• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

is this normal?

Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
58 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
I totally forgot!
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo T7100 (1.8Ghz Rated @ 4.4Ghz, 2MB Cache)
Motherboard Quantan....
Cooling Dunno...
Memory 2048MB DDR2 Clocked @ 667Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GS 1258MB Shared | RDPDD Chained DD | RDP Encoder Mirror
Storage 160GB SATA 5400RPM
Display(s) 17" WXGA+ Brightview Widescreen (1440X900)
Case HP Pavilion Dv9500t
Audio Device(s) Speakers (Realtek High Definition)
Power Supply Dunoo....
Software Windows Vista Home Premium, NOD32 Anti-Virus
#1
I want to OverClock my Nvidia GeForce 6200. when i OC as little as 10Mhz my computer starts to lag every so often. is this supposed to happen? :confused:
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Yes?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#3
not very helpful really was it?

anyway what are you using to oc ? what do you mean lag? in games or just in windows? do you get any artifacting etc ? more details ;)
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
58 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
I totally forgot!
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo T7100 (1.8Ghz Rated @ 4.4Ghz, 2MB Cache)
Motherboard Quantan....
Cooling Dunno...
Memory 2048MB DDR2 Clocked @ 667Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GS 1258MB Shared | RDPDD Chained DD | RDP Encoder Mirror
Storage 160GB SATA 5400RPM
Display(s) 17" WXGA+ Brightview Widescreen (1440X900)
Case HP Pavilion Dv9500t
Audio Device(s) Speakers (Realtek High Definition)
Power Supply Dunoo....
Software Windows Vista Home Premium, NOD32 Anti-Virus
#4
Sorry for the Confusion!

I am using the latest version of ATiTOOL. it lags in windows, it slows greatly down then when i play music my music starts skipping then it goes back to normal, then a while later it happens again. its a "Hiccup" Laag.
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
#5
not sure, but that card prolly wont oc well at all...my comp used to do that lag thing you are talking about but a few restarts fixed it
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
58 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
I totally forgot!
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo T7100 (1.8Ghz Rated @ 4.4Ghz, 2MB Cache)
Motherboard Quantan....
Cooling Dunno...
Memory 2048MB DDR2 Clocked @ 667Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GS 1258MB Shared | RDPDD Chained DD | RDP Encoder Mirror
Storage 160GB SATA 5400RPM
Display(s) 17" WXGA+ Brightview Widescreen (1440X900)
Case HP Pavilion Dv9500t
Audio Device(s) Speakers (Realtek High Definition)
Power Supply Dunoo....
Software Windows Vista Home Premium, NOD32 Anti-Virus
#6
ok ill try again. *hoping not to fry my PSU or GC*
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
#7
Oh, your PSU may be the problem. Didn't see that before. That is REALLY low for all what you have...
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
58 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
I totally forgot!
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo T7100 (1.8Ghz Rated @ 4.4Ghz, 2MB Cache)
Motherboard Quantan....
Cooling Dunno...
Memory 2048MB DDR2 Clocked @ 667Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GS 1258MB Shared | RDPDD Chained DD | RDP Encoder Mirror
Storage 160GB SATA 5400RPM
Display(s) 17" WXGA+ Brightview Widescreen (1440X900)
Case HP Pavilion Dv9500t
Audio Device(s) Speakers (Realtek High Definition)
Power Supply Dunoo....
Software Windows Vista Home Premium, NOD32 Anti-Virus
#8
Oh, your PSU may be the problem. Didn't see that before. That is REALLY low for all what you have...
I got it to OverClock!
Now its at 360Mhz(was 350) for Core Speed
now its at 220mhz(was 205) for Memory Speed

I lagged then went back to normal! my internal Speaker on my dell went beep beep. then it went faster lol.
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
#9
hmm...lol hey if it works keep it, but i seriously would get at least a 430 watt PSU for what you have, just to be safe.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
58 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
I totally forgot!
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo T7100 (1.8Ghz Rated @ 4.4Ghz, 2MB Cache)
Motherboard Quantan....
Cooling Dunno...
Memory 2048MB DDR2 Clocked @ 667Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GS 1258MB Shared | RDPDD Chained DD | RDP Encoder Mirror
Storage 160GB SATA 5400RPM
Display(s) 17" WXGA+ Brightview Widescreen (1440X900)
Case HP Pavilion Dv9500t
Audio Device(s) Speakers (Realtek High Definition)
Power Supply Dunoo....
Software Windows Vista Home Premium, NOD32 Anti-Virus
#10
hmm...lol hey if it works keep it, but i seriously would get at least a 430 watt PSU for what you have, just to be safe.
after 10 minutes it laged my Moniter went to standby my music was still playing, and no graphics lol. I rebooted and its fine now!:laugh:
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#12
Hey listen, we told you like 10 times to get a new PSU, now get one! :toast:

230W is really pathetic...
lmao! i agree! you dont need to spend much money these days on a nice 450 watter! think of it as protection. if you keep that gpu overclock you may be sucking power from other areas of your PC and you may fry it!!
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#13
He would have to buy a Dell specific PSU, or mod a regular psu. Dell specific psu's can be tough to find and expensive, and modding a new psu would automatically void it's warranty. Unless somebody knows of some sort of adapter cables, of course.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#14
He would have to buy a Dell specific PSU, or mod a regular psu. Dell specific psu's can be tough to find and expensive, and modding a new psu would automatically void it's warranty. Unless somebody knows of some sort of adapter cables, of course.

oh...blah