1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

is this PSU good enough for my system ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by smig, May 28, 2008.

  1. smig New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    156 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Israel
    Last edited: May 28, 2008
  2. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,259 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    Location:
    Multidimensional
    if i were you, i would get at least a decent 500W PSU, just to be on the safe side, there should be some good ones out there, are you on a budget
     
  3. smig New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    156 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Israel
    the price of any known company 500w PSU is twice then these two and up :(

    I can get a 700w anonymous for almost the same price as the Thermltake 400w ones.
     
  4. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    732 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY

    The old saying of "You get what you pay for" comes to mind here.....the PSU Is one of If not the MOST Important piece of equipment In your PC.....It plugs Into everything.........why take a chance On some "Unknown or Anonymous" PSU?

    My advice......get the best you can afford....and try to make It a brand name.....your hardware will like you for It. :)

    Hope It helps. :rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. smig New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    156 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Israel
    that's exactly why I want to replace the one already in the rig to a known one.
    but this is not realy helping me to know if the ones I asked about are good enough.
     
  6. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    732 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    How right you are....
    The top one listed only has a total of 18amps on the +12 line....meaning It may be alright now.....but you'd have to upgrade It again when you add any new equipment In down the road.

    The second one listed has 29 total amps on the dual +12 lines....but only 400watts total.....good for now....but once again you may be looking at another Upgrade down the road with more goodies In your rig.

    It looks like your trying to buy the bare minimum PSU (no offence).......Whats the price range your looking In?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    993 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. smig New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    156 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Israel
    these ones are in the range of 50 - 65 US$.

    I won't go into SLI, and probably won't do any oc at all. probably no more upgrades for this system. maybe one more DVD drive.

    I like to turn my PC on to work and play. don't realy like to open the back of it and play inside of it :D
    I like it steady and stable, without trying to take it into it's max performance.

    can't order from newegg. they won't send it here (Israel).

    I also found a JSP-Tech (EZCool ?? ) PS-1000 500w for the same price range, but I can't find any technical info.
    anyone heard anything about Trendsonic ?
     
  9. smig New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    156 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Israel
    I went with topower 500w
    a bit more pricy from what I thought at first, but after reading the comments and the good comments about this company I decided to go with it.

    it has more cables then I can stick in the case :D
    8* HDD/Flopy...
    4* SATA
    1* PCIe
    1* 24 pins for mobo
    2* 4 pins for mobo (they are attached together, but can be easily seperated (I need one only)

    the cables are realy massive ones. more then the one in my car :D
    they added some nice scotch bands to help orgenizing all the mess into the case.

    AMPS:
    +12v - 20A + 20A
    +3.3v - 24A
    +5v - 26A

    384w (32A) for both +12v rails
    130w for 5v + 3.3v



    there is a switch to decide weather I want to split or to combine the +12v. what should I select ?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)