1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

is this ram helping or not?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by quasar923, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. quasar923 Guest

    ok so i just got 2x256mb sticks of ddr 333 mhz ram for free . so i put it into my comp which already has 2x512mb sticks of ddr 400. will these two 333mhz sticks slow me down? i am at the same OC as i was before with all the same voltages. i now have 1.5 gigs from 1 i would think it is better but i dont see much difference.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 5, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    i hope those 2 stix fry your comp.

    stealing from a place thats trying to educate you :shadedshu

    :nutkick: :cry:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. quasar923 Guest

    but they get them for free from the government!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,947 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
    So your basically saying...hey tax payers...thanks for the free ram. I seriously hope no one helps you.

    You should seriously not mention stuff like that...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. quasar923 Guest

    fine. i edited it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    you are pathetic :shadedshu
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. quasar923 Guest

    will somone answer my question instead of criticizing my wrong doing. i just dont have the money to but ram for my comp im sorry so i needed it for free
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. quasar923 Guest

    each tax payer prolly paid about 0.0000000000000000000000000000000000000000001 cents for that ram.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    its the principal.

    and judging from your posts so far, you have none.

    smarten up.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,947 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
    and that makes it ok?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,211 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,579
    Location:
    Houston
    put the 2x256 in by itself clock i up to 400mhz and see if its stable if it is use spdtool to flash it to 400mhz and then it wont slow anything down
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. quasar923 Guest

    well im sorry im not intel igent such as your self
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. quasar923 Guest

    ok well my board only goes up to 200 mhz on the ram and now i have all 4 sticks the 333 mhz and the 400 ones at 166 so i can OC my cpu. how would i get it to 400? and how do i know what the other sticks are running at exactly is it only 166? that would suck.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    that choice was not an intelligent 1.

    life is made up of choices. make the right ones.

    dont try to insult me because i pointed out YOUR mistake.

    youre lucky cd replied to you cuz frankly i dnt think you deserve the help.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,211 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,579
    Location:
    Houston
    i know the whole money situation hence why my rig is s754 and honestly no one is going to miss 2 sticks of outdated DDR
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. quasar923 Guest

    i understand what your saying yes it was wrong i shall not do again
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,947 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
    +1
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,211 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,579
    Location:
    Houston
    400 is just the DDR rating 200 is the pre dual pumping
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. quasar923 Guest

    pre dual pumping?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    "i am at the same OC as i was before with all the same voltages"

    Hows he managed to keep same stable oc settings with a set off 400mhz and a set of 333mhz different brands too?? surley the 400mhz ones would default to the slower ones clock speeds and timmings?? im confused:ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. quasar923 Guest

    well i just didnt change anything and yes diff brands the ones i had are mushkin the others some generic stuff
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Well the generic stuff must oc well lol.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    thats what should motivate you to WORK harder not SHAFT the system harder.

    its this kind of mentallity that causes many of the worlds problems and the ppl as whole are to blind to recognize it.

    my rig is old to and im off of work injured so i should rob a few ppl to get a new pc right? its ok they dont need it right? it was just extra right?

    sometimes the level of ignorance in this world disgusts me.

    you HAD a good rep with me cd but not so much aymore......
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,947 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,211 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,579
    Location:
    Houston
    well heres the thing my money doesnt go into my PC there happen to be several things more important than it is. there is nothing in my rig that i have not paid for or that was not givin to me for free.

    as for the ram he took something that was going to be binned in a few months so all he did was take it out of the trash.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)