1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is Vista 64 preventing me from overclocking?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by kripz, Dec 16, 2007.

  1. kripz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I originally installed the latest version of ATI Catalyst and used CCC to overclock. I would manually set the clocks and then click test, during the tests i could see the clocks changing, once the test finished the clocks would revert back to stock, i click accept and the current clocks stay at stock

    [​IMG]

    I then tried the beta of ATI tools and manually move the sliders up and then click set clocks, the sliders would instantly go back to stock. I then tried enabling the option where it immediately sets the clock when you move the sliders. Doing this i couldnt move the sliders at all (probably because when i move it up, it reverts back to stock, giving the illusion its not moving).

    What is going on?

    My specs are HD3850 with vista32-64_8-43-1-1-071113a-055589E.exe, Intel E4600 on a GA-P35-DS3 running Vista Business 64bit.
     
  2. kripz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    EDIT:

    Seems like CCC cant detect my speeds properly:

    [​IMG]

    3dmark03 confirms the clocks:

    720/900, 3dmark03 score: 32152
    720/940, 3dmark03 score: 32568
    730/940, 3dmark03 score: 32793

    So i think ive concluded that CCC clock detection is bugged, ATI tools overclocking doesnt quite work.

    What are my options now that ive maxed out CCC and ATI tools doesnt work (no bios flashing)?
     
  3. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,830 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    Rivatuner is the one that works best atm
    atleast on my 3870 in vista x64
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Go for Ati-Tool to overclock - it the very handy i promise!
     
  5. kripz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    re-read my post:wtf:
     
  6. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    ok then go for rad-clocker or riva-tuner and ati tool just to scan for artifacts and all should be ok. ps. i got a hectic character sorry for that - i am like an crazy professor not even able to make his own food :)
     
  7. kripz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmm rad-clocker isnt supported in vista?

    Trying riva tuner
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2007
  8. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Dont have vista i dont now?
     
  9. kripz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Rivatuner lets me set clocks beyond 730/950 but the actualy clocks are limited to 730/950.

    If i set the clocks to eg 750/1000 in rivatuner my card will max out at 730/950.

    Is this my drivers/rivatuner or my card?
     
  10. -2kill-

    -2kill- New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    43 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'm not sure about the HD3850 but with the 2900XT if you didn't have 8Pin and 6Pin power as opposed to two 6 pin or a 6to8pin connectors plugged in overclocking was kinda screwed.
     
  11. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,830 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. kripz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)