

aljanadi.o

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2020
Messages
7 (0.01/day)
@TheLostSwede I don't have the Patience for it :ohwell: but I'm trying anyway und here it is

While randomly tweaking I‘ve got a very good result (for a kit under 100€), but it was only for one time und with errors. But I guess it shows that this kit has a very good ability fot tweaking
(Im not sure if it was just a bug!!!)
 

Attachments

  • G Skill 3733 16-19-19-32 435 procODT Auto(36.9).png
    G Skill 3733 16-19-19-32 435 procODT Auto(36.9).png
    92.1 KB · Views: 271
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,933 (1.45/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
@TheLostSwede I don't have the Patience for it :ohwell: but I'm trying anyway und here it is

While randomly tweaking I‘ve got a very good result (for a kit under 100€), but it was only for one time und with errors. But I guess it shows that this kit has a very good ability fot tweaking
(Im not sure if it was just a bug!!!)
Looks like you solved the problem, as you got IF going at the same speed as the memory.
If you're getting errors, dial back the Trfc and the main memory timings a bit, maybe try CAS17? Odd CAS timings can be a bit funny with Ryzen though.
 

aljanadi.o

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2020
Messages
7 (0.01/day)
here are the timings I use now:
16 19 19 32 55 440
subtimings: tRRDS 4, tRRDL 6, tFAW 16, tWR 16, tWTRS 4, tWTRL 12, tRTP 12, tCWL 16, tRDRDSCL 4, tWRWRSCL 4
all the other timings were left on auto
voltage: RAM: 1,4, Soc: 1,1, CPU: 1,275 ( CPU OC: CCX0: 4,3, CCX1: 4,4)

read: 53800 to 54000 mb/s, latency: 65,3-65,9 ns

SOTTR, BF 5 and Fortnite are working perfectly ( these games have always caused probelms by OC on my PC)
 

Attachments

  • SOTTR.png
    SOTTR.png
    5.4 MB · Views: 187
  • BF V.jpg
    BF V.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 202
  • RAM.png
    RAM.png
    737.8 KB · Views: 208
  • RAM 2.png
    RAM 2.png
    467.3 KB · Views: 202

noise36

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2020
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
I just signed up to say that while Ryzen DRAM calculator works for this ram but that I found the settings unstable and the process confusing and ultimately a waste of time.

So what I did in the end was run it at stock 4000mhz settings and stock voltage 1.35v and down clock it at 3800Mhz with 1900mhz IF and its fully stable and has significantly better speeds and latency than running at 4000mhz.

Basically had it working in just a few clicks in the MSI B550 tomahawk bios by just selecting the 3800mhz "oveclock" and manually lowering the voltage... set and forget! I am sure I could lower the timings but cant be bothered really.
 

Attachments

  • AIDA64 RAM 28620.jpg
    AIDA64 RAM 28620.jpg
    89.8 KB · Views: 186
Last edited:
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,443 (0.26/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF 3090 / Titan V
Storage 1TbSamsung Evo M.2/ 2TbSamsung QVO/ 1TbSamsung Evo780/ 120gbKingston Now
Display(s) LG 65UN85006LA 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR LED TV with Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard K95 RGB Platinum
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
took a screen shot of taiphoon burner with my B-Die for referance... Interesting the hynix stuff is 25nm not 20nm...
 

Attachments

  • B-Die.jpg
    B-Die.jpg
    728.5 KB · Views: 278

voronin.py

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2021
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
Sorry for bumping old thread, but I have some new information about this ram. So I found a local guy selling it and I asked him to send a screenshots from Thaiphoon Burner and couple of other photos, and guess what, its says that its Samsung B-die, really confusing yeah? My guess is that some batches did come with Samsung B-dies eventually. But is that common for G.Skill to change die's for existing models?
 

Attachments

  • image-ram-1.jpeg
    image-ram-1.jpeg
    132.7 KB · Views: 114
  • image-5.jpeg
    image-5.jpeg
    73.2 KB · Views: 91
  • image-4.jpeg
    image-4.jpeg
    72 KB · Views: 82
  • image-3.jpeg
    image-3.jpeg
    144.4 KB · Views: 79
  • image-2.jpeg
    image-2.jpeg
    191.2 KB · Views: 96
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,946 (0.69/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
It's not unusual for any maker to change IC's period.
They all do it depending on what IC's are available to use in production at that time of manufacture, usually reflected as a different revision of the model/series.

G. Skill at least is good about having info about whats in the sticks with the numbers on the data label, you just have to know how to interprit the info it has.
 
Top